We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Forest Wildlife Park

New Forest Wildlife Park
Deerleap Lane | Longdown, Nr Ashurst, Ashurst, New Forest National Park SO40 4UH, England
+44 23 8029 2408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Ashurst
Type: Forests, Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the amazing animals at this beautiful park, in the leafy New Forest, with its fabulous adventure playgrounds. Follow the woodland trails to see wallaby, European bison, wolves, wild boar, Scottish wildcats, lynx, foxes, pine marten, polecats, owls and ferrets. Meet the friendly deer and say hi to the playful otters, including the endangered giant otter. Feeding sessions, keeper talks and special events year round.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

What a great wildlife park for all ages lots of intresting animals and wildlife to see fantastic childrens play area for older and younger kids easy to walk round with pushchair and lots of picnic tables to have a little rest on also cafe looked very appealing ...would recommend to all my friends to have a great day out we stayed all day!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    118
    28
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection of animals in natural habitats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My partner & I visited a couple of days ago on our way home from a long weekend break in The New Forest.

If you are looking for a flashy gimmicky zoo full of large exotic animals then this isn't the place for you. If however you want to see happy animals in natural enclosures then it's well worth a visit.

The New Forest Wildlife Park is set in beautiful surroundings and the owners have used the natural landscape to create wonderful enclosures for their collection of animals.

It doesn't take long to follow the route around the park which takes you past various species of otter (the giant otters are just awesome & we could have watched them for hours), owls, deer (they follow you around part of the park, inquisitively searching your pockets for any snacks you may be carrying), wolves, lynx, bison, wallabies, badgers, foxes to name but a few. The only animals we didn't see were ferrets & pine martens (they were probably snoozing).

We walked round once, then had coffee & cake in the lovely restaurant before walking round again.

There are plenty of picnic areas & adventure playgrounds for kids of all ages. Everywhere was spotless & well maintained.

It's not that cheap to get in but speaking from experience I appreciate how much it costs to run these places & care for the animals. We had a lovely time so it was well worth it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great day out for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a great place for all the family. The weather does not need to be really good to enjoy this lovely park. The deer are roaming freely and there are many other animals to see. Adverage time spent here is about 2 hours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day out for big kids and smaller ones too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I brought my husband here today for a birthday treat as we both love all kinds of animals. Saw lots of otters of all sizes, very cute and lively, kept us entertained for ages. The friendly inquisitive deer followed us around and kept checking our pockets for treats. She was very tame and enjoyed being stroked by everyone who walked past. The badgers were having a sleep inside their den but you can still see them through the little glass viewing areas without disturbing them. Lots of owls of all kinds, bison, Scottish wildcats and wallabies too. The wolf enclosure was fascinating as we arrived at feeding time and the keepers were explaining the wolves' hierarchy and behaviour. We really enjoyed our trip here and will definitely come again when we are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited in November 2013. Cold, damp and the animals were hiding - no surprise!

Really enjoyed walking around the place with my boyfriend for his birthday and luckily for us we got to walk round overhearing the owner of the park talking to some journalists at each exhibit.

It was a cute place to go, and probably be better if you have kids as they have lots of areas that children would enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Forest Wildlife Park also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Ashurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 

Been to New Forest Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Forest Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.