We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful, awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mehfil Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mehfil Hotel to your Saves list
Mehfil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 The Green, Southall UB2 4AR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southall
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awful, awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I booked a night at the Mehfil hotel through Expedia months in advance of our arrival date. We immediately received the following email confirmation: "your reservation is booked. No need to call us to re-confirm this reservation." Imagine our surprise when we arrived at the hotel at 10:30 at night to find that our reservation had been cancelled by the hotel because there was "a problem" with the credit card. The desk clerk claimed they had tried to contact us, through Expedia, to obtain an alternate credit card but when they didn't hear from us within 24 hours, they simply cancelled it. And they were very sorry, but there were no other rooms available, except for one with a malfunctioning bathroom.

After taking a minute to digest this, we asked the desk clerk if she could help us find alternate accommodation. She said there was a guest house up the street but she had no idea if they had any rooms. We asked her to check for us (we did not yet have a UK sim card for the cell phone.) She spent a few minutes looking on line and came up with a hotel quite far away, that appeared to have one vacant room and handed us the phone number. We asked if she would make the call for us. She explained that she's "not supposed to call other hotels". Really?! It's 11pm, we're in an unfamiliar city with no phone, you've just cancelled our reservation and it's against hotel policy to make a phone call? To her credit, she made a half-hearted attempt to make the call, but didn't get through and then simply shrugged her shoulders. Before leaving, I gave the desk clerk my email address and asked her to send me any correspondence they had with Expedia about our reservation. She assured me she would do that; I received nothing. Following up with Expedia later, they have no record of any email from the Mehfil about our reservation.

We decided our best option would be to head back to Heathrow and try to find a computer terminal. On the way, we saw a Holiday Inn and decided to try our luck. The desk clerk there told us that they were completely full but unlike the clerk at the Mehfil, he actually helped us find a room elsewhere, booked it on-line and called us a taxi to take us there. The moral of this story: even if your reservation at the Mehfil is confirmed, don't believe it. Pay a bit extra for peace of mind and stay at the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Hotel Mehfil Heathrow.

We are sorry about the inconvenience caused to you. All hotel bookings are checked 2 days prior to arrival for the booking and payment details. This is to check and follow-up if any booking lacks any information. We also take pre-authorisation of the booking amount at this point of time. In case a card is declined, the guest and the booking agent is contacted for alternate card details.

In this Case since Expedia did not provide us any of your details, we informed Expedia about the card declined. The booking was cancelled on the Expedia Channel Manager when the information was fed in. This should have auto-generated an email from Expedia informing you of the card declined. Since you were travelling, you may have missed the email. When we did not hear anything from you in 24 hrs, the reservation was cancelled as per the normal procedure.

However we regret the way it was handled when you arrived at the hotel. We have taken up this feedback and trained our staff to extend all help to guests arriving at the hotel irrespective of the time.

We also hope that you would provide us another opportunity to serve you and experience our hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    11
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
23
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbeya, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and i booked this hotel through the website for the first time in 2012 and were very wary of our choice just because we had quite an unpleasant experience with another hotel in the Russel square.
Our very first experience upon arrival at Mehfil was very good, i was dying for a cup of tea and the best part was their breakfast we loved the atmosphere with light indian music in the background, lovely food and hot masala tea. We had initially booked only for 3 days as we were not sure how the hotel would be and ended up staying for 1 whole month, felt very much at home. Since then we have been regularly using this hotel and love it every time we stay here. It's just very convenient for us.
Our most recent stay at Mehfil was in April this year.
The restaurant has the best quality food and their services are always excellent. We love it all and have introduced it to our friends as well. All the staff are also very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Hotel Mehfil Heathrow.

We are glad that our service and offerings met your expectations. The feedback would help us identify the positives and work towards closing any gaps.

We hope to welcome you again and provide us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I stay through choice at the Mehfil with work between 30 - 40 nights a year and will continue to do so.
I've stayed in most of the rooms , double , twin and family. I do have a favourite and won't mention it as you will all book it.
The location near the station is the best , the food is great , the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are happy and professional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review of our Hotel, Restaurant and our services. I am pleased that your experience with us was positive. Feedback such as this allows us to take pride in our services and also lets us know that we are providing you with a high level of service. I look forward in seeing you at Mehfil once again. Thank you once again for such lovely comments.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had to stay unexpectedly in Southall and found the Mehfil hotel. It it a delightful hotel with all the facilities you could want. Good bed, smallish bathroom but good shower and simple toiletries . Flat screen TV and bottled water provided also tea and coffee making facilities.

Very friendly reception staff and the restaurant serves excellent Indian food highly recommended and the breakfast was good value and adequate.

The hotel does have parking which I didn't use but was reasonably priced.

Yes the carpets could do with an upgrade but at the price for an overnight stop it was a great choice.

Room Tip: Even the the rooms at the front face a busy road there was little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your time and such a lovely feedback.

It is the biggest reward for us that you enjoyed accommodation and service. It is very pleasant to know that restaurant and breakfast met your expectations.

As per carpet upgrade please allow me to take an opportunity and inform you that we have initiated the process and it will be done in the nearest future.

Again thank you for your time and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Found this Hotel online at the eleventh hour. London hotels get booked up during the weekends quite fast. Never been to this part of London before. Nice Hotel with efficient service. The restaurant seems to be a big draw and was crowded.
Big plus is that this is a five minute walk from the Tube station. Several restaurants in the vicinity. Enjoyed our stay, will come back !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in Mehfil Hotel.

Again, I appreciate your time and hope to see you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel off and on for over two years.
I have never been diss appointed with the cleanliness , service or food on offer.
The staff are pleasant without exception.
10/10 in my humble opinion.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for being our regular guest.

It is the biggest reward for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel recommendation worthy!

Thank you for the staff praise - I will pass over the message to them.

Again, I appreciate your time and hope to see you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on the 23rd and 24th March. Ideally situated just five minutes walk to Southall station where I was working.

Check in was done by very helpful and friendly staff and they were very accommodating of the fact I was working a night shift so would be returning to the hotel (and more importantly the secured car park) in the early hours of the morning. The car park is behind the hotel, costs £2.50 per night but the car park is locked at night.

The double room on the second floor (207) was spacious, en suite and with the as stated Sky TV but with the bonus of Sky Sports. WIFI is charged for but a reliable signal in the room. The only potential downside is the hourly sound of the chiming bell tower on the Catholic Church across the road, but if like me you are a heavy sleeper then this isn't a problem.

The restaurant downstairs served a fantastic meal with good service, reasonably priced food and also 20% off for staying in the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel and will be booking here again when I come down to work at Southall again in two weeks time. At £55 per night it is also very good value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MehfilMgmt, General Manager at Mehfil Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

We do appreciate such a nice review!

It is very nice to know that accommodation and service meets your expectations and you enjoyed your stays with us. Good to know that you got value for money. Please contact us direct as we do have a lot of special offers especially during the weekend!

Pleased to see that you found the location of our hotel convenient and suitable for your needs. It is my pleasure to find out that you will recommend our property to your friends and family.

Again, thanks for the staff compliments and such a lovely review.

You made our day!

Hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mehfil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehfil Hotel

Address: 45 The Green, Southall UB2 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Southall
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mehfil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mehfil is a contemporary hotel with elegant accommodation a professional service and warm hospitality. It is one of the very few hotels in London with a critically acclaimed Indian restaurant with five stars at its anchor. Ideally located next to the train station it offers easy connection to Central London and Heathrow Airport within 20 minutes train journey. At the hotel we help you to organise your city tour and other travel bookings. Be sure to pay a visit to the highly acclaimed Mehfil Restaurant, which was recently shortlisted for the British Curry Awards 2012, serves up authentic and freshly prepared North Indian Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mehfil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mehfil Hotel Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mehfil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.