We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Queenies.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mines Tavern

Mines Tavern
Captains Hill, Laxey
01624 861484
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Laxey
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tuscan Queenies.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Called in on spec for an early dinner.
Beautiful home-made tomato soup and Queenies in a Tuscan sauce with warmed ciabatta were spot on.
Fourth visit to the island and it was about time I tried Queenies....I'm glad I waited. These were superb!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Popped in mid week for a quick lunch, opted for scampi and chips in basket at just short of 8 quid each, pleasant staff, service ok, portions were quite small but the chips were nice and the scampi - not a lot but good sized pieces. we had double portions for an extra 1.50 elsewhere later in the week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lorraine is a star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Once again Lorraine, you have done me proud! I have been eating at the Mines for the last 10 years - over the past few I have developed an addiction to Lorraines Queenies in the Manx Sauce. I rang Lorraine just over a week ago, in preparation for my visit - and Lorraine didn't disappoint! There were plenty of Queenies for not just me, but my friends as well,on more than one visit - Lorraine's Queenies are one of the best dishes I have ever tasted - up with food from the River Cottage HQ. You HAVE to visit the Mines Tavern - TOP pub, TOP food. Thank you Lorraine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tip top TT chilli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a day out on the bikes exploring Man, we're all tired and needing some good hot food. Not keen on the standard pub grub (burger n chips, fish n chips, gammon n chips... get the picture?), we took a chance on the Mines Tavern. The pub's tradition - wood bar and furniture, good local beers, mindwarp carpet. It was jammed outside. Good sign. (There was a live band on later on too. Something on every night of the TT, I think.)
A round (beers, g&t, shandy) and a quick dinner decision: all four of us had the 'Bonneville special' chilli - two veggie, two beef. And jackpot! Exactly what we needed: arrived quickly, piping hot, and tasty. Re-fuelled and warmed up ready for another night in the tent. Thanks Lorraine (cooking in the kitchen, and served us too) - we'll be back this weekend to try your mushroom stroganoff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Superb food & superior service! Loved the old memorabilia of the railways! Make it a part of your day in Laxey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped at the Mines Tavern for lunch after our visit to the Laxey Wheel. This Public House is conveniently located just next to the Laxey Station along the tracks.

The rounded bar is really cool….it looks exactly like the exterior of a Manx electric railway tramcar!

We loved the décor – the vintage IOM travel posters and the old photos on the walls showing the Ant & Bee from the Laxey Mine Railway and the Laxey wheel.

They have really nice daily Specials written up on boards which we tried and had no regrets! The food was delivered really fast and tasted delicious! The service was superior!

Food options are very limited in the area, so you may not have a choice but to eat here if spending the day going to Laxey and Snaefell. However, even if there were other pubs, we would still choose Mines Tavern again for the ambience and the stellar service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mines Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Mines Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mines Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.