We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lion Hillingdon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Royal Lane | Hillingdon, Uxbridge UB8 3QP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uxbridge
Seaton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Red Lion Hillingdon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed Saturday night in December. The room was excellent. The breakfast was also excellent. Well presented, with a good choice and the dining room very comfortable. We had a lunch with four other couples and that was 5 Star. Very well set table, excellent staff, the food was spot on. Excellent. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    63
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
41
17
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rungsted, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my family during a business trip.
Everything worked very well - The rooms where big and the service very good.
The only slightly negative thing was the breakfast buffet which was a little borring - everything else was just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friesenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a great hotel, close to Brunel Uni, serving excellent food.
A very "English" hotel, with its chintzy decor. I stayed in a twin room and a larger twin room. The larger room was not made for anyone taller than a gnome, but it had character. The staff were very he,Paul, when I complained about the fridge like conditions in the bathroom and brought a radiator straight away.
I can recommend this hotel highly to all parents visiting their offspring at Uni. The food taste great and isn't too expensive, so you can treat your son/daughter to a delicious meal.
I would stay here again any time.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 307, unless you are very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a nice 1 night stay at this hotel , rooms very smart and everything there you need, free wifi too.
Friendly staff and a lovely old building, nice church nearby.
not too far from london to see the sights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Travelled up for a wedding and chose this Hotel for its location.Very well run establishment and lovely spotless clean accommodation.
Would highly reccommend to dine in there restaurant ,My family and myself were made to feel very comfortable .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday treat with family. My room was in the original building and has a lovely fireplace and a comfy bed. I loved the room and wished i could stay for longer. I would of had a great view of the church and green but unfortunately a coach parked right outside my window so the room ended up quite dark during the day and no view at all which was a great disappointment but not the hotels fault. Staff were friendly and I can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night after dropping son at university nearby and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised given that I had only paid £60 for the room The rooms are modern, very clean and very comfortable. I had a great nights sleep. The pub itself is very old in contrast and very snug and cosy. Although we didn't arrive till 7pm and the restaurant being very busy on a Saturday night, we were assured of a table by the friendly staff and enjoyed a very pleasant meal that evening.
We decided to give breakfast a miss before leaving as I felt £11 each was too much and that would be my only criticism.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: Royal Lane | Hillingdon, Uxbridge UB8 3QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Uxbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uxbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 16th century, The Red Lion Hotel continues to combine old world craftsmanship, with its exposed timber beams and large Tudor fireplace with modern day comforts. Overlooking Hillingdon Hill Charles 1 is reputed to have taken respite in The Red Lion in 1646. The hotel has 55 elegant, air conditioned guest bedrooms and a restaurant that enjoys a reputation for great food. The Bar offers a friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere and serves a fine selection of Fuller's award winning beers. The Red Lion Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure visitors, close to Uxbridge town centre and Brunel University and within easy reach of Heathrow Airport. Wembley Stadium is a short journey on the Metropolitan line tube, which also gives access to Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion London
London Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.