We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Buck - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The White Buck - Hotel to your Saves list
The White Buck - Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bisterne Close | Burley, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #2 of 8 Burley B&B and Inns
kent , uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute night away and it didnt disappoint. The pub and restaurant area is set in lovely grounds and is cosy and really very comfortable indoors - i could see myself curled up in the winter by the fire!
We got given the Commoners room and were a little concerned, however once we got up there we realised we had stumbled upon a gem - shabby chic in style, clean and simple (the bed was extremely comfortable too, so much so we nearly missed check out!) the shower room was modern and equally clean, i loved the basket of extras in the room and my only complaint is that they were fully booked for the rest of the weekend and we couldnt get a second night!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    52
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
95
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Received a very polite and very friendly welcome, in the lovely and spacious reception area. Stayed in The Beach room which was stunning - recently refurbished with a lovely colour-scheme and furnishings, big comfy bed, clean and tidy, good size tv, cute tea/coffee facilities and overlooked the beer garden. Had a lovely spacious bathroom with cool doors, a huge shower, lovely towels and soaps and decorated really well. We also spent a perfect sunday afternoon in the huge and lovely beer garden and enjoyed a delicious roast beef (with the biggest Yorkshire pudding I've ever seen), a yummy sea bream (with amazing gnocchi) and an ok potted crab (I'm not a fan of dill), which all arrived quickly. Unfortunately there were three bad points - breakfast is not included in the cost of the room (although can be added for £10), it was a lovely hot and sunny day which made the room uncomfortably hot and stuffy, making it difficult to sleep, and the shower literally sprayed water in ALL directions... However it was a gorgeous hotel, with super friendly staff, in amazing grounds and in a lovely area (about 15/20 minute walk from Burley). We can't wait to return and we would definitely recommend a stay (and relaxing lunch)!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed overnight at The White Stag on a Thursday in June. The drive to the hotel takes you through the breathtaking New Forest, with plenty of ponies and cows wandering around, absolutely beautiful views. Upon arrival at The White Buck we were greeted with a lovely-looking hotel, very well maintained with ample outside space for drinking/eating and plenty of parking. The lady manning reception was warm and welcoming, even offering to carry our luggage as she escorted us to our room on the top floor. We stayed in the 'Verderers' room, classed as a cosy room. Whilst compact, it was very well appointed and beautifully decorated. The bed was just too comfortable and the ensuite was gorgeous! The hotel provide you with complimentary tea & coffee but they also provide you with a room hamper, their version of a mini bar. A great little addition, even if we didn't partake of the Reese's Pieces and Flump marshmallows, plus wine, beer and crisps!
We asked to eat dinner in their restaurant and, whilst we hadn't made a booking, they were very happy to accommodate us. The food selection was mouth-watering and the specials board made choosing a main very difficult. In the end my other half opted for the Ham Hock, Chicken, Leek & Honey Dew Pie whilst I chose the Slow Braised Blade of Beef with buttered mash, button mushrooms & onion red wine saucefoodThe BF was very pleased with his pie but my food was quite simply the best beef I have ever tasted, and the food was served so quickly. The attentive waitress ensured we always had a full glass and was happy to recommend a dessert. The BF chose Lemon Posset and I had the waitress-recommended Sticky Toffee Pudding....just delicious!
Next morning, we stayed for breakfast before checking out and heading onto Monkey World; again the food was superb and served quickly. And although a different waitress, she was still exceptionally courteous and helpful.
Overall I really cannot rate this hotel highly enough. I have stayed in some top hotels (Four Seasons in Beverly Hills) and this lovely little gem holds its weight against the big boys. I appreciate we were there on a weekday but the service, room, food and venue is amazing and the manager is quite rightly proud of it. If you want a beautiful, peaceful and luxurious stay in the New Forest then you cannot go wrong by booking a room here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room so if we were happy with that then I imagine any room would be gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed at The White Buck twice - both times very nice. And the restaurant is serving really good English food. Rooms are nice decorated, but there are different standards - and we definitely had better and more calm room the first time. But anytime i would go back.
the second time we had a room above the restaurant, so unfortunately we could hear the vacuum cleaner in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room to the garden - I found it noisy to the backyard with a big ventilator from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked the indulgence suite and stayed for 2 nights. Fantastic accommodation with great facilities and good food in the restaurant which we booked for both our nights stay. The location is perfect being right in the New Forest with cattle and horses roaming freely within the grounds of the hotel. Lovely pub feel with a separate room with sofas and open fireplace. Would definitely recommend for a short break and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited the White Buck for a meal and we were very pleased with the standard of the food and the service.
The pub has rooms to stay and look of a good standard, would recommend if you are in the area to pop in for a meal

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the White Buck over the Bank Holiday weekend. The rooms are spacious, cosy and stylish (but then we knew that as there's an arrow pointing up the stairs and to the "Stylish Rooms"). The bathroom was modern and had a gorgeous rain shower head - which I love - as well as a handheld shower. If there was anything left to desire then perhaps shelving in the bathroom. Soap and toothbrush glasses sat on the rim of the already small sink, no room for any personal items. Room and bathroom were clean and the bed comfortable. There is a hamper in place of a mini bar, which looks much better and probably tempts guests to buy more as the contents are on display. Prices for hamper items are quite hefty though.

The setting is lovely, in the heart of the New Forest and a 15 - 20 minute walk away from the village, so very quiet at night - unless perhaps there is a party going on in the beer garden. During our stay, it rained every night, so we couldn't say.

Room Tip: Although it didn't bother us in the least, if you are a light sleeper you may want to avoid room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Buck - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Buck - Hotel

Address: Bisterne Close | Burley, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Buck - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Buck - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Buck Hotel Ringwood
White Buck Inn
The White Buck - Hotel Burley, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Buck - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.