We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Philippines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Bay

Coron Bay
Coron, Busuanga, Palawan, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow Philippines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Coron is breathtaking! The limestone cliffs, the clear blue waters, the rich marine life... To truly enjoy the place give a minimum of 3 days and 2 nights. Sites worth seeing are Kayangan lake, Barracuda Lake, Twin Lagoon, Banul Beach, Skeleton Wreck and Maquinit hot springs. All these places are near the main island of Busuanga where the airport is and takes about 15-20 minutes to reach by a small boat (banca). The lakes are very clear and a joy to dip into. Banul beach has a strip of white sand and the water is very clear as well. There are some open cottages where one can have snacks and relax in. In Skeleton Wreck, one sees a sunken ship not too deep and the fishes and corals around it makes it a fun place to just snorkel and wonder at the beauty down below. And Maquinit Hot Springs is only one of two salt water hot springs in the world. The nice thing about the sites is that they are not located in the main island of Busuanga, except for the hot springs. Thus one gets to enjoy the beauty of the place without the distractions of town life. Everything is still in a pristine state. We stayed in Balinsasayaw Resort, located in Uson Island and which is about 10 minutes from the sites. We like the resort because we find the town a bit crowded already and the resort is a palce where one can go back to at the end of the day and still enjoy the view of the cliffs and the marine life which surrounds the resort.

Coron is very educational as well for the children. There may be a bit of a hike up and then down before reaching Kayangan Lake but there are steps and handrails now to make the climb easier, compared to years ago when one had to climb through rocks and soil. They will also have a blast feeding the fishes. Aqua shoes are recommended.

One can usually get a tour to see the sites. Ours was included when we booked at Balinsasayaw Resort and included snorkelling gear, life vests, entrance fees to the sites, our own small boat and guides. Full board meals was included in our resort package.

We have been to many other places and Coron is one place we keep coming back to. It really is worth it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    20
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Coron Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Coron or Busuanga, Palawan is truly a magical place. We stayed for three nights at Majika Island Resort and spent most of the days island hopping and snorkelling .at Bintuan Marine Sanctuary, the Cayangan Lakes, the pearl farm, i specially love the twin lagoon, my experience in these twin lakes is truly awesome, the sights breath-taking and the waters truly pristine.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagayan de oro
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“true philippines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

i say this town is true philippines because it is cut off from the main islands making it a land on the edge yet on the move upwards as it expands..the town is interesting..small but most of your needs can be found there..my main attraction the heart of the town as most is the market place where fresh fish of all kinds are on display for buyers..go early to get the best..you can either buy your delights and bring them to most hotels where you may be staying and they will cook a great meal for you for only a small cooking price ,or you can bring the fresh delights to a few small resturants that will also cook your meal up for a small price..most go for the large crabs,and prawns,,
well after diner stroll down to the center of the town next to the market and enjoy the locals cooking up small goodies.and deserts..fresh coconut drinks..its a fun place with all the children playing around..and they like it if you share some of the many treats available..
at night the town shuts down mostly except for a few bars..where dancers entertain you into the wee hours..its a safe area..mostly a town full of drivers ..for the wrecks..but there is many other adventures available..boating to the 1 of many islands for a swim..motorcycling around ..hot springs..and trying a different eating place as there are many..all great..and try the local desert halo halo..there is a shop in the town on the main strip..its an ice-cream delight..
so go and enjoy..also it good to bring so extra cash and dont rely on the banks as the electric
can often go out and no atm's online..i rate the town as one of my favorite..i was with my family 2 young children and they also enjoyed it all..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coron, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

People are friendly and nature are breath taking at its finest. Enjoy the tours in maquinit (it's really hot compare to hot springs in laguna), a trip to twin lagoon, beaches, barakuda lake, shipwreck, kayangan lake and more.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I wish i would not go home when i was here! It simply is the most beautiful island in the country. I am compelled to write my ever first review because of this. The people were amazing and very accommodating, all smiles! They certainly have the most beautiful beaches. I would certainly go back!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coron Bay also viewed

Coron, Palawan Island
Coron, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Coron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coron Bay to your Saves list