We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a long lunch here in the New Forest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Station House at Holmsley

The Station House at Holmsley
Station Road | Holmsley, Burley, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 4HY, England
+44 1425 402468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Burley
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: British, Bar, Bistro, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Set in the fantastic splendour of the National Park, a taste sensation awaits you at this former Victorian railway station. Meet, greet and enjoy the best food and drinks for miles around, in a comfortable, relaxed setting. You won't be disappointed.
Christchurch, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Have a long lunch here in the New Forest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hadn't been here for some years- met up with old friends for lunch- excellent choice of venue. Had the best Lamb's liver I've had for 50 years! everyone enjoyed their main course- and for pudding, had the meringues which had been a feature here years ago. Excellent. This is a better alternative to eating in Burley if you're out and about in the New Forest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieB053, Owner at The Station House at Holmsley, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I am pleased you had an enjoyable time you had with us and took the trouble to write a positive review.
There are quite a variety eating establishents in Burley so it is pleasing when customers venture away from the village to find us and enjoy the experience. Sorry we are not allowed brown signs to guide customers in our direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    54
    14
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tea in the New Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend of mine was showing me around the new forest and we both felt a bit hungry and thirsty and then she suddenly remembered a tea room she had been to long ago and suggested we went there. Good idea.

When we got there she was surprised at how much the place had changed but we went in and saw how busy the place was. We ordered and the coffee and food came quickly and was very nice but a bit pricey. The food was good, the atmosphere was good as was the coffee.

For me it was a little pretentious but if you like that sort of thing this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieB053, Owner at The Station House at Holmsley, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are continuing to evolve the business as we feel it is the way forward. Whilst we still serve cream teas, the business can no longer rely solely on this business as more and more garden centres move into this type of business. Quality products, locally sourced prepared and cooked by rosette standard chefs is where we see our future. We are not trying to be pretentious and apologise if we came across that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Publicity,Poor Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Many places in the New Forest have leaflets for this establishment so we looked forward to a cracking afternoon tea. Quickly seated we had to then wait for the rest of the aspects of the service. All very slow. The tea was good tea but my wife agreed the scones were very disappointing. We then passed the minutes waiting for the bill and then some more time to actually pay the bill. The worst aspect was the discordant atmosphere among the staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieB053, Owner at The Station House at Holmsley, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I agree that it is no point in having great publicity if the standards are then not up to expectations. This is a problem that is being addressed by our manager. Many customers think our service is good, then every now and then we have a blip. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having cycled through new forest this was a great relief. The tea rooms are awesome, very friendly service. Food just as amazing. We go to the new forest every year and always visit these tea rooms. Excellent every time we go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieB053, Owner at The Station House at Holmsley, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you continue to enjoy your visits and the quality of food and service is being maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Change is afoot - possibly not for the better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have used this establishment many times over the years and there is no question that on a sunny walk or ride between Burley and Brockenhurst on the disused railway line this location is a great place to stop off. On a chill day you may like to sit inside but on recent visits from my own experience and that of friends in a local walking group it would appear that if you are dressed for a walk or a ride you may not be made to feel welcome inside the establishment. The coffee and cakes are very pleasant and are as you would expect are at tourist prices. There are plenty of other options in both Burley and Brockenhurst which are currently more welcoming.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieB053, Owner at The Station House at Holmsley, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and giving us a review. Most walkers/cyclists prefer to sit outside when the weather is good, in fact many visitors think that we are two separate establishments. We are not. You should be made to feel welcome if you are eating inside. Unike other establishments we do not insist that customers with muddy boots take them off at the entrance even commenting to customers that we have a good quality carpet and good vacuum cleaners. I am sorry if you felt un welcome but pleased you enjoyed your coffee and cakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station House at Holmsley also viewed

 

Been to The Station House at Holmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station House at Holmsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.