We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Thurnham Hall to your Saves list
Thurnham Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thurnham LA2 0DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Originally I was put off that Thurnham Hall is described as serviced apartments as I have had problems with those kinds of hotels in the past. However as soon as we arrived I was put at ease. The bar, restaurant and reception are set in a lovely grand hall with a roaring open fire, the staff of the reception and bar were extremely helpful and lovely. The views are stunning of the surrounding areas.
The apartments themselves are huge, we rented a studio apartment for the night which was bigger than my Manchester flat! There was a small porch to keep shoes and coats in then a door into the apartment itself, I was very pleasantly surprised. Big flat screen TV, sofa, dining table, wardrobe space, the kitchen has everything you could need (even a dishwasher!) and the bathroom is large and has a corner bath/shower. The heating was already on when we came in which was nice because it was freezing outside.
We used the leisure centre facilities in the morning after checking out which was nice, heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. The staff, again, were lovely.
Would definitely recommend Thurnham Hall for a short or long break, it's great value for money and overall I had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    62
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our 2 bed was on 1st floor of Woodland(see photo),not in main house.plenty of room,TV reception good(freeview channels),you can pay for internet(£5/day I think)or use your mobile/wifi/pc at your mobile costs
.All energy usage is electrical,and the cost is an excellent fixed £1.12/day for a 2 bed(a nominal amount) so no problems keeping snug.
The onsite sport facilities are a downside---pool,hot tub,sauna and keep fit gym.No other sport,no table tennis(table broken),no pool table(removed).
Lancaster worth visiting (with Sainsburys supermarket,we had big fridge with big freezer part),as is log fire in main house!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay at Thurnham Hall, we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable time here with us. However, we do regret that you have not been fully satisfied with the choice of activities available on site. Please be assured we appreciate your comments and will look into reintroducing some of the indoor sports facilities. We believe, nevertheless, that you had an otherwise pleasant stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in between Christmas and New Year. We are Diamond Resort members which we booked using our points. The resort is lovely and our one bedroom apartment was huge. We didn't use the leisure facilities as I was recovering from flu so basically just chilled out during our stay, but the pool looked good and it wasn't very busy.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, the portions were huge so wouldn't be able to manage several courses, but it was reasonable value etc.

The only thing I would say is they do weddings, which I can understand as its a great setting, but the guests take over the only lounge area at the resort and we felt like we didn't want to intrude on their day, therefore couldn't take advantage of the lounge bar after our meal and ended up just going back to our apartment. If you were staying longer this wouldn't be a problem but for us it meant we only had one night to enjoy the lounge with log fire etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Thurnham Hall! We’re sorry to read that your stay here was somewhat marred by another guest’s wedding celebrations – we make every effort to minimise disruptions caused to other members and guests in these situations, and we’re sorry that you weren’t able to enjoy the resort’s lounge area on this occasion.

We really hope that this hasn’t put you off returning for Thurnham Hall for another stay – we’d love to see you again!

Resort Manager
Lorna Cardwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We only stayed the weekend, however my inlaws are still there and are staying the rest of the week. We only came because of work/university commitments.

Fantastic location - tranquil location with little quaint country pubs nearby.
Fantastic pool/park/duck pond for the kids to keep them entertained and tired our little boy out - perfect for early nights and long uninterrupted sleeps.

Staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Perfect place just to relax and unwind

Room Tip: We were on room 45 which was really spacious and had the best corner bath ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I visited Thurnham Hall this Autumn. We had a wonderful stay. The amenities and grounds were splendid. Whilst there, we visited several local sites and spend a day in the Lake District and another day in the Yorkshire moors. We wished we could have spend more time there. Overall, a great holiday!

Brian and Mary Beth Phillips
North Carolina, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We truly enjoyed our week here. Tranquil, scenic, historic, very helpful staff, and good food. A bit of a trek from Southern CA to London to Lancaster area, but oh, the beauty and richness that awaited us. We were glad to have had the opportunity to visit this part of England.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Thurnham Hall; here we put extra effort into creating a relaxing and homelike atmosphere, especially for those guests who find themselves a long way from home. We are glad you enjoyed it and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resor Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just come back from a 4 day break at Thurnham Hall. Everything was perfect!!! We stayed in an elite 2-bedroom apartment away from the main hall BUT it was superb - very modern and well appointed. The hall itself is magnificent with a very chequered history - they do a great talk and tour which is very interesting. The food in the restaurant cannot be faulted and you get very generous portions at a reasonable price. The hall is well situated for exploring the area - on Tuesday we walked on the canal side in glorious sunshine although the canal itself was frozen over and also spent a day in Kendal. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Thurnham Hall – thank you for your review! We’re really glad that you’d like to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Resort Manager
Lorna Cardwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Address: Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thurnham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.