We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in The New Forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Buck - Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The White Buck - Hotel to your Saves list
The White Buck - Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bisterne Close | Burley, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #4 of 8 Burley B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel in The New Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and very welcoming staff. Stayed for one night but very much enjoyed the stay. Excellent and comfortable room, good food in the restaurant and good beers to choose from. Only down point was that as I was leaving early didn't get to sample breakfast as it didn't start until 0800 hrs.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
73
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had a short break at this hotel. The hotel was very comfortbale, the atmosphere with the Christmas trees and log fires was wonderful. The portions for the food were very generous and nicely presented the belly pork was fabulous and tender, the restuarant was busy with Christmas parties though this added to the atmosphere. Our room which was classed as a comfortbale room was large the bed was very comfortable though the lights in the bedroom were dull with the main lights not working for our last night this was looked into by the staff who were waiting for an electrician. I would recommed this hotel, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, both my husband and myself came away feeling refreshed after this break - very good value and would return

Room Tip: Comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here to celebrate a special family birthday. This was booked weeks ago and menus were already submitted before we had even arrived in the county. Food arrived promtly, all the family were pleased with it. Nice to have visited, may even stay at the hotel next time.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used to go for drinks and meals to the White Buck on a regular basis but for some reason it became less visited destination for us even though we live in the next door village. Then a chance visit by my wife and her friend renewed our interest as my wife discovered that the bar and part of the eating area were dog friendly.
So we went along for a couple of weeks just having a drink in the beautiful bar where Ruby was given plenty of attention by the very friendly staff. We took my Sister and Brother in Law along to show them how lovely the place was and they are hooked too.
Then we finally decided to have a meal there with our son and his girlfriend which we could do as part of the eating area is dog friendly even though quite rightly the main restaurant is not.
The food and the service were wonderful and we could not have been happier with our meals and the way we were looked after.
There is the added bonus for my son and myself that the bar sells Fullers Beers and Chimay both on tap and in the bottle.
As for the hotel itself and its grounds, these are just simply stunning and very much worth a visit for these alone. Set in the heart of the New Forest and walking distance from the famous village of Burley I can not recommend a visit highly enough.
We will be going back again and again even if on occasions its just for a drink in the beautiful surrounds.
As for Ruby she loves the doggy biscuits that she is given by the staff so is always content to stay as long as we like.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just come back from a two day stay at this hotel. Made the choice to go here after reading various reviews on Tripadvisor. We stayed in a superior room, it was nicely decorated and clean. the bed was comfortable, plenty of space for clothing and toilet/shower room was o.k. We didnt have a great view out of our window, which was over the kitchen area, and the kitchen extract could be heard at certain times but I guess it's pot luck, it didnt detract from the overall comfort of the room. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and had a decent three course meal. I chose moules mariniere starter, roasted belly pork main and cheesecake dessert,. they were all nice dishes, well presented. I particularly enjoyed the belly, which was succulent and tender. My partner said she enjoyed her meal too and I can say the courses looked nicely presented. It was a busy night, with plenty of diners coming in and a Christmas party in a private room adjoining the restaurant. There was live music and it sounded o.k, although we retired early and missed most of it! I would say the reviews I read before we came are pretty much on the mark. One thing I would say is the bloke who reviewed the burger and slated the price ought to stick to self catering, as it is a big home made burger from what I saw of it. If you can pay a fiver for some rubbishy burger and what can barely be described as fries at some fast food places, £13 for a nice one and decent thick cut chips and side salad can't be too bad! Lighten up.

Room Tip: If you are lucky you might get one facing the front. But as we didn't stay in the room all day i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had Bukanneer Platter, it was excellent, especially the homemade Piccalilli. So good we have booked for next Monday to take some friends to this lovely character New Forest Hotel. Just off the beater track but worth finding. Good old fashioned service with a smile!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there over the weekend with our dog and had the most amazing time ever!
Our pet was treated like a princess, had her own bowl, bed and dog treats. She was also allowed in some parts of the restaurant which made our meals more enjoyable. Or room was lovely, very comfy and the décor was enchanting. The bathroom was enormous with a walking in shower. The only issue was that our room was on the ground floor near toilets so it can get quite loud on Friday night.
The staff in The White Buck are great, very attentive and helpful, nothing is too much effort. I bought a bottle of Prosecco and an ice bucket with ice was delivered to our room 2mins later, they managed to find us a table for lunch even though it was last minute notice and all the tables were reserved. The food was very good, the parsnip soup comes in a big bowl and it was enough for the two of us, the duck with potato rosti and baileys cheesecake were to die for.
I’d recommend this place to anyone, whether with pet, children or out for romantic weekend together.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Buck - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Buck - Hotel

Address: Bisterne Close | Burley, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Buck - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Buck - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Buck Hotel Ringwood
White Buck Inn
The White Buck - Hotel Burley, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Buck - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.