We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
The Street, Benenden TN17 4DE, England
+44 (0)1580 240054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Benenden
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kent
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Popped in here for lunch today and must say what a lovely experience. Food was lovely and the plates where hot (which is unusual in a lot of places these days), even the holder that the chips came in so stayed hot the whole meal. The ambience here was so relaxing and friendly. The service was also very good. We were planning our next visit even before we left. Only one complaint - they don't do B&B.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice, but forgetful staff soured the experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited today for the first time with the intention of sampling their Sunday carvery.

I had pre-booked a table as, according to their website, it is very popular and can get very busy. They have two seating times- the first 12.45pm and the second 3.00pm. We booked the 3.00pm sitting and arrived around 20 minutes before three, with the intention of enjoying a pre-lunch drink outside in the sun.

The pub is very well presented and is very inviting. We notified the staff at the bar who we were and that we had a 3.00pm table booked in the restaurant. The staff pointed out we were a bit early as the first sitting hadn't left yet, and we explained it wasn't a problem as we wanted to have a drink outside first. i asked whether they would let us know when our table was ready and where we were sitting outside so they could easily find us- I was told this would be done.

The outside area was very clean and tidy and we were enjoying the last of the summer sunshine, when I glanced at my watch and noticed it was 3.15pm. I made my way to the bar to ask if our table was ready yet. Upon enquiry it was obvious no-one was actually going to let us know and we could have sat there all afternoon and missed or lunch.

We weren't actually show to a table- merely instructed to walk through the bar area and "take the round table" in the restaurant. Again, the restaurant is very well presented and a pleasant place to be.

We sat, waiting for three or four minutes expecting a member of staff to welcome us to our table, maybe take a drink order and ask what we intended eating as I was told on the phone when I booked there were alternatives to the carvery- but no. We gave up on that and we simply got up and helped ourselves to the carvery (meat is chef served, but vegetables and trimmings self-serve as much as you want). Choice of Pork, Chicken and beef- all well presented, well cooked and of good quality. Vegetables were not the cash and carry type- all seemed freshly cooked on-site and the potatoes were wonderful.

Everything was going fine, when after 10-15 minutes I noticed the staff packing away the carvery area. We were still eating our meals and our intention was to have some more potatoes, etc. We did manage to salvage some bits and pieces that hadn't yet been cleared away, but it made everything a bit of a rush- and one does wonder that after only 15 minutes of us being seated, that if we had waited to be called to our table any longer we would have missed our lunch completely. It did seem strange to seat people from 3.00pm for a second sitting and then at 3.40pm to be packing it away- a bit hasty and rushed.

We were (eventually) offered a dessert- however as they were all £5.00 or above we declined.

Final bill came to £30.20 for the two of us- two carvery meals and two alcoholic drinks.

To sum up: A lovely day spoilt by unattentive, forgetful staff and rushed carvery removal- pity, as it wouldn't have taken much to receive a lot better marks.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Great pub food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

On a recent stay at Sissinghurst we went along to the Bull at Benenden for dinner - great pub food, well presented - good portions and friendly service. Could not fault it at all and would well recommend the place - get there early if you do not have a booking as it is very popular.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“excellent pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Typical pub, with plenty of dried hops hanging from ceiling. My scallops and bacon starter were perfectly cooked, and my main of Romsey Marshes lamb was delicious.
Large helpings, so no chance of a pudding.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.