We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Bucus and Tours

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Bucus and Tours to your Saves list
Cabinas Bucus and Tours
75mts from the dive shop and 25mts.to the right, Manzanillo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I don't wanna say much more than this: great!
It's a familiar, confortable, nice and very authentic place. I would return every time again.

Try it, you won't be disappointed!!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    28
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
66
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very clean, comfortable beds, mosquito screens on windows as well as mosquito nets for beds, good strength ceiling fan, balcony with chairs & table. Nice en-suite with hot water (most of the time). Well-maintained rooms with polished wood floors. Friendly hosts speak a variety of languages (at least Spanish, English & German). Small shared kitchen (fridge, 2-pan electric stove, kettle, coffee maker).

About 3 mins walk from the "centre" of Manzanillo for shop, restaurants & the beach.

Did the turtle-watching tour with them ($75 per person - $40 for the tour, $35 for the boat), which seemed a little expensive, but apparently it's a standard, agreed price with all operators in the town, so there was very little room for negotiation. Unfortunately the only sight we got of a turtle was a shadow in the distance returning to the sea... but of course there can never be guarantees with these things.

Room Tip: 2 upstairs rooms have a shared balcony, offering a little bit of privacy if you want it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay in Cabinas Bucus :
- Nice hosts who are always ready to give you some information about things worth doing
- Rooms are spacious And clean
- kitchen if you want to cook
- wonderful leatherback turtle watch with Omar, a very good guide and Co-owner of Cabinas Bucus : he led us to the beach by night and we waited there under the stars. And when the leatherback came to the shore to dig a hole and lay her eggs, we waited till we could approach without disturbing her. It was really a magical moment. Omar is really respectful about turtles and explained a lot about them.
- great dolphin tour organised by Omar. we saw lots of dolphins and we had the chance to see a dolphin baby : it was really amazing.
- beautiful snorkeling with kids near the beach
- nice trail in Cahuita NP to see sloths, racoons, monkeys, ...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here in February for 5 nights. For the price we paid we couldn't have expected much more. The rooms were clean and the showers had warm water but the bathrooms had a stale, damp smell much of the time. The cooking facilities were basic: 2 electric rings which is ok if you're cooking for 1 or 2 but not more. It was nice to have the room cleaned every day.

I had an issue after we left with a parcel that had been sent to me and Meltema was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meltema, Owner at Cabinas Bucus and Tours, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback as it always helps us to improve our services!
As far as the "dampness" in the bathroom, my apologies if that was an issue for you.
The caribbean experiences around 80 % humidity and the occasional dampness is part of our rainforest climate. This is what keeps our surroundings lush and beautiful!

It was my pleasure to help you with your parcel , I am always happy to be of service to our clients.
Saludos cordiales Meltema, Cabinas and Bucus Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Cabinas Bucus last week during our stay in Costa Rica. It cost $30 a night and the rooms were very nice. The bathroom was spacious and the rooms were airy, clean, and comfortable. We stayed on the top floor, corner room, which was very nice because we really enjoyed our time relaxing on the porch watching the birds, monkeys, and other jungle wildlife. If you don't stay in the apartments, there is a shared kitchen which has everything you need to make your meals. We went to town or to a store on the way back from Puerto Viejo, to grab some groceries, and made some really delicious meals at home. On top of the great deal staying at Cabinas Bucus, we saved a lot of extra money being able to cook our own meals.
Meltima and Omar were very nice and helpful. During our stay, we had an incident with our rental car and they allowed us to use their phone (for quite a bit of time) and helped us to get the problem resolved. We also accidentally broke their coffee pot, and Meltima was very nice about that too (hopefully they have a new one when you go because we really enjoyed our morning costa rican coffees!)
Cabinas Bucus was located just far enough from town so that the evenings were quiet, with just the sounds of nature and voices of neighbors. It was really a pleasant place. The wood used in the upstairs cabinas is very beautiful. Every day our room was straightened and cleaned upon our return, which I thought was a very nice perk on a backpackers budget :) Our bed was made, trash emptied if necessary, room swept. We felt very comfortable and even felt like we were splurging a bit :)
I highly recommend staying at Cabinas Bucus if you plan a trip to Puerto Viejo or Manzanillo. Very warm and comfortable place.

Room Tip: It seemed as though rooms on the bottom floor would be a bit noisier because of noise from the upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent a few weeks traveling through Costa Rica In February 2012. Manzanillo is a must stay place in my mind. A great little community with a few soda's, Maxi's, an ice cream bar and the funky manza pizza. Excellent thin crust pizzas and our first introduction to Cas Juice. The beach is sandy and a short walk from Cabinas Bucus. Snorkelling can be done from the shoreline and the lively night life of Puerto Viejo is only 14kms away. Manzanillo is like taking a step back in time. Sitting on Maxi's upper level you can watch the village go through its motions. The children play at the gathering place in the middle of the village by the rocks and streetlight, groups of teenage girls sit on one rock, the teenage boys congregate on the steps in front of the variety store and the adults mill about chatting on picnic tables on the beach. Gloriana will come out and chastise the children for throwing bits of plastic as she likes her village to be neat and tidy. Meltema and Omar, the owners of Cabinas Bucus were marvelous. We had two cabins for our stay, one for our 3 teenage daughters and another for ourselves. Ours had a small kitchenette outfitted with the necessary items. The rooms were clean and maintained daily. Omar is touted as the foremost expert on tours in the village. This we heard from anyone we asked. Well worth spending some time with him on a tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We ended our trip to Costa Rica at Cabinas Bucus and really had a great time !
The rooms are very comfortable and the owners very nice and serviceable.
If you can, don't miss the hikes with Omar, he's a great guide and knows how to share his knowledge with other people.
Also, you can do some very nice Hikes by yourself and discover the wonderful nature of the Costa-rican Caribbean coast !
Thanks for everything ;-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Bucus and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Bucus and Tours

Address: 75mts from the dive shop and 25mts.to the right, Manzanillo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful, cozy rooms and our various jungle tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Bucus and Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Bucus And Tours Hotel Manzanillo
Cabinas Bucus And Tours Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Bucus and Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.