We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mompiche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas del Mar
Save
You added Cabanas del Mar to your Saves list
| Cruzando El Rio Mompiche a Tres Kilometros Por la Playa, Mompiche, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mompiche B&B and Inns
Nijmegen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is so relaxing that you feel like you're being in paradise! It's a little hard to find because it is in the nature. But the surrounding is wonderful: the peace, the beaches, the "cabanas" look lovely. When you open the door you see the sea. It's like you're in that movie the Leonardo di Caprio, i forgot the title...

Room Tip: The surrounding and the cabanas are very beautiful. When you open your door you see the sea and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I highly recommend this place not only because of the gorgeous scenery but for the following items: two talented chefs (please ask for ensalada de cangrejo, ceviche de camarones, conchas ... the list is long :) ), an outstanding service, comfortable Cabanas, wide and clean beach, an organised manager and safety. This place offers en escape from the craziness of our times. Imagine that the whole beach is only yours! :) ps. the waves are really cool!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for just one night... And we all were so sad to leave!
You can reach the place by car with low tide! Otherwise you'll have to walk for 3km on the beach! The resort is this far from the village, but it's an awesome place where to relax and eat delicious food (and cheap)! We had fresh delicious fish both for dinner and lunch!
I'll definitely go back there next time for no less than a week!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a peaceful and relaxing beach vacation, this definitely the place to stay. We ate every meal there and the food was absolutely delicious! Service is unbeatable. The cabanas rustic yet comfortable and they have hot water. However there's no tv, no Internet, and a weak cell phone signal; which in our opinion makes it even better because it allowed us to fully disconnect and relax to enjoy the peacefulness this nook in paradise has to offer. I guess two things you must keep in mind are: 1. Watch the tide schedule because you can only drive across the river when it is low; and 2. Bring plenty of mosquito repellant because they will eat you up before you
know it! Overall this is a wonderful place to stay and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidQuito, Gerente at Cabanas del Mar, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Google Translation
Bunas tardes queridos amigos:
Gracias por sus comentarios siempre son bien recibidos, ya que de esta forma nos ayudan a mejorar nuestro servicios,
esperamos que en su proximo viaje tengamos el honor de hospedarlos en nuestras cabanas.
un buen viaje.
Saludos.
atentamente.
David Gracia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

David, who runs this place, is the best host you could wish for! A real gentlemen, entertainer, and especially a great Cook! You will definitely enjoy your stay at Cabañas del Mar! This place is a real hidden treasure!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a really great time in Cabanas del Mar in Mompiche! The Location is awsome: Little cabanas at in the white sand under palmtrees right next to the sea... like a Little Piece of paradise! The staff was very friendly and cheerful and did everything to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed three days of swimming, sunbathing and relaxing in the hammoks in that cosy place and were really sad to leave. So when travelling to Ecuador once again, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas del Mar

Address: | Cruzando El Rio Mompiche a Tres Kilometros Por la Playa, Mompiche, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Mompiche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mompiche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Cabanas del Mar, we have 5 rustic bungalows and 1 house on famous Mompiche Beach known for its world class surfing, scuba diving, horseback riding and close to Isle Portete, Isle Jupiter and Machechindul Reserve. The perfect place for complete relaxation. The cool, fresh breeze off the mountains and ocean keeps Cabanas del Mar cool during the days and night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Del Mar Ecuador/Mompiche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.