We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added River Cottage to your Saves list
River Cottage
2 Brookland, Burton-in-Lonsdale LA6 3ND , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
OLDHAM
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Peaceful & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here one weekend with friends. The quiet location is delightful, adjacent to the river & we had a beautiful view of this & the bridge from our room. The quality of our room was v good, the bathroom excellent. We enjoyed the inobtrusive friendliness of the host who made the most marvellous breakfasts, just the thing to start us off for a day walking in the surrounding area. I would (will) stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a River View - brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here, Elizabeth and Frank made us feel very welcome. Loved the views from our room. The breakfast was delicious.Great pub very close for evening meals. Enjoyed the walks in the area.Very clean and comfortable and friendly. Will defiantly stay again. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Ask for the room looking out onto the rive, very pleasant :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My partner and I have just come back from a romantic weekend at River Cottage, upon arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owner. They could not have been kinder to us and they went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was very clean and the furnishings were very nice too. The breakfast was gorgeous and there was always plenty to eat with unlimited toast and tea. The whole weekend felt very special and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed in this bed and breakfast on 1st June 2012,upon arrival we was warmly welcomed by the owners of river cottage,they kindly showed us around and told us to make ourselves at home.our room was very clean and decorated very pretty.they even had some toiletries and towels available for us to use.all bed linen was clean and fresh.and our room had a tv with DVD.outside in the garden was the most beautiful view of the river greta,we also had this river view from our room.was a bonus with the weather to.breakfast in the morning was a choice of cereal and a full English.i am a veggie and they catered very well for me,was a lovely breakfast.we would have liked to stay another nite as this was a lively place and location was perfect for the caves and waterfalls.but as was busy bank holiday weekend they were fully booked.i would highly recommend this bnb as perfect hospitality,lovely house.perfect setting,great breakfast.perfect location and overall great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

just spent a few days for my parents 40th anniversary, in this gorgeous B&B in the small and quaint village of Burton-in-Lonsdale. Definitely needed a few more days, but left my parents there to enjoy the neighbouring towns. It is ideal if you would like to be at the edge of the Yorkshire Dales and Lakedistrict, with the picturesque landscape and lakes. Elizabeth and Frank Graham are the perfect hosts and extremely welcoming and accommodating.
So are the villagers, very friendly and hospitable. 2 minutes walk up the hill to the Punch Bowl, for a great meal at affordable prices.
Strongly recommend a car to get you around.
For a peaceful getaway look no further.....

Room Tip: The Bridge View room can take a whole family. Very spacious and has views from both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent 7 nights in the 'Church View' room of River Cottage, and it really turned out to be home away from home. It is so peaceful and quiet there. Elizabeth and Frank are such lovely and witty hosts. Breakfast was great, and from River Cottage it is just as easy to drive into the Dales than it is to drive to the Lake District. We will surely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very modern and homely B&B and we loved the river view room. The BB was clean and decorated nicely. The surrounding area was really picturesque and the views from the room and around the village were lovely. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and equally non intrusive. Overall we had a relaxed and pleasant stay and would recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful getaway. The Punch Bowl pub is within 3 mins walking distance and is a lovely pub with a great friendly landlady and food was good and inexpensive too. I only have one small piece of constructive critisicm and that would be that the heating could be on earlier in the morning at this time of year as it was cold at 9am with no heating on, It would also be nice if the conservatory had been heated as we would have sat in there in the afternoon to relax. Apart from that no faults at all.

Room Tip: Request the river view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: 2 Brookland, Burton-in-Lonsdale LA6 3ND , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burton-in-Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burton-in-Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Cottage is delightfully situated on the Banks of the River Greta, adjacent to the Magnificent 18th Century Three Arch Sandstone Bridge, Crossing The River Immediately Adjacent To The Old Roman Crossing, Offering Very Reasonably Priced Yet Luxurious Accommodation With All Modern Facilities Included, We have Single, Twin, Triple, Quadruple and Even One Very Large Room Accommodating 6 Persons Comfortably, Along With Superb Conservatory Lounge Area For Use Throughout Your Day, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.