We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, if not better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redwell Inn

Redwell Inn
Kirby Lonsdale Road, Arkholme, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Arkholme
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb, if not better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went into the Redwell Inn twice at the beginning of October, first time with my wife and the second time with my wife together with my son and his family. On both occasions we thought that the choice of food, the quality of the food and the service was absolutely superb. My only criticism would be that at a busy time then the service from the kitchen could be a bit slow, no fault of the restaurant staff, but due the the possible lack of sufficient staff in the kitchen. Having said that I still think that the quality and freshness of the food is worth the wait. Excellent, will definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent local food in a very pleasant atmosphere.Staff very welcoming and efficient.Interesting choice of menu.I had Beef cobbler with cheesy scones.Very nice.Starters were good and even though I didnt have a sweet there was a lovely choice.The Redwell has had a few changes in its lifetime but I think the latest upgrade does as old building justice.Will definately go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The ambience & food at the Redwell is outstanding - it's a pity the service is slow. The restaurant has been upgraded to a very high standard. The dining room is very spacious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A worthy Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

a true Inn, friendly service, good food cooked to order, young owners with great ambitions, very easy to drive bye, but don't you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a lovely meal from an extensive menu.
The portions are enormous!
Good very reasonably priced wine list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwell Inn also viewed

Arkholme, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to Redwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.