We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pulau Ubin

Pulau Ubin
Pulau Ubin, Pulau Ubin 000701, Singapore
6542-4108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Pulau Ubin
Type: Islands, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The island to the northeast of Singapore is the only place to see an example of the traditional kampong villages that once covered the city-state. It’s a go-to spot for cyclists and hikers with miles of nature trails that weave through old rubber plantations and seaside ecosystems no longer found on the main island. Get there from Changi Point Ferry Terminal via a traditional bumboat for $2.50 a seat – captains will leave only when all seats are sold or if you pay the difference.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pulau Ubin was probably one of my favorite day trips in Singapore. It was full of beautiful, untouched wildlife. It was a mere $2.50 to take a bum boat from the Changi Point Ferry Terminal to Pulau Ubin, which is just a 15 minute ride. There are several places to rent bikes and kayaks. We chose the local resort as they had a kayak and bike rental for $20 deal. However, there are lots of bike rental places that have mountain bikes which may be a better choice for those who really want to bike around the island. The kayaking was beautiful, as we were able to see monkeys jumping around in the tree tops. During our bike ride and walk along the boardwalk, we saw wild boar and huge lizards. There are a few stops along the paths to get water, but make sure to stay hydrated, as there aren't many air conditioned places. Do make sure that if you take a cab, which I recommend, you ask for Changi Point Ferry Terminal at Changi Village -- not just the Changi Ferry terminal. The latter is apparently a military operation and we were promptly shooed out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    125
    24
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The SE asian countryside a 10 min ride from Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

You can get here very cheaply by taking the green line MRT to Tanah Merah (the station where you change for the Changi Airport sub-line) and then following the signs to the number 2 bus which finishes its journey next to the ferry terminal. On the weekend at least you only have to wait a few minutes max to get 10-12 people for the ferry to leave. Bikes look of similar quality at all places, you can pay $10 for a newer bike or $6 for the regular, we had no major problems with our $6 ones. Be sure to go off the beaten track, there are some very beautiful places including two small lakes with lillies that looks like the postcards of SE asia you'd see in a tourist brochure - hard to believe you're still in Singapore.

The main restaurant is some seafood place - more expensive than a hawker and not great but then again you are on an island so probably cannot complain too much. If you just want to eat something/are on a budget, and are heading back to the mainland straight afterwards you may as well just eat at the hawker place next to the ferry terminal.

Highly worth it if you have a few days in Singapore or are stopping over not for the first time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We took a boat here from Changi ferry terminal - you can get the boat for $2.50 per person but there needs to be 12 people for it to go and it seemed like it was a quiet day and we didn't want to hang around waiting so we paid $30 for a private ferry. My father who had lived in Singapore in the 1960s really enjoyed visiting the island as he felt it was more like the Singapore he remembered. We hired bikes and cycled around the island which is great fun as the roads were free of traffic (at least they were when we visited). We took a walk around the mangroves which was interesting. We were able to get the $2.50 ferry back which was a pleasant journey.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwood, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great cycling day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was one of our highlights of our trip to Singapore and it was a nice break from the frenetic shopping. We took a cab from Orchard St (about 30") to the Changi Ferry Terminal. The small ferries take off as soon as they have 12 people and we only waited about 10" for the short trip. We rented rusty bikes at one of several shops that do so just a few steps from the dock on Pulau Ubin. We took a couple of hours to cycle around the whole island. There are lots of directional signs and maps so you can't get too lost. It was really interesting to see the mangrove swamps and village life. There is no fee per se, but of course there is a small fee for the ferry and bike rental.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Cycling round this little island is great fun and provides a good alternative to the city life. Very interesting forest and a chance to see many bird species and wild boar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulau Ubin also viewed

Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Pulau Ubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulau Ubin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.