We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mompiche, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mompiche
Santo Domingo de los Tsachilas Province, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't let my title get me wrong. Royal Decameron Mompiche is consider one of the best Decameron hotels in the world, ( next in the list is the one in Marroco), what I'm saying is that, since this is a all inclusive resort, to take advantange of this, you would have to enjoy a lot of the hotel and if you are trying to discover the real Ecuador, this wouldn't be my best recomendation for outsiders. BUT, if you are one of those who don't want to worry about haven't to search for atractions and restaurants and all of these important things, then this is you best option in Ecuador. I think its the best all inclusive hotel that Ecuador has. Good prices. ( it's better and cheaper if you stay more than one night ).

Room Tip: In the inside all the rooms are the same, It's the view that changes. ( rooms infront of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    132
    55
    22
    25
See reviews for
183
105
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at other all inclusive resorts and have been on several cruises. This all inclusive resort disappointed me. We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days, which seemed more like only 2 days. They don't allow you to check in until 3 pm, but will carry your bags to your room. Check out is at 12 pm, but they will let you stay at the resort until 2 pm. NOTE: Once you check out, they will cut off the bracelet you wear to show you're a guest. You can't do any of the non motorized sports that are included without the bracelet. We were angry when they did not inform us of this policy.

Rooms: We got an ocean view room and loved it. It was immaculately clean with a great view. I would have been worried if we stayed in the rooms at the top of the resort due to noise from late activities in that area.

Food: Not good. The only food we enjoyed was our dinner at the Miso Asian restaurant, which you must have a reservation for. They don't allow you to make reservations for any of the restaurants on the day you arrive. Therefore, we could only make one reservation. The snacks are American food (hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, nachos) and not good. The buffet also had less than stellar food for all meals.

Hotel: Beautiful. Lots of walking and stairs. Plenty of pools, but only 2 hot tubs. The island was nice, but difficult to get to and closed at 5 pm. They should really just build a bridge to the island. To get there, you have to wait for a boat. But, not only are there boats from the resort, there are also boats from locals trying to sell you parasailing or other things. Often times, we had to wait 10 or so minutes for an employee to realize that there were people waiting. They were not attentive at all. You will constantly be bothered by employees trying to get you to buy a VIP membership (which is not worth it by our calculations) and it is a major turnoff.

Entertainment: This was lacking. If you're a non Spanish speaker, you will have a very hard time and won't understand the activities. During the day, the only activities (aerobics, dancing, soccer, etc) were by the pool or on the beach at the island but they weren't exciting. At night, they have movies and a show. The show starts at 10 pm and lasts 1 hr. While it's not "wow," it was pretty good.

The thing that upset us the most was the non motorized water activities included. You must go to the island to do them, which closes at 5 pm. Since you can't check in until 3, there's no time on the first day to do them. On our 2nd day, it was too windy and the ocean was too rough to do them. So we thought we would check out before noon on our 3rd day and do the water activities before we had to leave at 2 pm. Well, they didn't notify us that once our bracelets were removed that we couldn't do those activities.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We recently went to the this resort while traveling in Ecuador as a nice trip to the coast. It is the only all inclusive that we are aware of and thought we would try it out.

Pros: Beautiful views and great beach. Fresh fruit.
Water bottles in your room.
Cleanliness.
Housekeeping

Cons:

Food was not great especially for the local traditional food. We are Ecuadorian so eating the traditional food was especially difficult since it was so bad. You would expect the traditional fare to be top notch but it was not the case. Food at buffets was dry and not fresh even when it first came out of the kitchen. Service at buffets and restaurants was practically non existent. The severs were more of cleaners then servers.

The specialty restaurants were ok. We ate at the Asian and the seafood restaurants. The seafood came out like rubber very over cooked but great views. Don't expect good service or any accommodations. They wouldn't even prepare a meal without onions if you requested. Everything was precooked and not changeable.

The snacks offered were of the poorest quality. The hot dogs and hamburgers were of a grade less than what you would expect at a little league snack shack. The resort did not have fountain drink machines and therefore all of the soda was from a flat bottle. Snacks included stale tortilla chips, nacho cheese, hamburgers, hot dogs, and overcooked pasta with an unknown sauce.

Juice - most of the juice selections were not natural or fresh. The OJ tasted like powder tang mix.

Bags - No carts or elevators and a lot of stairs. Moving baggage through the resort was very difficult.

Ramps - The resort is built into the rolling hills of the coast which adds to its beauty but makes it very difficult to traverse especially with children or elderly guests. We had both and it certainly took away from the R&R aspect of a vacation.

Entertainment - was marginal and very loud to the point of being annoying. Entertainment consists of one show at 1000 pm in open concrete amphitheater and during the day at the pool. Nothing else offered.

For kids - no entertainment for children except a part of the adult show that kids can participate in which starts at 945pm. Well past our kids bed times. Even when we took them it was so loud the kids would cry so we could not enjoy it anyway. At one point we asked management to turn it down a notch and they told us no it was part of the show. Again, a ding on their non existent customer service. To put this in perspective the sound was set for an outdoor concert in an open air concrete amphitheater how 300 guests with about 70 people in attendance.

Service - Check in was horrible worst I have experienced. I have traveled and stayed at almost a dozen different all inclusive resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean. They would not allow you to check-in until after 3 pm. Most hotels and resorts allow you to drop your bags and start the check in process even if you don't get a room until 3. However this resort would not take any of your information, even though everything was already paid for and pre-certified. You had to keep your bags in your car and wait for all guests to check in at 3pm.

Drive - very long from major cities or airports. Signage is not the best. Van service is costly for the area.

Membership sales - salespeople throughout the resort are constantly trying to sell you a membership to the resort. They are relentless. You might expect this on a free cruise or other free offering but not when you are paying full price.

Drinks - worst we ever had. Not because it was very cheap alcohol but the fact that the bartenders did not know how to mix. Stick with the beer. The one drink that we found consistently good was the mohito.

Language - the resort only speaks spanish. Not a prob for us but for some of our friends it was an issue. Please keep it in mind when booking if you are not fluent on spanish.

Summary

Not the best place and not the worst. Service in all major categories except housekeeping was marginal at best. If you get a good price and come with low expectations it will probably be an ok vacation. Low expectations will equal a high outcome.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014


This place has a beautiful architecture and an amazing view but an awful service, the people is rude and don't respect the client wish...This hotel may have a lot of nice thing but the bad service make this hotel non recomendable AT ALL, even if the place is nice but they make YOU feel like wanting to go home. We had to wait 7 hours to get the rooms ready. When we went to the restaurant call IL FORNO it was empty and we were 7 persons and we ask to put 2 tables together so we could eat all the friends in the same table. The man said "if you dont sit separately in this table I wont serve you". THIS IS NOT A GOOD WAY TO ASWER A CLIENT,SPECIALLY IF YOU ARE PAYING FOR IT!!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I've ever been in.When we arrived they offered us our room at 3 PM.But after several complaints we finally got our room at 5:30.The receptionist was very rude.Besides that the food was awful. I dont recommend this resort at all.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Visited for the first time this place back in 2011!
Everyone was nice. Food eas delicious. Rooms were clean and all the staff were great. Loved the activities. Loved the bar and the nights shows were lovely!
We had to reserve dinner time at the restaurants very early because they will get booked easily.
Will love to go to their newest location which is in Pta. Centinela.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while visiting my friend in Quito in April 2014. This place is breathtaking! ! The drive was a pain from quito from all the winding roads but when you get there it is so worth it. The beach is right in front of the resort and they have a private island just a ferry ride away. If you walk for like 40 minutes you'll find yourself at this gorgeous water fall that not many people even know it's there. Ask the staff if you want directions. The food is not the best quality but it's not as bad as all the reviews I see on here. The food would probably be a 3.5 star out of 5. The staff is friendly but speak only Spanish so bring your English/Spanish dictionary, luckily I speak the language so no worries but honestly I didn't see it as such a problem even if you don't speak Spanish it's manageable. What a lot of Americans don't seem to understand is that Ecuador is a communist country and the president wants to keep it "all ecuadorean" meaning preserve their language which means they won't speak English in most places you visit. The view from my room was spectacular !!! If you are lazy you won't like the trek to your room since there are no elevators. I honestly liked this considering I ate like a champ and drank like a fish. I'd suggest bringing your own liquor if you have a weak stomach because the liquor in Ecuador is bottom shelf and mostly Ecuador made liquor. I brought my own liquor and just had then make a non alcohol drink and I put my own liquor. If not you might end up throwing up or having an upset stomach. The pools are gorgeous they over look the beach. The spa is the bomb ! The price you pay to get a hour massage is amazing! ! Overall I was very satisfied you just have to make the best of every situation. Any bad review on her is mainly people being overly needy and non native speakers. The rooms are not like the Ritz but pretty enough for me ! And the wifi does suck. But only thing I could complain but honestly being on vacation is to get away not to be on the Internet.. it was nice to get away from the world and enjoy the natural things in life. Props to the entertainment staff who do the shows at night these people dance amazing and put on a good show. One of the girls was gorgeous perfect body definitely need to get on whatever work out she's on. Haha

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador

Address: Mompiche, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Mompiche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mompiche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador Hotel Mompiche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.