We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Kent Estates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Kent Estates to your Saves list
Old Kent Estates
Thaikoppa Estate, Hooror Post and Village | Post Box No 4, Suntikoppa 571237, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Mumbai
1 review
“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were pampered - that was the feeling. Great place, very specious cottages, very nice service and the food was above all this. Just wonderful. The cottages are rsally spcious and very well furnishd. The bathrooms are really big and well decorated.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind words. Our team at the resort thoroughly enjoyed your group's stay with us. One of you trying your hand in making the 'koothe parotta' at our live cooking counter is still fresh in the memory of our chef!
Our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to write a beautiful review. We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We wanted to get away from the humdrum of Bangalore.....saw this link to old Kent and was there the next day, suddenly I went back to my childhood of big bungalows,sweet smelling air and the sounds of birds chirping......this is a good place to be one with yourself, food is better than the best and the eye for details is amazing.
Manoj & Rajan.....these are guys u hardly get to see nowadays in the industry, they made sure of each and every small need of our was met...I would say 60 percent of the "excellent grading" is due to Manoj and rajan.

Owners of old Kent pls note : Do not lose these guys they are the best thing to happen to your investment.
Rooms are good, however we found the price a weebit on the higher side(we get Taj Aguada Goa cheaper) however food is amazing and their Tamil chef can actually go for Master chef competition and win it as we'll........good job.

Manoj & Rajan......keep it up.....awesome job man.

Sanjeev &Varuna

Room Tip: Second chalet from the club house.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam
Our team was very happy to read your review. We are grateful to you for having taken the time to write the same. You are absolutely correct, in all our properties our assets have always been our 'people', your review has re affirmed this to us. Thank you for your words of appreciation about the resort. We look forward to your continued patronage,
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we stayed their three beautiful nights in this new estate.welcome drink and food all things are good.staff where doing too good at their work.lighting and place is awesome to take rest and have good break.Manoj was great support to their team and tara too.,(Hospitality never fails 100% sure on that)
me and my husband really enjoyed well n my 8th month son too.coffee plantation walk was very good.sounds of bird and nature peace was too awesome in early morning.they tried to manage us well.
we always stand and support properties of FREN CREEK n OLD KENT :)
ALL THE BEST n GOOD LUCK

Room Tip: any place and any room will be good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Madam
It was very nice of you to take the time out to write a review about us, especially 2 months after check out!! It was truly thoughtful of you.
It is encouragement like this that keeps our team motivated to constantly provide 'more' to our guests. Apologies for any short comings in the service rendered to you as you have given us lesser stars but we can assure you that we have ironed out most of the teething issues.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We selected the "Governors Retreat" package for our familys' reunion vacation. It was an "all paid package for 3nights/4 days".
After a 2hours drive,from Mysore Railway station,we entered a private road covered on both sides by thick Coffee trees shaded by tall, big trees. After a couple of kms through the coffee plantations,we took a hairpin bend and entered through big wrought iron gates to come face to face with an elegant Colonial bungalow (170 years old, we learnt later, the home of Lt.Col.Wright's family), sitting gracefully on well kept garden.
Manager Manoj and Tara were waiting with welcome drinks and wet towels, as if they were expecting some old friends.
They showed us around the sprawling mansion starting with the plush reception, followed by Party dining and Snooker room. The wings of the bungalow housed the Library with comfortable leather sofas and Game Room for kids on one side and the cozy Home theatre, Lovers Cupid room and boutique (the last two not yet ready) on the other side.
Then they escorted us down the pathway to our living quarters, a handful of Chalets.The chalets are independent, lined up not with numbers, but with names of English Forests, arranged alphabetically, a novel idea! We were staying at Cannock Chase, Delamare Forest and Epping Forest.Each chalet opens into a living room, followed by a huge bedroom with period furniture. The bathrooms were a destination by themselves, big, with 3 bathing areas. I liked the shower with a view of the woods and the big bath-tub made of solid rock, the sky roof giving you a view of the huge trees hovering over the chalets.
Breakfast, Lunch, and dinner were served at The Café perched high above the chalets with a 270 degree view of the whole domain of Old Kent Estate, and the hills beyond.
Was up early with the sunrise and took brisk walks through the estate, enjoying ourselves in the pure greenery untouched by pollution, construction, noise or traffic. We were lucky,one day, to catch a glimpse of a shy family of small turtles in the water pond.How did they get here ,in the first place, I wonder! We could see the plantation workers tending the coffee bushes and other trees.
Back to the open café for breakfast, a feast for a prince. The Chef,Deepak was eager to fulfill our hearts desires, whatever we wanted. He was particularly good with Indian and Chinese dishes. Each meal was a full treat. Kept us wondering what is for desert. Don’t forget to ask for Chef’s own special “Oh my God”.
The kids enjoyed on their own in the Games Room or target shooting or Archery during day time and snooker or Home theatre in the night. The elders spent lazy afternoons in the garden or on the sprawling verandah of the bungalow during the day, reading or sipping Tea with
homemade cakes and scones. In the evening we were enjoying the cool breeze in the verandah and also gazing at stars through telescopes.The wife enjoyed a relaxing massage, in the privacy of our chalet.
At dusk, the property is lit up like Alice’s wonderland, a shining jewel in the middle of the woods. One of the nights we had a barbeque dinner with a shank of Raan and kababs next to a warm bonfire!
We understood that there were other things to do, like driving down to The Tiger Reserve, Elephant Camp, Harangi Reservoir, all within half an hour drive. But with so many things to do within the property, we managed to go only to the Tibetan village.
It was difficult to part from this paradise on earth, but the thought of coming back, for sure, offered some comfort. All the staffs, so humble and caring, came out to say goodbyes with special gifts that kept them lingering in our memories till now.

Room Tip: Ask for chalets closest to The Cafe, unless you dont mind walking a bit. Helpful to work up an appet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this beautifull new estate. The place is fully renovated but it has kept the old colonial atmosphere with modern amenities. You could see that the owners have not spared money on quality and finishing and more is to come in the next months when spa and pool is getting fully operational.
The individual houses are roomy with a 5 star bathroom.
The place is very quiet with a lot of bird life just before your door. We enjoys also the scenery and there is a lot to see in the vicinity which makes a trip of three days very entertaining.
Staff is welcoming and professional.

One of the best marks goes to the cook. We travel a lot but this cuisine is really of the highest standard and super fresh. ! The cook discusses with you the menu and that is what you get. We went with two European couples and this restaurant got the highest marks of our two tour in south India

We definitely will come back !

Room Tip: All rooms are in independent houses , all are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Even before we started for the place, the reviews on the net had us looking forward to the experience. A train from Chennai to Mysore followed by 2.5 hour drive took us to Old Kent Estate. The staff headed by Manoj welcomed us with a cool drink and a refreshing wet towel. We were shown around the club house by which time our luggage had been deposited in our chalet.

The club house consists of a lovely dining room, a billiards room, a library, a home theatre and a games room for children. Each of these was outfitted appropriately. We made full use of the billiards room. The home theatre had comfortable furniture and an enviable collection of movies to cater to all tastes. The library has a decent collection of books and one can pick up a copy and read in peace on a hammock outside. The games room has the works: A foosball table (the balls are awaited), chess, carroms, scrabble (lovely board, a collector’s item), Upwords (a variant which scrabble buffs will enjoy).

We were then escorted to our chalet. There are eight chalets, all named using forest names starting from A to H. Ours was a warm room with a king-size bed, nice sofa and chairs. A lovely touch was a note welcoming us and a vase of flowers. There was a good tv and a sturdy wardrobe. The best was saved for the last! The bathroom was gorgeous: spacious, two showers, a different kind of tub and a range of toiletries to choose from. The soaps were especially nice; also provided were shampoo, moisturizer, shaving kit, comb, a sewing kit etc. The towels were large and soft but left fluff when used: one of the very few negatives.

The food was excellent. The Indian cuisine was really exceptional, the Chinese and Italian were also good. The outdoor Café was good to have our meals in. Since we are avid bird watchers, we would take our pair of binoculars to every meal and end up spotting a few birds there!
The grounds are well-maintained. Near the club house is a small garden with a hammock and several tables and chairs (wrought iron). The chalets are a 50m walk from the club house. The paths are well lit even at night. There are large old trees everywhere and the original forest has been left untouched. This contributes to so much bird activity! In our 2-day stay, we managed to spot and identify 43 species of birds and heard several more. The most common are Malabar grey hornbill, white-cheeked barbet, golden oriole, Malabar parakeet, hill myna…one can go on and on. You wake up to the melodious bird calls every morning.

Above all this was the attitude of the staff—always courteous, smiling and ever willing to fulfil our smallest desire. Sunil and Suaib took us on a trek to see the plantation. They also picked up on our enthusiasm to see the birds and were very helpful. Once the day is gone and dinner is done, you don’t run out of things to do! There is a good Celestron telescope with which we were able to view Jupiter and four of its moons.

It is an eco-friendly resort and solar panels are used for heating water. Though appreciated, there are still some issues which can be ironed out. The waste water is also used for the garden. There are little notes on the bed and in the bathroom urging guests to reuse towels and bedsheets!

Though we didn’t leave the resort at all, Manoj was ready to organize transport for sight-seeing. Other guests did take advantage of this. The resort is getting ready to become senior and disabled friendly. There is a ramp to the club house. There are ramps to two of the rooms and toilet fittings are also appropriate. If you are travelling with one small child below 5, it is fine. For older kids, the sofa is made into a bed. It will be even better if the resort can provide an extra mattress since the room is large enough to accomodate one!

We had a fantastic holiday, with good food, nice room, relaxing atmosphere and most of all rejuvenating time. I will definitely recommend the place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Chalet "Abernathy forest" or "Bedgebury forest" are the closest to the club hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've been to Coorg several times as a child, but this experience at Old Kent Estate was marvellous. I really enjoyed being in the heart of a coffee estate- surrounded by nature- and at the same time, dining on international cuisine, and staying in spacious and well maintained chalets. I do wish there were more activities, especially for younger children. Overall, the stay and the atmosphere was excellent, I'd definitely go again!

Room Tip: A couple of chalets have ramp access, which is useful if guests have special needs. We saw a suite-t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Kent Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kent Estates

Address: Thaikoppa Estate, Hooror Post and Village | Post Box No 4, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a vacation that truly provides not just an escape from your routine day to day chores, but also relaxes your mind and body whilst rejuvenating your spirit. Old Kent Estates takes you back to the luxurious yet pristine victorian era, nestled in the natural greenery of an authentic coffee estate. The Old Kent Estate is part of a 200 acre growing/operating coffee plantation, also a home to a large of species of flora and fauna, tucked away in a little hamlet called Suntikoppa (20 kms before Madikeri or 2 hrs from Mysore) in an area popularly known as Coorg or Kodagu district in the state of Karnataka. Coorg is the prime coffee growing area of India producing a wide variety of premium coffee exported worldwide. The property has been designed keeping in mind its history and tradition, ensuring the conservation and enhancement of the natural surroundings, at the same time sparing no effort to provide the highest quality of luxury with a unique feel of a English county living. Our trained and skilled team will do its best to pamper you during your stay at the Old Kent Estates with their “Never say no” attitude in serving you. Come to Old Kent Estates, enjoy the luxury and matchless service at the Old Kent Lodge, the lush gardens, the coffee trails/treks, the cuisines, the chalets, the wellness treatments, the local sightseeing tours, et al. We look forward to welcoming you at The Old Kent Estates and assure you that our team will go all out to make your holiday a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Old Kent Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Kent Estates Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Kent Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.