We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxi's Restaurant

Maxi's Restaurant
Main road, Manzanillo, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Manzanillo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dahlonega
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The only party place in Manzanillo. Maringue, Calipso, and other music and cerveza, mixed drinks. The restaurant is great. I had blackened pink snapper and it was wonderful. A little loud for my tastes but it is what it is.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    88
    66
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most Definitely a bonna fide Caribbean cuisine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

A party of 4 female baby boomers we were. Maxi's was recommended to us by a front desk hotel person in Puereto Veijo. The food was great, especially the red snapper and the brown stew chicken the next day, very much mouth watering. Oh the taste! just yummy indeed. We felt at home just listening to reggae music in the background, looking out at the ocean, and eating Caribbean food doused with coconut milk. Hmmm. That good! Service was excellent. Kent, the master chef came from the kitchen to greet us when we asked Sukee for him. A little "seconds" was of no extra charge to us at all on that rice and beans. The food was indeed plenty and well worth the price and quality. We were so well received that we went back the next day to have the stew chicken. We met maxi on the second visit, and what a time we had talking history with him and Armando. Oh make sure you order one of the native punches, and do add a little of what I call Caribbean SPIRIT flavor to it. You will be glad you did. Irie! indeed. We will definitely visit again and take family and friends with us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Ambience, great food, lousy service!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Maxi`s was recommended to us for the food & view and both surpassed our expectations!! Unfortunately the service made us think twice and we did not return! We were with our 2 young daughters ages 4 & 6. My wife & I ordered the most expensive dish a seafood grilled platter for two! Our daughters food came, portions were huge & food was great! They were almost finished though when we finally saw our waiter coming with a platter! Unfortunately when he put itdown it was a grilled MEAT platter!! There could be no mistaking our order since I had asked whether Lobster was on our platter and since my wife does not eat MEAT! The big problem was he acted as though it was our fault and then to top it off we had to wait almost half an hour to get our platter!! By then our daughters were almost asleep!! Will probably try again but will ask them to repeat the order! And will ask them to bring all together!! Is very pricey but again, great food and views!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain VIew CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty food but at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The upstairs of Maxi's is a "real restaurant" as compared to the more common "sodas" in town. It catches a bit of a breeze so it's comfortable. The food here is really yummy and so are the drinks. Have something with the traditional caribbean sauce- lots of coconut milk-- so delicious. Even the rice and beans here taste good and the smoothies are a treat. It will cost you though! It is pretty much the most expensive restaurant in town. I did not eat at the Maxi 'soda' downstairs so don't know if the food is the same or cheaper. There is a bar also downstairs which is quite lively at night as a local hangout.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to Maxi's as it was recommended by a local. The food was expensive - I know we were in a tourist area, but entrees were an average of $15.00 each. The view is great - right on the beach, but overall, we weren't impressed with the quality of the food. Service was good, but we didn't feel that the quality of the food warranted the price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxi's Restaurant also viewed

Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Maxi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxi's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.