We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Night with good friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalsha

Jalsha
169-171 Station Road, Sidcup DA15 7AA, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 66 Restaurants in Sidcup
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A good Night with good friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went to the Jalsha with Dave and sandy as you will always get brilliant service and good quality food. The service is always with a smile and they cannot do enough for you. The food was as good as the service and washed down with a lovely drop of strongbow. Finished it off with an Irish coffee another good night out and safely home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A large restaurant with quite bland curry with some traditional appeal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Positive

1. Many tables so easy to get a booking
2. Traditional atmosphere to some extent
3. Large size means more suited to parties

Negative

1. Main meal -Chicken Tikka Jalfrezi -was lacking in spice and depth and it was bland. I have tried this restaurant a few times and every time the main meal is poor to average, the sauce is weak and tame
2. Too large inside and feels impersonal
3.waiters too rushed
4. seems to be hype about this restaurant which is very overrated imho

Conclusion

This is not value for money and the food is poor to average

Not for me

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of my favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Jalsha Tandoori is by far one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. The service from the moment they open the door from you to the moment the open it for you to leave is exceptional.

The food is delicious. I find that often the food tastes very similar in Indian restaurants but not here.

You won't find a better Indian for miles around. And you certainly won't find better service unless you head into Mayfair.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Night out with George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a lovely meal tonight with George who for the first time could not finish his meal. Bit more expensive than your normal curry but the service was good and the quality of the food was excellent. It is one of my favourite Indian restaurants and it's a shame I can not male it on Tuesday when they have a tribute night on. Well worth a visit if you are passing

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I came to Jalsha on a Wednesday evening and managed to get a table without a reservation as the restaurant was not too busy.

The meal was excellent overall and I can safely say this is one of the best curry houses I have ever been to. We coincidentally came on banquet night which offers a starter, main, rice/naan and side dish for £14, a bargain!

All the food was fresh, well prepared and tasty. The service was also quick and the waiters were friendly and explained the dishes in more detail.

Parking is also available at the back of the restaurant (I believe it is free after 6.30pm). Since this visit I have been a couple of times and the food has always been good. A new firm favourite for me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalsha also viewed

Sidcup, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 
Sidcup, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 

Been to Jalsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalsha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.