We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable rooms over pub, fantastic service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stodmarsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
Stodmarsh | Nr Canterbury, Stodmarsh CT3 4BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Stodmarsh B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming and comfortable rooms over pub, fantastic service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

As others have said, the bedrooms are beautifully decorated yet cosy, there is an enormous bathroom with more bits and pieces than anybody could wish for, and Jo and Tony's welcome got us off on the right foot even before we arrived, as they were so helpful about our booking. The food is good and plentiful, and the pub is quirky and interesting. I wish I had an excuse to go again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is one of our favourite Kentish pubs. It was great to visit and see that the new owners have retained all it's charm and warmth. We stayed two nights and were very comfortable. The food is excellent and ales delicious. Stodmarsh is a lovely little village and so many things to do nearby. Would love to return soon.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Extremely welcoming and atmospheric country pub with 3 rooms, shared bathroom and small kitchen alcove for making tea and coffee. We stayed for 2 nights and were the only guests, so had the space to ourselves. Comfortable, good sized room, lots of fluffy towels and nothing too much trouble for the owners Jo and Tony. The food was what you would expect from a good gastro pub. Good ingredients used inventively and portions that require a healthy appetite. (We couldn't manage dessert on either night). Breakfast was cooked to order and again the chef was not going to let you go hungry!
The pub had a buzz to it. Even so, when we went to bed before closing, we had no difficulty getting to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed equal in size, but one had twin beds. The village is very quiet so I don't think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had dinner and stayed overnight at this welcoming pub on a visit to the Stodmarsh National Nature Reserve. The food is simply delicious with very generous portions. We loved our double room, which was spacious, beautifully decorated and with luxurious, soft bedding giving a great night's sleep. The bathroom is across the hallway, but we had it to ourselves as there were no other guests. Breakfast was hugely enjoyable in a sunny spot in the bar overlooking this pretty village, with newspapers, copious coffee and more fabulous food. It's a family run pub and we felt really well looked after. We'd recommend this pub for anyone visiting historic Canterbury or the pretty surrounding region.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I have just spent a lovely weekend with friends who live in Bekesbourne Canterbury. On their recommendation we stayed at a lovely quirky pub in a pretty small village called Stodmarsh. The pub and accommodation was great. The food very good, an excellent chef! Great dinner and yummy breakfasts. The couple who run the pub and accommodation Jo & Tony are charming and can't do enough for you! The room was spacious and well presented.
There is also a very good taxi service who will take you any where you want, if you feel like a drink or two or three! ;-)
We would highly recommend this delightful pub to visit and stay.
Susie Bartlett

Room Tip: All three bedrooms would be good I should think, with views of the little village & country side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Stodmarsh | Nr Canterbury, Stodmarsh CT3 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Stodmarsh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stodmarsh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stodmarsh
Kent Red Lion
Red Lion Kent
The Red Lion Stodmarsh, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.