We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular thermal springs - great for a quick visit and soak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal to your Saves list
Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal
Km 10 Vereda San Ramon | Risaralda, Santa Rosa de Cabal 661020, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Spectacular thermal springs - great for a quick visit and soak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal for a few hours from Manizales. Took us about an hour to get there - the last few miles of the road were unpaved and winding through picturesque mountains, so the going was slow.

We did not stay at the hotel, just visited the thermal spring area. The waterfalls that spread out like a root into branches are spectacular. At the bottom are thermal spring water pools, showers, fountains, restaurant and a spa. The water joins into a stream lush with beautifully arranged garden and flowers. There is a place for kids to play, adults to soak and talk and trails for those who love to hike.

We did not see the hotel accommodations, so we are unqualified to review the hotel. The thermal springs area of Santa Rosa de Cabal is, without, one of the best in Colombia and South America.

Room Tip: Between Pereira and the thermal springs (termales, as locals call it), there are many hotels, hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    19
    14
    17
See reviews for
34
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

And then change everything !!!
Great location but the hotel has been build about 80 years ago and never updated .
Food is terrible as well.
Shame since the place is fantastic , especially the hot springs you can find in front as falls or very close by as hot pools .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Overall, the hotel is overpriced for what you get and the food is awful, but if you're just looking for a nice pool you're in luck.

The hotel is old, grimy and needs some renovations, fast!! The rooms are terrible. We were a small group and we reserved 2 rooms. Both rooms stunk of mold and mildew and had a 'stale' smell to them. We were able to see the room below us through the wooden planks on the floor!

In the late afternoon it starts getting cold, so after hiking or swimming we wanted to take nice hot showers. Well, we were out of luck. We asked a hotel employee if there was hot water in the rooms and he told us to run the shower for approx 15 minutes. Thirty minutes later, no hot water. On another occasion we asked a woman at the desk about hot water in the rooms. She told us to run the shower for 20 minutes. Forty five minutes later, no hot water. We felt as if they'd just told us to run the water for a while so we'd leave them alone and walk away.

The price you pay includes the meals. They're terrible!!!! Bring your own food!

However, there are two nice things I can say about the hotel. 1) The pool is phenomenal. It's super relaxing and the hotel also has mini-pools and a few jacuzzis. 2) The hotel has a daily hike which is included in the price. The hike is wonderful. You're able to see several waterfalls and some great views. It's a little steep with lots of climbing but that's what makes it fun and adventurous.

So overall, the pool and the hike are the highlights but the hotel and the food are awful. Oh, not to mention if you express any concerns or complaints to the manager or staff, don't expect them to care!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The place is very old, in very bad condition, mostly dedicated for low income class people. The people at the door gate are very rude, they want you to pay upfront for a place that is in total decay.

It is a shame that a source of thermal waters like this is the condition they want to keep it.

Wouldn't go again or recommend to anyone, very bad choice to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The most relaxing place I have ever been to. It is a Hot Springs hotel located in the middle of nature and sorrouded by mountains an waterfalls. Its an experience I will never forget ad recommend it to everyone that loves nature and hot water :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

What you should do getting here is just relax...get into the steaming hot pool which is being fed by a vulcanic spring....buy a bottle of rum or aguardiente or a beer if preferred....and just start "being there". This is a place not to visit in a state of haste.
Important is making your reservations in good time, the best rooms will be sold very fast in advance and it's always busy, because all colombians know how to relax and do this on a regular basis. The rooms are simple and clean nothing fancy, but hey this is not a stay-in-your-room kind of hotel, you're gonna be outside most of the time....

Room Tip: Book the honeymoon special for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The location is unique due to the thermal hot springs. The hotel offers privacy to pools not available at a nearby location. From Medellin, we took a nonStop bus, Flota Occidental, a 5hr luxury ride at 33,000 cop. We were adviseed intially to stay at Pereira as there were more options available. In hindsight, we could have taken a smaller bus nonstop to the town of Santa Rosa Cabal for 36,000 cop, and then a 15 minute taxi ride to this remote location tucked at the end of a valley. The hotel is a 50 year old wood structure with hotspring pool facilites, including a restaurant and pool side bar. The price is all inclusive.

We opted for a larger room with a balcony, referred to as an apartment on the second floor looking directly at the cascading waterfall. Though it appeared strange the hotel offers rooms without showers, we soon realized after lounging in the hot spring baths, it wasn't necessary to shower. The pools are extremely clean, pools drained daily and very relaxing.

The nature hike, more like a trek was invigorating and beautifully lined with waterfalls and hot springs. It takes you to a vista at 3k ft.

The food has significant room for improvement, but since this was not distinquished as an upscale spa, it was somewhat tolerable. A limited menu with barely a wine list. We recommend to bring your own provisions.

Take advantage of the low season that is celebrated on Colombia Valentines Day, in September, and North American Valentines Day, in February. They offer low season rates which made the lack of a decent restaurant acceptable.

The staff was friendly, good security, rooms adequate, but no hairdryers, so bring your own. The thermals will make up for anything that is lacking. You will leave completely relaxed and invigorated. Mark your calendar for September or February!

Room Tip: Best rates in September and February, book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal

Address: Km 10 Vereda San Ramon | Risaralda, Santa Rosa de Cabal 661020, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Risaralda Department > Santa Rosa de Cabal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Rosa de Cabal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.