We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location in small village ,ponies walking the streets .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burley Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Burley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Burley Manor Hotel
Ringwood Road, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful location in small village ,ponies walking the streets .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at this lovely old manor hotel in October. A big old manor house , if you like tradition old English high ceilings , fire places etc this is for you. Great breakfast and service .. Hotels a bit dated and needs a bit of tidying up , but still go , it didn't spoil our visit at all . We stayed 2 nights in October 2014 in the new part , we had a large room , balcony living area too . Opposite the manor is a deer park , we saw lots of deer and stags claiming their terratory great to watch . A short walk away is is the village , few pubs , quaint shops , cafés , girt shops witches shop.... Must see !! Ponies walk around the streets , this is why I went , it's amazing . Will we go back yes definitely prob spring . Also nearby other amazing villages to visit Lyndhurst, Lymington town , Brockenhurst all very different .

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    31
    30
    18
See reviews for
18
107
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hampshire uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December. We enjoyed a very good meal the first night which we all enjoyed. ( there were 4 of us in the party ) Breakfast was also varied and plentiful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There are no lifts in the hotel and as we were on the 2nd floor we had a number of stairs to use. However this did not particularly worry us. There are ground floor rooms available. Our room was fairly large with comfortable beds for which we were thankful. A car is necessary to get around as there is only 1 bus a week on Wednesdays. The hotel was warm and welcoming and very tastefully decorated for Christmas. It is a little tired but spotlessly clean, We would certainly stay there again. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Burley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your Review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a Groupon deal (6 girls) which really was a fantastic deal, the meal was great and the breakfast very good.
The hotel is tired in places but overall in a beautifull setting and very comfortable. Our waiter and the ladies decorating the tree when we arrived were very helpful and friendly.
There were two receptionists on our visit and our booking in lady was really lovely...BUT two of the girls in our group smoked out of the window from their hotel room which is against the hotel policy BUT the young second receptionist charged all three rooms a £75.00 fine even though the other two rooms had not been smoked in and did not even have smokers staying in the rooms. I can appreciate company policy and would agree that if anyone smokes in their room then the fine should be upheld but not to pass this on to all three rooms on the booking...£225.00 in total! Also the bar bill on a room had to be corrected (drinks added that we did not have) the second receptionist was so rude and condesending and disregarded everything we said..she may well have been advised by Paul the manager to do this but he was no where to be seen when we asked although he was out the back and left the receptionist to deal with us!!! We were very polite and never rude but we still received terrible customer service - if the manager had been proffessional and advised what the charge was going to be and listened to his customers I would not have to write this bad review. Good hotel but beware of the charges!

Room Tip: Try and get the front of the hotel - fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Burley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review of Burley Manor. On check in it is stated on your registration card that a charge will be made for smoking within Bedrooms. The charge is only applied after my Housekeeping Department inform reception and also provide photographic evidence of smoking within rooms, Evidence was obtained from all 3 rooms.
I am always willing to speak to any guests who ask to do so, and at no point was i advised that you had requested to speak to me.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this beautiful hotel at the weekend. Such a lovely setting and only a few minutes walk from the village of Burley. Our room was big, airy and comfortable with a lovely view across the meadow. Staff were friendly and breakfast very good.
We would definitely stay in this charming hotel again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with views across the fields and deer park recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Burley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review. i am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An enjoyable couple of days and worth repeating. As others have said, the hotel is a little 'tired' but very classical. Who wants to stay in a faceless chain hotel?Set in the most beautiful grounds. Views of deer, fox, etc.from the bedroom.
Exceedingly good food, obliging staff, very clean and worth repeating! Well done Burley staff!
Only one criticism. Fan in bathroom somewhat noisy. Please repair for the next people (room 36).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Burley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your comments on to all the staff. The Fan in room 36 as now been repaired.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Burley Manor Hotel provided my wife and me with a great value one night break in the heart of the New Forest.
The hotel looks like a tudor manor house but is, in fact, 19th century. It looks very imposing from outside and the house interior is pretty stunning also. The Christmas decorations were excellent too.
The room we had was in a modern single-floor wing. First impressions of the room were very good as it was large with lovely views from the french door/window. However, the furnishings were a little worn and past their peak. Apart from that, we were very comfortable and slept well.

We had dinner and breakfast in the beautiful dining room. The food was good but not outstanding. Christmas Pudding was a warm sponge affair with brandy sauce (not brandy butter as in the menu).There was no butter with the rolls. The starter and mains were hot when they were meant to be and the meat was of a good standard.
The staff were friendly and efficient and made us feel at home.
This short break was booked via Groupon and, certainly at the price we paid, the whole break was pleasant and great value.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Burley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only apologise for the niggles at Dinner but can assure you that the menu states Brandy Sauce and not Brandy Butter.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved it all. We had the two night deal which was excellent, could not fault the food, the service, the staff, plus we had a very nice room overlooking the deer park. Other reviewers have said the hotel is tired and needs updating, but we love traditional, historic hotels and expect the odd bit of dated decor which may go with it. The reception rooms are beautifully decorated without losing the character of the place. Very convenient for exploring the New Forest and also for visiting Bournemouth and Southampton for shopping, shows, etc.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Burley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Burley Manor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burley Manor Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Burley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burley Manor New Forest
Hotel Burley Manor
Burley Manor Hotel New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.