We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat for relaxation and unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchalli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jade
Manchalli Post, Manchalli 571250, India   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat for relaxation and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had gone with family and our stay at Jade was just what we needed. Our stay was very comfortable, with well kept rooms and great food! While older folks enjoyed lazy strolls in and around, little ones had a good time running around and exploring. All the rooms have clean bathrooms with hot water, power back ups and daily housekeeping by the staff. Local cuisine was something we will cherish for ever. Aunty prepared some really great meals, even cooked special dishes for my mom who had diet restrictions. Kabir was very good at arranging and suggesting our local tours. Above all, it felt home away from home, but in a beautiful paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from our third trip. Well I guess that says it all.

Jade is probably the best home stay that we have ever stayed. It is a great place to relax with beautiful rooms, delicious foods and caring hosts.

Thank you Megha and Kabir. We will be back soon.

For those who care for a proper review, here it is
1. Beautiful clean rooms and bathrooms. Very well maintained and hygienic. 24 hrs hot water.
2. Windows have net cover, so no problem with insects.
3. Excellent food, with very good desert. Perfectly safe drinking water.
4. Very child friendly. The kids would have a gala time.
5. Power backup
6. No safety concern

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Its great place to go relax nothign much in and around, one of teh best place to be there and relax. kabir make the experince even better ! do not have much expectation but simple, safe and clean place to be inn...., best part is local home food ....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The title for this review was decided even before we left the place . Just took a while to get a internet connection to pen this review !!

We stayed here for two nights in May 2012. Whats excellent about the place , has already been said by others below and holds good .

Absence of tourist points around kutta makes the place ideal for unwinding and Jade provides the canvass for this . Sumptuous breakfasts and hearty spreads for Dinner encourages you to take long naps and leisurely walks .

Imagine having desserts from fruits grown on the same premises !

The private river was a understatement when first introduced to us . We landed up spending almost half a day , wading and bathing our boys at the place . !! Not sure if any other place will have this USP .

We did Thurunelly temple , Tholpetty Sanctuary , Iruppu falls and Nagarhole Sanctuary while staying at the place .

Must go Will go !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We visited the jade on April 2012. This was our first experience of a home stay. The hosts Megha and Kabir were very friendly. They make the stay very comfortable and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this home stay if you ever make a visit to Coorg. It's worth every penny. I would love to visit the jade once again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The stay at The Jade was unique. The place is a little away from the crowded national park gates & that is its plus point. The stream that runs through the property is a big attraction, specially in the evenings. The food has original taste and delicious. The atmosphere is simply pollution free. The plantation walk itself is enough for a great start start for the day. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had planned to take my in-laws (entire family - group of 10) to Coorg for couple of days and had therefore done a lot of research before deciding on The Jade homestay. It was imperative to get 10/10 (I hope people can understand why) and Kabir and his family made sure that I did. We stayed there for 2 nights and it was a fantastic experience right from the booking till goodbye. Jade is very comfortable, scenic, serene and extremely beautiful. It is maintained exactly as shown in their website. Kabir is a great host and so are his Mom and wife (Megha).

Food is excellent. I told Kabir that if my MIL & FIL liked the food, it had to be really great. We are 100% vegetarians and to make it even more tricky there were some 5 odd vegetables that were out of our scope. But that was no challenge for Kabir & family. All of us loved the food. We had 3 small kids with us and Kabir ensured that non-spicy preparation is done for the kids. They also packed sandwiches for us in early morning as we had to go for an early start.

There is a small play area for kids and the hosts have placed some toys as well so that kids can allow you to have peaceful time. There is good open space – couple of gazebos where you can have your tea, hammocks, place for bon-fire and there is water stream flowing in a private land nearby (not suitable for kids though as the rocks are slippery). Coffee plantations are maintained very well and Kabir gives a wonderful tour. There are 5 rooms in total and 1 TV room. These are adjacent to Kabir’s home. So, you have the required personal space.

On the overall location, this place is in south of Coorg after Nagerhole forest. If you intent to cover Medikeri and the usual tourist spots in North Coorg, Jade would not be convenient. If you intent to cover Nagerhole, Iruppu Falls (amazing falls where you can go right under them – absolutely safe as they have built iron structure on which you stand) and venture into Wayanad – Jade is the place to stay.

Bottom-line: Jade experience is just too good and Kabir & family go out of the way to make your stay a memorable one. Our family had 3 generations and every individual had a great time. I would love to go there again and would recommend the same to everyone. All the best to Kabir and Megha.

Room Tip: If you have kids, go for the 2 rooms in the front. Kabir would guide you anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Address: Manchalli Post, Manchalli 571250, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu District > Manchalli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Manchalli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jade is a 200 year old heritage home situated at the foothills of the Brhamagiri Hills. It is surrounded by endless mountains, plantation, streams and paddyfields and is a perfect place to unwind in the midst of nature. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Jade to your Saves list