We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Forest Inn

The New Forest Inn
Emery Down, Emery Down, New Forest National Park SO43 7DY, England
+44 23 80284690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Emery Down
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Visited The New Forest Inn for lunch and we received a warm and friendly welcome. The food was excellent and the puddings were just lovely. This is our 3rd visit and we hope to be back very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    18
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really expensive for what you get”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Popped in yesterday, as they came up on a dog friendly web site, so as we live within 20 mins drive, we thought would give it a go. Bar staff were ok, food was mediocre at best, but 27 pounds for two small sandwiches (One sausage and one fish finger, so not exactly exotic eh), a small bowl of chips and 2 pints of lager ?? Come on !! Then to cap it all, we asked if the puppy could have a sausage (that we pay for naturally), and they served him up a near raw cold thing with fat all over it on a tissue(Honestly, my dog would not and did not eat it). So if you like emptying your wallet for a snack, then pop along by all means, but we wont be going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stopped off for a meal and a pint, enjoyed both although i thought the prices were a little steep, the food was nice but the menu was a little limited with a limited specials board, staff were pleasant as well. If your passing worth a visit though.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good menu with HUGE portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice pub in quiet location in the forest. Menu choice was good and reasonably priced and I've never seen such big portions! Staff friendly and quite helpful, but not as welcoming as other pubs we'd been to in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great dog-friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I ate lunch at this pub whilst visiting the New Forest as it stated it was dog-friendly. It was a really lovely pub and the food was great. I was impressed by how attentive the bar person was - Dave, I think the manager, made sure that I had everything I needed and that my dog was happy by popping by and giving him some treats! He was very welcoming and I felt very relaxed and actually spent the afternoon there talking with other people staying at the pub. I thoroughly recommend it as it is hard to find pubs these days where the staff are attentive and helpful and are so accommodating to dogs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Forest Inn also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to The New Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Forest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.