We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lakeside setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Cafe

Waterside Cafe
Hastings Road | Hawkhurst Fish Farm, Hawkhurst TN18 4RT, England
+44 1580 754000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Hawkhurst
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Waterside Cafe is situated at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, a complex set in the perfectly quiet location between the Kent and Sussex border. It is a landscaped venue which includes planted gardens, scenic waterfalls and hosts a wide variety of wildfowl from assorted parts of the world making it an oasis of tranquility and an abundance of picturesque features. Our balconied cafe which overlooks the complex, offers a selection of Freshly cooked homemade food and deserts including all days breakfasts, cream teas, lunches & more! With beautiful surroundings, a relaxed atmosphere, free ample parking & open 7 days a week! Waterside Cafe is a favorite among locals and holiday makers alike. Waterside Cafe is currently open from 9am until 5pm Mon - Fri, 8am until 5pm Weekends & Bank Holidays (Serving food until 4:30pm) There are also three junior coarse ponds for Fun Fishing for children and adults! With rods & nets available for hire - No license required! Our water bailiff will be happy to give you some hints & tips to get you catching! Kent Tackle - Kents best stocked Tackle & Bait shop! The Nishikigoi Center - Suppliers of quality koi carp! The Little Things - Children's party suppliers, pocket money toys & decorations! & Slap n Dash - Paint your own ceramics, Make a bear, clay imprints & more are also situated on our complex!
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lakeside setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Sit outside overlooking the lake with its fishermen and wildfowl and enjoy their super cake or their mega breakfasts. Good parking on site, and tables inside or shaded if you don't like to eat in direct sunshine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor quality and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited today. Lovely setting. Ordered high tea for two. One of the sandwiches was wrong and not as ordered. The bread was not fresh and the scones too which were dry with no moistness at all. The tea didn't arrive and I had to go and find someone to let them know. They laughed it off and said they had forgotten.
This was our first visit and if and I mean if we go back we certainly won't be eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good lunch, lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went here with teenagers and younger children. Plenty of choice for all and reasonable prices. Try the delicious home-made cakes!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in the area with fantastic surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visit this cafe 5-6 times a year with family. It does the best full English breakfast in the area. Its well cooked and presented and generous portions. The home made cake are excellent. Staff very friendly and welcoming. When the weather is fine and warm, eat outside and watch the waterfowl and the anglers.

The menu is wide and varied and covers veggies. More than happy to fully recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic meals all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a find.....we were camping down the road! And for a break away from the hellish stay there we stumbled on this pleasant place and it's tranquil surroundings!
Make this a definite stop on your days out.....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Waterside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.