We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Manga Pizza, Manzanillo…warning: eating here could lead to fantastic things.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Manza Pizza

Funky Manza Pizza
Manzanillo 4005, Costa Rica
506-2759-9051
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Manzanillo
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta, Organic, Creperie
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Funky Manga Pizza, Manzanillo…warning: eating here could lead to fantastic things.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This little jem of a place is mellower and friendlier than a beach party in 1970s California. It’s owned by our new friends Gloriana, a lovely, vibrant Costa Rican girl, and Thomas, a smashing, friendly Parisian guy. One of my ambitions in life is to hang out with these people again.

They’re a wonderful couple who befriended my girlfriend and me to the point where they have an open invite to stay with us when they’re next in the UK. We also went on an amazing boat trip with them to meet wild dolphins and manatees (hooray!) and had a meal with them on our last night at Manzanillo. They’re really special people and it was great to meet such open, friendly and like-minded people 6,000 miles from home. I’m not suggesting that everyone should expect this, we were just lucky in that they had some time as it was the slow season when we were there – but I’m mentioning it as you need to know how great these people are!

G and T set this groovy, chilled out little place up only five months before we found it, and very cool it is too. Firstly, the food is lovely – absolutely the most flavoursome and delicious pizza I’ve had, and they also made us a mouth watering salad, a trick Gloriana repeated (but with different flavours) on a subsequent visit, when we went as invited friends, not customers.

I can’t thank G and T enough for helping to make the last couple of days of our holiday so special. It was a great honour to meet them – they’re really bright, talented people with some fantastic experiences behind them, and they’re great and friendly company as well as fine chefs. I have no doubt you’ll experience similar levels of warmth and good cheer if you go to Funky Manga, and if you do, they’ve got some great tips for things to do in Manzanillo, too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza, beautiful people, perfect chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Inset off the main beach area in the perfectly pint sized village of Manzanillo is this gem of a place. Not only is the food and refreshments fresh, tastey and made to order but the owners of this restaurant come chill out are some of the nicest, warmest, loveliest people you could hope to be served by or if they're not rushed off their feet get to know a little. You will be greeted by smiles a plenty, mouth watering smells and a mix of tables & chairs as well as cushions for lounging if you prefer a less structured seating arrangement. The view of the beach down a nicely kept path is a nice addition too :) Couldn't recommend it more to satisfy hungry tums and for travellers who want more than a place to chow down.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely people, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Good food, the pasta is enough to fill a hungry stomach! The owners are lovely too! When we told that we couldn't dive from Manzanillo because of the low season she offered us to call a diving shop somewhere else along the coast so they could maybe pick us up for a diving trip so we wouldn't have to leave town! :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great new hangout opposite Manzanillo beach and should not be missed.  Great juices, especially the cas. fantastic pasta and pizza complete with free wifi.  The owner is very friendly and chatty.  We spent a lot of time there just hanging out in a hammock chair.

They also deliver pizza around the local area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, even better people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch on our first afternoon in Manzanillo and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of our pizza! Made to order with very fresh ingredients! Owned by a lovely couple...it was like being treated as guests in someone's home rather than patrons in a restaurant. As we sat around using the free wifi after our meal, the owners had a meal of their own- a delicious smelling pasta with ham, onion, and white sauce. So, the next night we decided to head back to Funky Manza for dinner to get some of their pasta for ourselves. We were not disappointed!! Again, cooked to order and simply delicious!! Thanks for two lovely meals!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Manza Pizza also viewed

Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 

Been to Funky Manza Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Manza Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.