We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Guest House Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Magnolia
Arsita 90, Viseu de Sus 435700, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Viseu de Sus B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had 5 days in Guest House Magnolia in April 2013.

We visited with another family and went with our 2 children aged 4 and 6 years.

Anna and Dan were very kind and helpful. They made a special effort with the menu when my friend mentioned she was gluten free, making a gluten free cake and bread for her. Anna recommended a nice walk to a hill that we all enjoyed when we had had enough of driving in the car. The kids loved playing with the 2 cats and dog that lived outside. Dan organised some
salinca (pig fat) for the kids to BBQ one night which they really enjoyed. Another time the children watched the family cow being milked.

We stayed in the apartment that suited us, it was 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom, this suited us perfectly.

The food we were served every night for dinner was delicious, we especially loved the fresh trout that were barbecued one night. We really enjoyed our stay with this friendly and very accommodating family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Place

P. Magnolia is situated just a couple of minutes south of Viseu de Sus' town centre, Locating the farmhouse was easy with ample, conspicuously placed signboards and clear instructions from the owner's son Dan. From P. Magnolia, we found it convenient to explore the rest of the beautiful Maramures countryside.

The farmhouse and the grounds were very pretty. The surrounding scenery was absolutely gorgeous, even in winter. Inside the farmhouse, the atmosphere was warm and homely (thanks to tasteful up-keeping and hospitable hosts). As for our room, certainly no complaints! Pleasantly done up, very comfortable and romantic :)

The Food

Breakfast (price inclusive) was something I looked forward to every morning. A lot of what we ate was organic and had been produced by the Bersan family e.g. milk and butter from their cow, eggs from their poultry, jam made from homegrown cranberries. In particular, I remember the delicious, freshly made sausages courtesy of one of the family's pigs that had been "processed" a day or two before we arrived.

Mrs Bersan also prepares dinner if you give her a couple hour's notice. You can let her know your preferences. During our stay of 6 days 5 nights (originally 4 days 3 nights but then we fell in love with P. Magnolia, the Bersan family and Maramures), we ate in on 4 nights. We really liked Mrs Bersan's cooking!

The Hosts

Hospitable. Helpful. Pleasant. Sincere.

P. Magnolia was special because of the Bersan family. They made us feel like we were staying with a family friend. Mrs Bersan was a delightful host who made sure we were well taken care of. We had meaningful after-meal conversations with her sons Dan and Adrian, over several rounds of home-brewed tuica :) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%A2uic%C4%83)

One incident worth mentioning. We had expressed interest in learning skiing for the first time, so Dan made arrangements for us to visit Cavnic, a nearby ski resort that's very affordable, and set us up with an English speaking instructor. So we went and all was well until we were back at P. Magnolia in the evening and realized we'd left my identity card with the Ski resort, which was a 2, 3 hour drive away. Dan made a couple of calls and voila! I had my card the next morning. Really appreciated the extra effort in helping me with a problem I'd created for myself.

The Price

Everything considered, we think P. Magnolia is excellent value at 106 lei per night (just over 20 euro).

Final Verdict

We would most definitely visit again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend P. Magnolia and the Bersan family.

Cheers, Dan! Till next we meet.

Room Tip: Book well ahead. There are only 4 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First of all I would like to thank Bersan family for their hospitality. Ms. Ioana is a wonderful person that was always delighted to make you feel welcomed and makes wonderful dishes. Regarding the food served at the guest house you can let her choose and believe me, you will be more than pleased with her tastes. Her son, Dan, is a great guy that makes you feel welcomed and you can chat with him drinking a glass or four of palinca. I have been drinking four :)
The sights are beautiful. The sleeping is great, the location is fantastic. The only negative point is the access road of about 900 meters, feel free to blame the local authorities for this. In order to reach the guest house you should cross a bridge. After the bridge is over pray not to meet a guy coming from the opposite direction on the road as two cars does not fit at the same time. Anyway once you get there you will forget about this inconvenient.
Thank you once again for everything! The Bersans are a family that makes me proud that I am Romanian!

Kind regards,
Claudiu

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there 2 adults and one infant for 3 nights; everything was excellent, starting from the location (the acces road was a little poor), the room, the food, the host!
Would very likely return there.
Highly recommended for a stay in Maramures!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've booked a double room at Magnolia house with about three weeks ahead and we were lucky to find an available room.
The whole experience was wonderful and Mrs. Ioana made us to feel like we were at home, being very nice, polite and warm with us and with all quests. The traditional food home made was terrific and palinca (served at each dinner from behalf of the house) was fantastic.
Rooms were very clean and has nice furniture. Bath the same, very clean and had a full functional cabin shower.
We've stayed in room number 3 which has a matrimonial bed and for our child we've had an additional bed put in the room. There were enough space even with this additional bed for the child.
Magnolia house offer a true country experience, being located on a hill near to Viseu de Sus, so is not actually in the city, which is very good, being away from the road noise. The view offered is truly marvelous and the most important is that there is plenty of space available with trees and green grass.
WiFi Internet (free) is working OK and all time during my stay I was able to connect to the Internet.
Being located so close to the main city objectives (oil and gas station, downtown of Viseu de Sus, near to Mocanita railway) is a great place to stay and make it like a "land base" for your trips in Maramures.

100% recommendation for Magnolia house!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wonderful hostess - friendly and made very tasty breakfasts and dinners for us with traditional romanian food.
2 sweet little dogs that we played with were lovely.
Rooms clean and very comfortable.
Beautiful setting in the countryside, good walks around the area up hills looking over the city and other hills.
Great location for seeing the wooden churches of maramures.
Good parking facilities.
Best hotel we stayed in in Romania.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Access to location is a bit difficult, but the house is excellent located in a place away from noise and lovely views. The service is impeccable and traditional food, prepared with products from own household, is very good and plentiful. The hosts are very hospitable and offer tips for tourists. We lived in twin room, we found it clean with relaxing beds and a very large balcony. Here we have two small observations for hosts: odor from animals and sink a little inaccessible. Otherwise, I found the ideal location where we could relax after each trip made in the beautiful area of Maramures.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guest House Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Magnolia

Address: Arsita 90, Viseu de Sus 435700, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Viseu de Sus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Viseu de Sus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house Magnolia, located above Viseu de Sus, offers a rural idyll with all comforts. All rooms are furnished modernly with furniture from our family's carpentry shop and have a minibar and TV. The bathrooms are equipped with shower, toilet and hairdryer. The surrounding area offers peace and quiet as well as fresh air and a superb panoramic view of the city of Viseu de Sus and the environment. Magnolia House was opened in spring 2009. Most attractions of the city Viseu de Sus are located within a short 10-15 minutes by car or 20-30 minutes by foot along a beautiful path. In the outer court there is a leisure area which includes: playground for children, arbor, green spaces where you can practice different sports. The unique architecture of the building, the magnificent environment, as well as human warmth of the hosts are only a few of the reasons why our guests return to Magnolia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Guest House Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.