We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Cafe

Waterside Cafe
Hastings Road | Hawkhurst Fish Farm, Hawkhurst TN18 4RT, England
+44 1580 754000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Hawkhurst
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Waterside Cafe is situated at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, a complex set in the perfectly quiet location between the Kent and Sussex border. It is a landscaped venue which includes planted gardens, scenic waterfalls and hosts a wide variety of wildfowl from assorted parts of the world making it an oasis of tranquility and an abundance of picturesque features. Our balconied cafe which overlooks the complex, offers a selection of Freshly cooked homemade food and deserts including all days breakfasts, cream teas, lunches & more! With beautiful surroundings, a relaxed atmosphere, free ample parking & open 7 days a week! Waterside Cafe is a favorite among locals and holiday makers alike. Waterside Cafe is currently open from 9am until 5pm Mon - Fri, 8am until 5pm Weekends & Bank Holidays (Serving food until 4:30pm) There are also three junior coarse ponds for Fun Fishing for children and adults! With rods & nets available for hire - No license required! Our water bailiff will be happy to give you some hints & tips to get you catching! Kent Tackle - Kents best stocked Tackle & Bait shop! The Nishikigoi Center - Suppliers of quality koi carp! The Little Things - Children's party suppliers, pocket money toys & decorations! & Slap n Dash - Paint your own ceramics, Make a bear, clay imprints & more are also situated on our complex!
kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We loved the views, the service the cakes but not yet eaten a meal here but intend to very soon. Its a really nice place to take the kids as there is a shop selling big Koi Carp next door and a ceramic painting shop. Can't wait to take our four year old fishing on the lakes when weather warms up.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brunch by the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great food and fantastic value for money. My reason for the lower score, however, is that it can get quite cramped inside when it's busy and is therefore very noisy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were taken there for an early morning breakfast , on a lovely bright winters morning, before going to London to watch football.
The meal and hospitality were first rate and to be able to sit eating by the lakes was a bonus.
We walked round the lakes and went into the well stocked tackle shop afterwards.
Will not only return, but will bring other friends to experience this restaurant and setting, with maybe a spot of fishing as well , if in the summer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great views with your lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This cafe is near my home and I visited for lunch recently with four friends. We had booked a table in the conservatory but decided the weather was warm enough and moved outside. We over looked the fishing lake and a nice view. It just happened to be a Wednesday which is specials day for older people. Two courses and tea or coffee for £9.95. The restaurant was busy but the service was good and friendly. The food was freshly cooked, promptly served and enjoyed by the whole party. The apple pie which came with either cream, custard or ice cream was delicious. I asked for green tea which some establishments want extra money for was served with no problem. All members of our party agreed that lunch was excellent value for money and that we look forward to meeting there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It's a waterside cafe - but a very nice one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We often fish at Hawkhurst Lakes and the Waterside Cafe is about as nice a Cafe as you will find.

Perched on the side of a lake, plenty of windows overlooking the lakes, it's pretty relaxing.

Service can sometimes be slow - it's a cafe, not the Ivy - but the food has always been of good quality and generously served.

We usually have take away and dust by our rods and eat, but in the winter we make use of the heating.

My parents arrived at the lakes today for a trip out, we ordered from the cafe - really pleasant good and they said they would definitely have another trip out there just for a lunch.

Recommended for a decent cafe lunch with some surprisingly great specials.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Waterside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.