We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommadation in beautiful country surroundings, not for townies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Challan Hall

Challan Hall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Challan Hall
Save
You added Challan Hall to your Saves list
Silverdale LA5 0UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommadation in beautiful country surroundings, not for townies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Beautiful house, with clean, comfortable rooms, better than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in. surrounding countryside is splendid, we had breakfast on the patio while watching the wildlife, deer, buzzards and marsh harriers. Mike and Charlotte made us feel very welcome, the house has one twin room with ensuite and another twin room with a separate bathroom. There is another room that can be made available but does have some of the hosts clothes in, but Mike explained this when I booked it. Despite this, it is a beautiful room, superbly furnished with tea/coffee. chocolates and biscuits. This is the only accommodation that will take a one night booking during the high season.we would recommend Challan Hall without hesitation. thank you Mike and Charlotte.
Arnside with two good pubs and a few quaint shops is about three miles away. Some lovely walks along the estuary with great sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We have been travelling around England with our 2 teenage daughters for 10 days and our one night at Challan Hall was one of the highlights of our trip. The setting is beautiful and the owners are very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was superb and we were lucky enough to be invited to taste a few of owner Mike´s excellent wines after we returned from a classic English pub dinner at a nearby Inn. All in all, a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go for a walk around the nearby lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I picked this B&B for a weekend wildlife watching sans enfants in the surrounding area of outstanding natural beauty, concentrating on the Leighton Moss RSPB reserve. After searching the internet for somewhere nearby (a priority for me) and viewing their own website, Challan Hall stood out as something a bit special. I stayed two nights, Friday and Saturday.

The property is a beautifully converted farmhouse, tastefully furnished and decorated with a huge variety of assorted trinkets, antiques and artwork and spotlessly clean throughout. My room was a comfortable twin room with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space had I had need of it; I travel light when I'm on my own! A courtesy tray with kettle, teapot - many B&B's expect you to brew tea in your cup which is anathema to most English people - coffee and a variety of teabags was provided in the room. A nice touch was the Penguin chocolate biscuit (replaced the following day!) and selection of Miniature Heroes! The capacious bathroom, which was for my own use, was adjacent to the room; no shower, but then that allowed me to soak in a lovely hot bath after my arrival on the Friday evening.

Breakfast is served in the family dining room downstairs and comprised a selection of cereals or fruit, toast, and your own choice of items for an English cooked breakfast (all well cooked). Ground coffee served in a cafetiere was another nice touch.

After reading some of the other reviews on this site, I would have to disagree that Mike and Charlotte are in anyway 'absent' or 'lacking in customer care'. It has to be accepted that you are staying in their family home, but at no time did I feel intrusive or uncomfortable about this. If anything, my hosts went out of their way to ensure that I was comfortable and had everything I needed whilst carrying on with their own lives. The atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming, all of which contributed to a highly enjoyable and relaxing weekend break.

This is a very rural area and I wouldn't recommend it to those for whom 5-star luxury is a necessity of even the shortest of breaks. Nor, perhaps, would I recommend Challan Hall to those travelling with children; certainly, if my own are anything to judge by, there are far too many fragile ornaments in temptation's way! However, for people looking for peace, quiet and perhaps a little bit of solitude in the heart of some of the most beautiful countryside in England, I would heartily recommend Challan Hall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrogin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The room and bed very clean comfortable. Charlotte & Mike very welcoming and helpful. Beautiful location pity we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the tranquillity of the country side. Thanks for the welcoming glass of wine after a harrowing day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We were immediately made to feel welcome. The room was extremely comfortable and the breakfast quite excellent. There is a very spacious and pleasant drawing room.
Above all we found the hosts were excellent company and nothing was too much trouble. We would not hesitate to return nor to recommend it to anyone wanting comfort and peace. The hosts have very good recommendations on where to dine locally.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

The house does have great views, not quite on the lake as advertised but pleasant garden and outlook. Quite a drive to any food. The local Italian closes very early. Great views from the pubs in Arndale but food not great. The rooms are cluttered all the drawers and wardrobes are full of host's clothes and belongings makes one feel quite intrusive, same in the bathroom. The hosts also rarely appear to be present in the house, only at breakfast time, makes one feel like an intruder in somebody's home. Overpriced for lack of customer care and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Growmore49, Owner at Challan Hall, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
We are sorry these guests did not have the experience they expected, but some of the comments are untrue or misleading.

We do not advertise being "on the lake", merely having a wonerdful view overlooking it.

"Quite a drive to any food". With respect, we are in the countryside - in the countryside you will not find a Pizza place or Indian restaurant round every corner, as you do in London. There are 3 eateries in the village, a wide choice within a short drive and some of the finest restaurants in the UK within half an hour. But, virtually all our guests come exactly because we ARE in the countryside !

"The rooms are cluttered". Certainly, there are knick knacks, books etc - we do not do Minimalist. As stated in the Sawday's Special Places to Stay, the house is "filled with a colourfull mishmash of mementos, and is happily and comfortably traditional ". But, hey-ho, each to their own.......

All the drawers are certainly not full of owners' belongings. However, one of the rooms, which is only rarely let, does contain some of Charlotte's clothes, but there is also plenty of hanging space and six empty drawers. We were happy to let you have this room so that you could all be accommodated. There are most certainly none of our personal items in the bathroom, as alleged, but an array of bubble baths, shampoos etc for guests' use !!!

We are sorry that we did not "appear" often enough ! One wonders what is expected here - we do try not to disturb guests, while making sure they have what they need. Perhaps a fine balance, which on this occassion we seem to have got wrong. Sadly our regular magician was not in that night. But surely if we were constantly flying around, you would have felt more like an intruder?. And, yes you are visiting our home - we are not a guest house or hotel.

Perhaps a town centre hotel, with 24 hour room service, is what would suit these guests best ??.... rather than a comfortable old farm house, serving a super breakfast, over looking the reedbeds where the Marsh Harriers nest, the Otters forage and the Bitterns often boom - oh and next to the site of the UK's rarest plant. But, then, everyone's tastes and priorities are different, n'est pas?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Challan Hall was an excellent choice for us. It is in a peaceful region of north Lancashire, an area rich in fauna and flora. Our hosts made our stay most enjoyable and have set and met high standards for themselves. Charlotte is an excellent cook and Mike has a well-developed dry sense of humour! We have nothing but praise for this establishment and would recommend it wholeheartedly.
S and J Edwards

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Challan Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challan Hall

Address: Silverdale LA5 0UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Silverdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Challan Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.