We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so warm, helpful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fanore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Orchid House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Fanore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Fanore B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“so warm, helpful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Both Gill and Pat were wonderfully informative and helpful hosts who genuinely seemed interested in our day's events. The location is spectacular, the room was clean, attractive and comfortable (with a view of the Aran Islands!) and the breakfast was superb. We just could not have stayed in a better place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our friend booked on our behalf, it was our first trip to Ireland. She said Gill was very friendly and helpful even when she had to write back different times to adjust the booking. And when we got there, we understood what she had meant: lovely hostess, super views, spot-on breakfast. what more is there to say? We will be back and our friend can't wait to go and investigate herself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Orchid House B&B for one night after sightseeing at the Cliffs of Moher. The B&B is conveniently located about 30 minutes north from the Cliffs and was on our way back to Dublin. The drive is on a narrow road right on the ocean that can be harrowing but has absolutely breathtaking views.

Orchid House B&B is situated right on the road with ocean front views. Gill was an amazing hostess and provided us with some great information about the area. We were trying to make it to Newgrange the following day and she offered to call ahead of time to make sure that we'd be able to buy tickets. The house itself is spotless and beautiful (loved our corner upstairs room) and the breakfast was delicious. I wish that we had allowed more time to explore the Burren area but this just means that we'll need to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Orchid House B&B in May on our first trip to Ireland. Loved the B&B and the area so much, we returned a few days later and stayed for 2 more nights! Gil and Pat were the most welcoming of hosts. Gill was genuinely interested in where we had gone and we enjoyed sharing our pictures with her and Pat. She booked our trip to the Aran Islands. It's located along the coast in The Burren. Views and sunsets from the bedrooms are magical! Bedrooms/bathrooms were spotless and nicely appointed. Breakfasts were hearty, homemade muffins/scones/bread and a choice of hot items. There is a TV/common room downstairs. A pub and restaurant is within walking distance, although IMO, it would be safer to drive there in inclement weather or at night. We highly recommend Orchid House B&B for anyone who visits Fanore or The Burren. Thank you Pat and Gill!

Room Tip: Stayed in the 2 upstairs corner rooms, very spacious and several windows for good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Orchid House for about a week in July and really enjoyed our stay. The location overlooking the sea is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Gill is a lovely hostess. Her breakfast is excellent (we especially loved the banana muffins) and her advice is thorough. She is also very helpful (She did our laundry without an extra charge when she heard that we would be staying in Ireland for more than 3 weeks. Most other B&B’s we stayed at asked for prohibitively high prices for the laundry).

We also loved Fanore. This is a little village away from the crowds where you can almost feel the rough, barren texture of the beautiful Burren. The village pub (O’Donohue’s) serves good food and hospitality.

All in all, Orchid House is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The views are wonderful. The room was spotless, had good space and good views. Jill, the host, was simply magnificent. She offered excellent advice, helped us with a few matters, and the breakfast was excellent! (she offers many different choices for breakfast).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights at the Orchid House in the unique landscape of The Burren. The view of the grazing cattle and the ocean was beautiful, with spectacular sunsets, and lovely garden grounds. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, even making arrangements for our boat trip to Aran Islands with tour of Moher Cliffs. This is a very convenient base for so many activities. The local pub was a great place to soak up the flavor of this area. We also enjoyed Doolin for traditional Irish music. Breakfast was awesome, with homemade goodies. Pat wrapped up scones and muffins for us to take to enjoy on our adventures. Lovely home, lovely people.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Fanore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Fanore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fanore
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.