We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holt Bed and Breakfast

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Holt Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Benenden B&B and Inns
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic break. Beautiful home, and you really feel welcomed into Tim and Kate's home.
From the homemade cake and tea in the garden when we arrived to the chit chat and helpful advice, we had a lovely meal in the Bull.
We visited with friends who were visiting from Australia they loved it too.
The breakfast was so tasty local sausages and bacon. Kate's art work is fantastic, I just loved the Morris dancers at the top of the stairs.
We just felt so relaxed and at home.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Set back from the road and surrounded by trees and open farmland this is a real gem. Well decorated and maintained, with some of the Host's paintings decorating the Breakfast Room this is a well thought out B&B. The adjacent village is a "picture postcard" with two greens, two pubs, a large church and a village shop and butchers.

Room Tip: The Bluebell Room is a twin with a double aspect over the garden. But the shower room might not suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent attention to detail. It was a wonderful experience, located in an interesting village in a beautiful area of Kent, and with very gracious hosts. The full English breakfast was great. The house has a lovely garden, and our bedroom plus ensuite was very comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff on Sea, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is probably the most quintessentially English area of the UK. The Holt is the perfect place to stay for a visit to the Garden of England. A traditional looking Kentish style cottage hidden away behind a little wooden chapel.

In snowy mid winter the room was comfortable and the hosts welcoming. This is a cottage and so the rooms are not massive by American standards but the property has been sympathetically modernised with superb attention to detail. The experience is of perfect comfort but in an authentic country cottage. As mentioned in other reviews there are nice touches, like the torches for exploring after dark and the excellent information about the surrounding area.

We normally stay with family down the road but that will change from now.

This is a great area, with vineyards to visit, pretty villages, castles, heritage railways, golden sandy beaches and dunes and good walking all around and any type of shopping experience within 30 minutes driving.

We will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am a B&B newbie. But I have to admit, The Holt in Benenden is better than any hotel I have ever stayed in. My room was immaculate, the bed was very nice - every comfort was provided. Kate and Time were incredibly hospitable. My breakfast was delicious! I cannot recommend The Holt enough. Book it now, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything was every bit as good as previous reviewers led us to believe. The room was comfortable, quiet, spotless and had everything one could need, with the added bonus of fresh flowers. The cooked breakfast was perfect together with the home-made bread and jams.
Torches and umbrellas were provided for our evening visit to The Bull (is there a more authentic English pub in the country with a better ambience?). And, saving the best till last, the delightful Kate is just as lovely and friendly as it is possible to imagine. If you are visiting the area and looking for a hotel, stop right now and book here. I can assure you that you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogae
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The best B & B we've very stayed in. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean with every possible need catered for. Breakfast was fantastic, the home made bread to die for!

Room Tip: Nice evening walk in the village pub, 10 minutes walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Address: New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holt Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.