We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, but not again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorhill House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Moorhill House Hotel to your Saves list
The Moorhill House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4AG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Acceptable, but not again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

It has a remote location at the end of a private driveway. Nice secure parking area. Staff were all very polite and couldn't do enough for us. However, the room was a disappointment, smaller than expected and everything had a thin layer of dust on it. Bathroom had mouldy patches on the ceiling and there was no standing shower facility's use to the sloping ceiling.

The restaurant located at the rear of the hotel was fantastic, the food and service was outstanding.

Overall, our stay was pleasant, but it could have been the short break we had been expecting if the room had been cleaner and better fitted out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. We appreciate guest feedback and your comments regarding housekeeping issues will be passed onto the General Manager for further investigation. I am however pleased to read that the staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed the location, meals and service in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    94
    52
    23
    20
See reviews for
66
150
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had booked the Moorhill House Hotel to enjoy a relaxing break after moving house. The Moorhill was everything we were looking for. We arrived on a wet Sunday evening down a winding road dodging horses on the way.... The food was fantastic and the service super friendly.
The pool though on the small side was clean and warm and the sauna after a welcome treat!
We will definately recommend the Moorhill house to our friends and family for the perfect spot in the New Forest and only a short walk into the beautiful village of Burley.

Room Tip: We stayed mid week meaning the hotel was quiet and we got a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

we have just got back from a two day stay in this very pleasant hotel. We were greeted by very helpful and friendly staff and this applied to all we met. The food at breakfast and dinner is very good The location is fantastic and very peacefull. the only thing we would say is the double bed is very small and a bit uncomfatable but apart from this would rcommended this hotel to any body and we will make sure we come back again. Once again to all staff thank you for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, couldnt ask for more from the hotel itself.
Quiet location down a windy lane on the edge of Burley, walks straight out onto the heath. Great for the dogs who were also made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel with our dog so we could go walking in the forest. The trip was both good and bad. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent, and the location of the hotel for exploring the forest was great. The dog was very welcome and he was well behaved. The problem was the particular room we had which was extremely noisy and stopped us getting to sleep. The room (No 2) is located above the kitchen so we had our own rendition of Stomp at 11:30 with pots and pans and metal bins and although the kitchen staff were only doing their job, the noise from below was significant. The other problem was the noise from the floorboards which should be expected from an old hotel and hasn't bothered us before - however next doors room was set higher than our room so their floorboards were level with the headboard of our bed. Though our neighbours were not overly active, every movement sounded like several people walking in our room.
We would recommend the hotel but suggest you select your room carefully - maybe a top floor room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Moorhill House Hotel. I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay, and thank you for your comments regarding the noisy room. I will ensure these comments are investigated further by our maintenance team to see if there is anything that can be done to help alleviate the excess noise in Room 2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Located down a quiet lane, 'off the beaten track' just outside the popular village of Burley, lies this brilliant self-contained hotel with plenty of safe parking, lovely gardens and a well maintained hotel. The company's website made the hotel look very nice and I'm pleased to confirm that the hotel did meet my expectations.

Our double room was spacious and comfortable with a nice comfy high double bed, very good shower over bath in the spotless ensuite bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space with hangers and ample room to spread out and relax. It has to be said that showers over the bath in hotels are often inadequate however this version was in no way inadequate: powerful, hot, controllable & didn't flood the entire bathroom...if only all hotels could achieve this!! Free Wi-fi was much appreciated especially as my phone had no signal. The Wi-fi was straight-forward to access and available in our top-floor room which was great.

Our room rate included £25 each towards dinner which was great although I didn't really know what to expect. Dinner was fab. I had seared scallops to start, followed by delicious and well-cooked pork belly followed by almond and orange slice. My girlfriend chose not to have a starter and opted straight for a deliciously tender sirloin steak and warm treacle tart for dessert. The food was faultless and delicious, filling and well presented, very well done to all the staff. After a great nights sleep breakfast was filling and most satisfactory too.

Dogs are allowed at the hotel but there was no evidence that a hound had been in our room or anywhere in the hotel for that matter. I did hear some barking in the morning though. I also heard (quietly) a guest snoring but after all it is a hotel! Despite these minor noises I will have no hesitation recommending this hotel & the fabulous dinner offer to my friends and family.

As a side note, the village of Burley is a short walk away on footpaths through pleasant countryside. I would certainly recommend wellies are worn in the wet. The stroll involved a couples of stiles so might not be suitable for everyone. I would certainly recommend walking rather than driving to the village, especially as the walk passes a cider farm and shop! :o) I've uploaded some photos of the hotel & food too, enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend . The hotel is beautifully located in the forest , at the end of along driveway , off the beaten track . It was comfortable , cosy and very welcoming . The room had everything I needed with a lovely view . The food was excellent and ALL the staff were extremely cheerful , helpful , and professional . The only down side was the bar . The room itself is pleasant enough but the selection of beers on offer ( no real ale , just fizz ) was diappointing and over-priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhill House Hotel

Address: Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
The Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorhill House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.