We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rationed carvery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Forest Inn at Ashurst

The Forest Inn at Ashurst
Lyndhurst Road | New Forest National Park, Ashurst, New Forest National Park SO40 7DU, England
023 8029 3071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Ashurst
Cuisines: British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Forest Inn is a traditional pub in the New Forest, serving home cooked food and an excellent range of real ales, lagers, ciders and wine. There are stunning views of the New Forest National Park from our beer garden and a large log fire in our lounge area to warm yourself by in the winter.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rationed carvery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We regularly visit this pub with friends as there is a lovely garden for the children to play in. The carvery is a favourite
I was sorely disappointed to find that in order to avoid food wastage, the staff dish out the food. (You used to help yourself to vegetables ).
I had to ask for a third potato which was reluctantly given, along with a small spoonful of each vegetable. The Yorkshire puddings are tucked under the counter and not offered you have to ask, we asked for an extra yorkie for a 5 yr old and were refused.
Very poor considering they charge £12.50 per adult and £7.50 per child.
This is not value for money considering we queued for 15 minutes waiting for the server to dish out the vegetables.
I couldn't help overhearing rumbles from other customers about the stingy portions.
We shall not be returning.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    8
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

We live locally and visited The Forest Inn for a meal with friends. The service was very slow and we never were offered a dessert. The liver and bacon was swimming in gravy, the bacon was chopped up, the mash was served separately .. not very tasty. The salads were ok.we asked for a wine list, but they didn't have one so we were offered a verbal choice of 3 reds. There was no indication of price therefore! The carbonara starter was overwhelmed with sauce. The whitebait was good. The menus were crumpled, over-used sheets of paper.. not a good look! Altogether rather disappointing, although, since we were with friends, we enjoyed our evening.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why has it been so long???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The wife and I came back here for lunch after a good few months away, and all I can say is, Good food, good weather and good ales.
The food as always has been amazing. Burger was juicy and moist and the chips were lovely and fresh. After having the beer battered onion rings for the first time I shall forever be comparing to these ones.
Value for money is well up there. You pay for what you get and you can't argue that it wasn't well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“That was a Sunday lunch and a half”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

What can I say
Easter weekend, we planned to renovate the garden, both of us burnt out on the first 2 days, so a quick call on Saturday to close and dear friends, led us to book Sunday Lunch at The Forest Inn ( locally known as the Bungalow).
After a 30 minute walk, we were ready for food and refreshment. Thankfully Ringwood 49er was on tap, so us men were taken care of. As for the ladies, they plumped for the Merlot with their food, but started with cider and gin (not in the same glass).
3 of us ordered the Mixed Sunday Roast ( beef, lamb, turkey)and 1 ordered the turkey roast. All came with a separate bowl of many veg.
Now When food is placed in front of me, I eat it. So I did, but the level never went down!
There was a lot of food, well cooked and very tasty.
Well done and we will definitely be back.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely local pub with great homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I've visited this pub quite a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is all homemade and whilst you might have to wait a little longer and pay a little more than at a Wetherspoons, it's worth it.
I've always had great service here and the landlord is really friendly and happy to chat about all the different alcohols on offer.
A comfortable country pub with great food and friendly service.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forest Inn at Ashurst also viewed

Ashurst, New Forest National Park
Ashurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Ashurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Forest Inn at Ashurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forest Inn at Ashurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.