We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food! A chance visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Restaurant

Stables Restaurant
6a Holydyke, Barton-upon-Humber, England
+44 1652 660789
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Here at Stables we produce good quality food, using a variety of local suppliers who have they're own individual expertise in food etc. We have a dedicated team of staff whose number one goal is to make sure every customer leaves the restaurant with a smile. Visit us and find out for yourselves.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food! A chance visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend visited this resturant last night, just by chance and were not disappointed. We had not booked a table but they manged to squeeze us in, just! I would advise to book.
There was plenty of choice on the menu. Italian - pizza, pasta...etc, burgers, steaks and plenty more choice!
I had the beef burger which was lovely. 100% beef and homemade. It came with a side salad and chips which were crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle. I had bacon and cheddar on my burger which was an extra. My friend had the lasagne which she said was very tasty. We only had soft drinks as we were driving but there seemed plenty to chose from on draught - peroni, rekorderlig cider.
All in all we had lovely food, in a great atmosphere, which was excellent value for money. This place is an absolute gem!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    20
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Being a vegetarian (a rather picky one!) stables offer a really good variety of appetising food that never get boring like some restaurants and are always happy to alter other meals if requested. My family came in on Sunday for my brothers birthday and everyone's plates were virtually licked clean. I also went recently for a girls night out which was a really lovely evening with a busy atmosphere on a Saturday night! Stables always have a good selection of meals on the specials menu as well as their main and lunch menus. Also their desserts are always home made and mouth watering - especially the chocolate fondants when on the menu! The restaurant has recently been expanded to upstairs with its own bar as well as downstairs for busy nights or private parties. Highly recommend for any occasion!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“For where it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a local 'restaurant' that we have used a fair bit as we live nearby - this is really the main reason we go back, and that in the main it is fairly priced for what you get. It's really a pretty fancy cafe bar with what looks like a promising menu but turns out to be rather average overall; Pizza's are the best thing on the menu. Had a vegetarian meal the last time we went and it was undercooked - not a big fan of undercooked aubergine. When asked by the waitress if everything was OK we told her the food was undercooked she said 'Oh' and that was that. No reduction in bill, no offer to bring something else, zilch. Didn't feel like spoiling my night with a colleague so left it at that. Very disappointing. Now doing a steak menu at a higher price range which looks ok, so as long as things are cooked well it will help extend the better end of the menu I guess. Drink prices are a bit above pub prices but acceptable in a food based environment. Service is average. Sometimes see the chef in the dinnig area and he looks just a bit shabby with dirty shoes. May be that in a busy, hot kitchen this is acceptable but not a good look in the dinning, bar area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow !!!!!!! You Have To Visit,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a fantastic meal, food was very very good,and service was excellent. Had a really fine dining experience, and would thoroughly recommend this restaurant. You must try the Kwak beer, but don't have too much!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An unpleasant experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Three of us had lunch in this restaurant. None of enjoyed the experience and we would never return. The ambience left much to be desired. It was noisy and the chairs uncomfortable. Two of us had salad, smoked salmon. There was very little salmon and the other ingredients were uninspiring and tasteless. One had fish and chips and felt this was a meal from the freezer. Service was slow. Not much to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am disheartened to read that your experience with us wasn't a positive one. We aim to provide high standards in both food and service and it would seem that we have failed to deliver this on this occasion.

We have just introduced a selection of new salads to our menu including a Beef & Blue salad using home cooked British beef and a locally produced blue cheese. I can assure you however that the fish and chips were certainly not served from the freezer. Our haddock is provided by suppliers from Grimsby Docks and we produce a fish batter using our selection of local cask ales and carbonated water, along with fresh hand cut chips which in turn have never seen the freezer, I am apologetic that this meal also was not up to standards.

We do concede that a busy, lively restaurant, such as ours can become nosier during peak times, including busy lunch services.

We hope that you do visit us again and see for yourself that this occasion wasn't a true reflection of the hard work that our staff put in on a daily basis to help ensure our guests leave feeling happy.


Pete Storey
Head Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Restaurant also viewed

Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.