We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lignon Hill

Lignon Hill
Legazpi, Luzon, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 99 Attractions in Bicol Region
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cherry Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We made a "quick" stop at Lignon Hill Park. We hadn't done any research on it, so we had no preconceived notions.

When we got to the gate, the worker was very high pressure in trying to sell us their ATV rides. P1800/person was a bit too steep, even though Zac Efron himself had done the trip! The trip looks great, but wasn't in our budget.

Instead, we opted to just enjoy the hill. P20/person, with me paying P25 (because I am a foreigner...despite being a permanent resident).

The hill is a paved road the winds up to the top. We saw several vehicles that overheated during the drive up, so make sure your vehicle is serviceable and TURN OFF YOUR AIRCON! We walked up and it was a great workout.

On the way up, there are various stops you can make. The first we stopped at was some tunnels made by the Japanese. This was very interesting to see how intricate and cramped they were. Further up the hill we were able to climb up a section of wooden ladder. Was a good fitness challenge.

At the summit, there is food and souvenirs, and a great view of the Mayon Volcano. I recommend also visiting Cagsawa Ruins, but this view is different, as you are looking more "at" the volcano rather than "up" at the volcano. Great photo spot.

One of the main attractions here is the zip line. We didn't do it, but it looks great. We opted to do the cheaper (P150/person) suspension bridge, located at about the 75% mark up the hill. The bridge requires full fall gear, so go to the zip line hut and they will kit you out with helmet and fall harness. Then you hike down the hill to the entrance to the suspension bridge. For those who are afraid of heights, this is great challenge. The bridge is really narrow (about 8 inches wide) but has protective netting on the sides. A great thrill.

Overall, this is a nice 1-2 hour adventure located right in the Mayon area. It's right next door to the Albay Park and Wildlife area. Worth a trip. And if you have the cash, I think the ATV adventure would be great!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Makati
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“360 degrees adventure zone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

20-30 minute trek to reach the top of the hill, but it's all worth it! The view was magnificent. We've tried their zipline (superman style) and hanging bridge and we had a lot of fun. We missed to explore the Japanese Tunnel since there's no available tour guide around. This is one great attraction in Legaspi that should not be miss.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lignon Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Please check out my website at eckdesign.blogspot.com under travel for all my pictures about this attraction.

The grounds of Lignon Hill was very beautiful and everything was nicely manicured. The hill is surrounded on all sides by magnificent views and vistas that one picture shot is not enough.

Aside from the many photo spots, the hill boasts of many things to do from hiking trails to the superman zipline.

Of course, this is where you will also get one of the best views of the Mayon Volcano surrounded by all the other wonderful picturesque beauty of the bordering areas.

This attraction is definitely an outdoor attraction although there was a service building as pictured on my blog. However, because the weather was sporadic at our time of visit and because of our time limitation, we were not able to really experience this attraction to its fullest. I am assuming that there is a bathroom on the premises.

The hill allows for decent wheelchair and stroller access but only near the main service building area. Unfortunately, uneven terrain and stairs need to be executed to make the most of the lookout points for best picture-taking.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to view the whole Legazpi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

You need to use a four wheel drive to reach this place. Nice place to hang out and relax. Fantastic view. For those who wants adventure can try the zip line. There's one souvenir shop located near by. A small restaurant that offers some refreshment and fresh coconut.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“all adventure in one destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

what to do in lignon hill?
first try to trek up to the top
try their zipline or try crossing their hanging bridge
then enjoy the view of legazpi,daraga and other nearby municipalities

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lignon Hill also viewed

Legaspi, Albay Province
Legaspi, Albay Province
 
Legaspi, Albay Province
Legaspi, Albay Province
 

Been to Lignon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lignon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.