We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise, greatly improved in recent months” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Greyhound Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Greyhound Inn
Save
You added Old Greyhound Inn to your Saves list
14 London Rd, Great Glen LE8 9GF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Glen
leicester
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise, greatly improved in recent months”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having a bad experience previously, we decided to give it another go knowing it is under different management. We has a lovely meal, good quality food and value for money. The only critism of the pub is that although it's in a nice location, has a lovely country feel etc some of the decor spoils its character. Modern cream curtains, white walls, to me country pubs should be warm and cosy and this feels a little cold and clinical in places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely quaint pub situated in the beautiful village of Great Glen. Very hospitable, warm and welcoming to my friends and I when we came for lunch on the busy bank holiday. Such a pleasure to be in great company!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were very disappointed with our meals. The menus were enhanced greatly and the food served was nothing like we expected. It was lukewarm, the portions were meagre and it was all poorly cooked. We didn't bother ordering a dessert as we already felt badly ripped off. These meals were not cheap and we should have had a much better experience than we did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Glen hotels

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thank you for making my daughters wedding day a day to remember. Both Shell and Jon had a fantastic reception, with wonderful food and good service.
Paul and Kirsty need special thanks for their organisational skills including quick e-mail replies and our special food requests.
Although we requested a simple evening buffet the presentation was top class making it something special.
Again thanks for an amazing day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I came down to visit the family in Oadby, Leicester and stayed at The Old Greyhound. The Hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking available and were quickly booked in and shown our room. The en suite accommodation was ample for our needs and the bed very comfortable. The first evening we had also booked a table for ourselves, my daughter, her husband and the two grandchildren. The service was excellent, with the waitresses being very helpful with the selection of menus, a choice of three , one solely for the children. The food was well cooked to our taste and wonderfully presented, freshly prepared and quickly served, with plenty to satisify all our appetites. For the six of us it was surprisingly inexpensive. Throughout the weekend we found that both the staff and fellow patrons very friendly and helpful. For future visits The Old Greyhound will be our Number One choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

this place is a perfect place to stay, this is the second time in the past 2months we have stayed in the old greyhound inn, sue the manager who has only been there 3 or 4 months has done an amazing job, the foods is absolutly delightful, a wide range of drinks, sue, the staff and the locals made us very welcome rooms are spotless, warm an very comfortable. i wiill b booking up again in a couple off weeks time. i highly reccommend this place. keep up the good work girls. liam from scotland.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My experience of the old greyhound since Oct/ Nov 2011 has been great. I live in a nearby villiage and have seen a transformation since it has been under new management. In the past the food hadn't been great, but in the last few months there seems to have been a big change and the menu has definately improved. There's an easy, friendly atmosphere in the bar with the locals. I have recommended friends stay in the accomadation which they said was beautiful and a bargain at 35 quid for two of them. I think the best bit though is the garden and would recommend going down in the summer. I heard they were building stables for a donkey to go with the goats and chickens they have there now! Keeps the kids occupied for a few minutes! Overall a very nice country pub, great beer garden and nice food. Highly recommended (let's just hope they keep this management!)

Room Tip: Free wireless in the rooms apparantly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Greyhound Inn

Address: 14 London Rd, Great Glen LE8 9GF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Great Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Glen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Old Greyhound Hotel Great Glen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.