We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burley Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Burley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Burley Manor Hotel
Ringwood Road, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel through groupon.
Was a bit worried after reading some reviews.. However was pleasantly surprised.. The hotel is in a lovely place and is very charming. Could do with a little TLC in places. Our room had few damp patches
On ceiling. Had afternoon tea included which was lovely. Also had breakfast here and this was perfect! Ate at local pubs which were superb! Lovely for a short break..

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    31
    30
    18
See reviews for
18
107
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently stayed for two nights, it was a Christmas present bought through I believe Debenhams as a two night getaway. The approach to the hotel is lovely and the reception staff was welcoming, it was only when we got to our room it was a let down, damp stains on the wall, carpet needed a good clean. I went to make tea and one of the cups was dirty, my husband did not drink there at all, he did not even unpack his clothes.
It is such a shame as this could be a lovely hotel but it needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful old building in a fabulous location with great views. It could be a marvellous place to stay however it misses out because of some oddities. It put us a bit in mind of Fawlty Towers! Check in was fine but our room was a bit dated especially the bathroom which had a shower you had to adjust with a mixer tap and no decent toiletries. It could certainly do with some TLC. The lounge area was very pleasant but the food was very strange. I had looked on the website before we went and there were two different menus - a lounge menu and a seasonal menu. Both looked very nice with some interesting dishes and the seasonal menu had a 'two courses for £15' option. On the strength of this we invited some friends who lived near there to come and dine with us. When we were given the menu it was nothing like the one on the website. Each course consisted of about 5 options, all very 70s eg prawn cocktail, ham egg and chips and duck with orange and the price was £21.50 for two courses! when we enquired as to the menus on the website we were told that the lounge menu was only for people eating in the lounge at lunchtime and the seasonal menu did not appear to exist at all. We went down for dinner at 8pm by which time 2 dishes were already off the menu! The food was OK but not very well presented; the vegetables were very ordinary and the service was very strange. . We were told our table was ready by the waiter standing in the doorway and giving us a thumbs up. One of us had ordered a prawn cocktail and when it came it was avocado with prawns. when we mentioned this the waiter just shrugged and said it was a misprint! Dinner definitely was not worth the money and we felt very embarrassed when our friends came who had also seen the other menu on the website but luckily they saw the funny side. Breakfast was actually very nice except a lot of things which were on the menu were missing eg. plain yoghurt but what we did get was quite good. It is a real shame that this hotel lets itself down so badly as, with a few tweaks and some decent staff training, it could be lovely.

Room Tip: If you are going in the summer get a room with decking outside as it is a lovely spot to sit in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Very happy. Lindsey, on reception, met us with a very warm welcome. Had a last minute request to change our sandwich fillings, which they were more than happy to accommodate us with. When we sat down it was quite quiet so the staff bought a stereo in and put some background music on for us! Food was excellent, recommend the cheese and chutney sandwiches and the coffee and walnut cake, but the rest was spot on as well. Coffee was very high quality (speaking as someone who grew up in Italy and knows their coffee). Will definitely recommend this place to others in the future. V & P

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

this was our 4 day break, I am sorry to say but we have had so much better else where, in so many better hotels, our first impression was on arrival, waiting a good 10 mins and ringing of two bells to be check in, a little bit more attention to customer service, to your guests would have been nice, we asked if we could eat in the dinner room to be told that it had just closed 7.50pm, and there were two pubs in the village that did food,our room was at the top of the stairs and we mean top, lovely out look, but had to pass a really damp spot which had fungus growing which looked like a mushroom and smelt awful. our room was a good size but it was a family room so we had a Z bed up and right next to the double bed with bedding that didn't fit, when we moved the z bed we found a lovely toy rabbit from (maybe) the last guest who had a little child. Breakfast was really lovely (Kim) our waitress was really focused on customer service,this was really lovely to receive. and was the only time we experience this in our stay. We will not be coming back to this hotel, and is a great pity as it has so much potential, its standards really do need to be looked at, and also its safety to its guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights the staff are very friendly, the rooms are a little dated but comfortable and a nice size our one had a decked area where you could sit and see the deer at night.
Breakfast was very nice too with fruit and cereal on offer as well as a cooked breakfast

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My mum and I visited the Burley Manor Hotel as a Mothers Day treat with a Groupon voucher that entitled us to afternoon tea and breakfast.
After reading other reviews, I was quite concerned about what we would find upon entering the hotel but I was pleasantly surprised!
The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had one problem with the plug in our sink and a lovely girl came to sort this out with no problem at all.
The view from the hotel is stunning, seeing deer roaming around the field is an added bonus.
Yes the hotel is old and tired but it's got character! You are in the countryside so why would you want everything to be super modern and perfect? We like the rustic look!
The afternoon tea was served promptly at 3:30 with a glass of Pimms. The tea was reasonably basic but with 2 gorgeous slices of carrot cake and scones to finish!
The room was huge and had superb views of the fields and deer. Again, furnishings were tired but the room was clean (and I'm a stickler for things being clean)
Lastly, the breakfast in the morning: I was again quite worried due to the other reviews but needn't have been at all! The bacon was perfect quality and the plates were hot (very unusual in my experience with hotels!). The food was great and the staff very accommodating.
We loved our stay in the Burley Manor and would most definitely come again!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burley Manor Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Burley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burley Manor New Forest
Hotel Burley Manor
Burley Manor Hotel New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.