We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful jungle experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almonds and Corals Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Almonds and Corals Hotel to your Saves list
Almonds and Corals Hotel
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   11KM After Puerto Viejo | Talamanca, Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dale, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful jungle experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were surprised when we saw our accommodations, built on stilts, neatly tucked into the jungle. Each cottage was nicely outfitted with comfortable bedding and drapes. The walls are screen, so it can be noisy at night, but the noises are pleasant jungle sounds, so it's fine. Howler Monkeys are common overhead. Birding is wonderful here. There are lots of rules regarding use of water, so we were surprised to find a spa in each room. It didn't seem to fit into water conservation, so we never tried to use it. It takes a while for hot water to reach the room, but it does eventually. The dining room was large and the food quite good. Angel and Jesse made our bar and dining experiences enjoyable. There is a beach, but swimming is not allowed due to rip currents. Because of the location, on the Caribbean lowlands, it is quite hot and humid here.

Room Tip: I believe the cottages are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    27
    9
    11
    24
See reviews for
20
72
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everglades National Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had lunch here and ziplined. The ziplining was pricey $100 for two of us, but the guides were safe and did a great job of pointing out animals and insects all over the place. The patio area (common area) is so beautiful and this was the quietest place we ever visited when on the Viejo strip. I can see why others might be frustrated with the rooms, as they are actually platform tents. So make sure your spouse and kids are okay with that.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was quite disappointed with the staff at this camping facility. It truly is a cool spot,adjacent to a beautiful stretch of beach. It is not, however,a hotel. It is a nice platform tent community. The tents are clean and the bed was fine. Two meals are included,but truly they are not edible. I have graceless to Central America for years, and no one should subject themselves to the blatant unsanitary conditions of this kitchen. Insects swarmed in much of the food. No misting,the maple syrup moved with termites swarming...even after being alerted, the staff did nothing. If this was advertised as a cheap place. I'd say there is plenty of good food surrounding the area. For the price, however, it is a very poor choice. Puerto Vision has much more to offer then this tent hotel...and by the way, that beach is totally accessible from the road...no need to stay there to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We rocked up at the hotel in the last minute to see if there was any availability for one night and there was. The bungalow are all the same (ours had a kingsize bed and a single bed) with a hot tub on the other side of the room. It had a standing fan and a ceiling fan too which was helpful, given the hot climate. I think it would have been nice for the hammock to be outside the bungalow as opposed to inside by the corner, but having no balcony or outside veranda, better than not having one at all.

Pros:

* Hotel has its own walkway to the beach of Manzanillo
* It has several hammocks on the beach too for guests only which we enjoyed using
* Bungalow is spacious with hot tub and separate show

Cons:

* Lots of flies over the breakfast buffet
* Dinner was so so, nothing special, even for 4* hotel

Tips

* The receptionist knocked off $50 form $200 when we asked if they could give us a discount if we paid in cash :-)
* Look out for monkeys. After spending some time in the Corcovado National Park and seeing no monkeys (though we saw a sloth so it made up for it!) we saw two monkeys jumping from tree to tree at the hotel on our way out of breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The good:

It had a nice location right in the jungle and on the beach. The jungle was pretty much untouched in and around the resort, so you could literally step off the path and into the woods. It really made you feel like you were in the middle of nature. It was a very peaceful way to sleep. The beach was right at the end of the path, very close to the restaurant and rooms.

The bad:

My biggest complaint is that it was a poor value for the money. They just need to charge more in line with what you're getting. There just wasn't enough people on staff to serve the needs of that kind of resort. There seemed to be just 2 people running the entire restaurant - one to cook and one to take orders, serve food, refil drinks, etc. The food was edible but not something that I'd look forward to each day. The menu was a bit limited and didn't change at all during our stay. The bed linens were a little stained and never felt very clean. The water in the shower came out in one thin stream - like a hose that wasn't very strong. The bath tub took about two hours to fill. It was not very easy to communicate with the staff. Given I was in a Spanish speaking country and should have had a better command of the language, but the website lead me to believe that it would be more friendly towards English speakers. The woman who served dinner was the most fluent in English and by far the nicest person on the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in July of this year. It was everything we expected and more.

We experienced a major storm come through one morning, this closed down the exit road for most of the day, and the path to the beach, but this gave us time to explore the the immediate area. The staff were beyond amazing especially 'Angel'. Even though his English was very limited and our Spanish even more so limited, we had no issues communicating. We have never felt more at home then our stay there.

The accommodation were amazing, yes it is rustic, but beautiful! What you should expect is a 5 star Camping adventure! If you are expecting pristine accommodation you will be disappointed, as you will be staying in huts, in the middle of a 'rainforest'. You will have to contend with mother nature, so yes, you will have bugs in your room, mildew, as it is extremely humid, and the surrounding wildlife noises. Be ready to be woken at about 5:05am, by the howlers! We were told the bugs would be bad, but they were nothing like we expected. Lots of different critters then we are use to at home, but we didn't find the need to use repellent or even the netting on our beds.

The food was amazing! Especially the steak, and that coming from an Albertan has got to say something about it.

We will be returning, and recommend it to everyone we talk to.

Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on their 2 night/3 day package which included transport from San Jose. We found the location to be rather nice, between the forest and access to the beach. Lots of wildlife around too, including the howler monkeys, toucans, a wandering Armadillo and mud crabs everywhere. Beach access is good, the rips are there but easy to walk 5 minutes up the beach to avoid them.
What we didn't like though. We'd paid 800 for the 2 nights, for which we got their junior suite, a shower that had mould growing in it (didn't look like it'd been cleaned properly in a long time), the outside of the buildings looked somewhat run down, and if you're after any kind of drink service outside their lunch/dinner hours (2 hrs each) then you're out of luck. We also rented some bikes from them to get out and about, basically the worst bikes I've ever ridden, in poor shape and difficult to ride.
My suggestion would be, go to the area as it's beautiful, but find accomodation elsewhere. There's other eco resorts and accomodation options available for much better prices, this is a $100 a night hotel charging $3-400+

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Address: 11KM After Puerto Viejo | Talamanca, Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Almonds and Corals Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almonds and Corals, nestled amongst the exuberant jungle of Gandoca Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge in Costa Rica, offers three in one unique destinations, because it is part an exclusive Caribbean beach resort, part a safari camp and part an eco-conscious boutique hotel. The owners are devoted to offer one-of-a-kind accommodations awaiting your arrival and a unique sensory experience that promotes harmony between inner and outer self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Manzanillo
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almonds and Corals Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.