We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice experience overall, but beware of the restaurant!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Insieme Grand Resort

Save Saved
You added Club Insieme Grand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Insieme Grand Resort
Nicolae Grigorescu nr. 1 | Sat Pitaru, Potlogi 137371, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potlogi
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a nice experience overall, but beware of the restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I spent 3 days there last weekend. The location is really close to Bucharest, very easily reachable. The rooms area extremely clean and cosy - big plus for them - we were very happy with that. Everything smells and looks clean & new. Most doors and windows don't close properly though - they should really do a re-check on each and every room when it comes to that, restaurant included. Also, you can hear pretty much everything that goes on at the floor below you, in the hall or in the rooms nearby. Apparently, the walls and windows are very thin.

Their swimming pools are lovely, the one outdoors is extremely small, though. Like a bigger bathtub, somehow! Towels are handy, which is also great. The gym is not extremely well equipped but I guess one shouldn't expect that from a resort anyway. Unfortunately for me, I didn't get the chance to try their spa.

The horse riding experience was a very unfortunate one. We tried to reach many times the reception guys and book us some horses, either via phone or email. The problem is, obviously, miss communication among hotel staff. The 2-3 people who take care of horses and assist you while horse riding had absolutely no evidence of the list of the bookings, they would just take on people as they arrived claiming to get on a horse. It was a mess - 2-3-4 people / couples / children booked at the same time, while only 2 horses and one pony were available. I would imagine the most commonsensical thing to do for the reception guys is to really write the bookings in the same notebook / software, print a page and take it each morning to the guys that actually assist with horse riding - not yell at them on the phone.

The restaurant experience was absolutely ridiculous. They don't serve wine by the glass - big minus. Food comes in really, really, really slow. You just wait and wait for it because other waiters who know how to manage their tables take orders from the kitchen quicker and put it on the table of people who arrived 30 minutes after you.

The chef was either an imbecile, or an absolute beginner, or a thief. Either him or the entire kitchen staff. I got the feeling the resort managers have absolutely no idea what's going on in that kitchen but they should really check things out - it's a shame that such a beautiful place is tainted with poor service. As such:

- the lens salad had no cherry tomatoes - they were replaced with regular tomatoes, although the menu specifically mentioned that the recipe had cherry tomatoes. But of course: regular tomatoes are 3 lei per kg, cherry tomatoes 10 or 12, possibly.
- each time we got rosemary potatoes, they were clearly boiled, although the menu specifically said they are baked in the oven.
- aglio-oglio-gamberi pasta lacked sun dried tomatoes, although the menu specifically mentioned the recipe had sun dried tomatoes and yes, the classic Italian recipe actually contains sun dried tomatoes! (and the "gamberi" should've actually been advertised as "gamberetti" because they were the smallest shrimp I've ever laid eyes upon).
- the diavola chicken lacked black olives, although the menu mentioned it should have them and the classic recipe also has them.
- the mushroom risotto had no mushrooms whatsoever.
- the parmigiano crust chicken was kind of boiled, not baked and had no crust whatsoever - it was just wrapped in a just a soft layer of cheese.
- the pine nut sauce chicken completely lacked pine nuts - it had plenty of cashew nuts instead. just cashew nuts. and chicken. now, of course, the sauce could've been prepared out of pine nuts... which were afterwards thrown away... and cashew nuts set aside instead. ha!

We were was completely shocked when most of these courses arrived were brought in front of us but the waiter said he would "ask the cook". We would've appreciated it if he had just said "well, we're on a lower budget now so we can't really prepare what you're asking with the regular ingredients, try this instead", or whatever lie he could come up with, but no - he didn't even bother.

Unfortunately, one can very easily reach the conclusion that the Italian money is extremely poorly spent and managed by the Romanian staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First of all what shoud a customer do at a hotel in the middle of nowheare?
Of course enjoy the facilities of the resort. That is the whole purpose of a Resort.
But the pool had a water with lots of clorite and had a terrible smell. The tenis court even if you had balls and racquets you had to pay for one hour same as in a tenis club in Bucharest. Same with the other multifunctional court that they had.Also around the tenis court there was a grass field where if you loose some balls you will get mud up to tour knees (they keep the grass wet all day long to grow )
About the breakfast in the first day there was no buffet somebody just asked us if we want coffe or tea and they brought us some plates with scrambled eggs tomatoes and some salami.
All of these after we checked in and becouse we had a voucher we reacived a room with no balcony, no remote control for air conditioned (we asked for one) and at the end we asked for a second glass becouse we were two persons and i was asked by a lazy guy at the reception if we really need it.
The room was very clean and nothing damaged or broken the bath was verry clean. The garden is big and beautifull and from my point of view with some minor modificatios it can be a greath place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Have been to Insieme with 20 friends for a weekend birthday celebration.

Although we were reluctant about our choice of venue to start with (because of the location-the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and the road to there is really bad); it turned out to be the best choice for our weekend party & getaway!

The facilities of the hotel are great, the service is very good and the food also.
The swimming pool, tennis courts and pool bar where the highlights during the day whilst at night we had our own private party room dedicated to the event. The room was already fitted with all we needed for the party, including sound and lighting for the celebration.
The party started ad 9 PM and ended at 3.30 AM.

Throughout this time we were serviced by 2-3 waiters that never complained about the hour and provided a really outstanding service.

Arranging late checkout on Sunday was also not a problem. We left the rooms a 2 PM.

All in all - a really positive experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had my wedding last week and it was splendid. First of all the administrator is top professional in hotel industry. He listened to our requests and offered the best solution since our wedding party was a buffet and not traditional serving. Also The waiters have been prompt and the food delicious as some of the products were coming from their own farm. Next day they prepared a delicious barbecue on the small island for my family and friends who stayed with us. Definetly will go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in excellent shape, which is all the more surprising after driving there. Actually this the major drawback: the village road has not been reconditioned in a very very long time. Otherwise, enjoyed the tastefully designed rooms and the celebration of the memory of Nicolae Grigorescu. Would return here to enjoy a few quiet days.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We found this place searching for a swimming pool resort, not far away from Bucharest, on 9th of May 2012, when Bucharest was invaded by thousands of football fans, due to the Europe's League final match. All the hotels and resorts in and around the city were overbooked, so we found ourselves driving to this mysterious village, hidden in the fields. Considering all those soccer fans waving flags and drinking beer in Bucharest, we decided that 44 km is not a big distance if you want to escape from a busy city, occupied by a crazy crowd.
The route to the hotel is not so bad between Bucharest and Tartasesti, but once you leave Tratasesti the road is getting worse. For a segment of 4-5 km you need an off-road vehicle.
Coming from this road, the property looks impressive.
Pros:
- the garden - so green and beautiful, with a lot of flowers, trees and nice alleys. It's very pleasent to walk on the alleys by night, listening to the insects and night birds.
- the swimming pool (attention: there is no shallow water aria available, the minimum depth of the water is about 170 cm)
- the balconies with confortable rustic chairs, overviewing the garden

Cons:
- the breakfast was quite poor and bland. Just scrambled eggs or omelette, tea or coffee and a plate of poor quality cheese, salami and marmelade - no other choices. If you want anything else, you have to pay. If you want extra coffee, you have to pay.
- the hotel's lawn mowers are very noisy. The balcony was so inviting and we decided to enjoy the sunset on the balcony, drinking some well chilled white wine. In the lovely garden, a man with an infernal mower was cutting the grass. I think that sending an employee to work with the mower in the hotel's garden at 19.30 it's a crazy decision for the resort's management!!!
- walking around the lake, we've noticed a few stray dogs (probably there is a split in the property's fence)

However, it was a very pleasant experience overall, we would like to come back here.

Room Tip: Get there by an off-road vehicle and ask for a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spent the weekend there with family and friends. The place is absolutely great. However, the first thing that hits you is the road there. It is very close to Bucharest, ~55km, and you have two options to drive them. Both options lead you on a final road which is at best a mountain trail. Luckily this is not that long (4km if you take the road from villages or 8 if you come from the motorway).

The place where you get to is however worthwhile. The resort is very big and has a lot of things that you would want to try: gym, pool, ping-pong table, tennis pitch, basket/football, horse riding, billiard, a place where you can go and relax (or party) and fish, even a small zoo with farm animals.

The rooms are very nice. We took a double room and an apartment and they were both nice and we all had a good quality sleep. To be noted that everything is done with a great taste, good quality furniture, nice decorations... you even have a reading room with some old books if you just want to relax.

The staff is great, they are all friendly and polite, from the manager of the place, restaurant stuff, receptionists or the staff who takes care of the garden & animals.

In terms of price we have got a voucher and it was great value. Even the costs are high without it, they are definitely worthwhile for the value you get.

One thing that it's worth mentioning: pets are allowed. And not just the pocket dogs. We got our pretty huge dogs with us and they had arranged one of the horse stable for them to sleep at night.

All in all, I definitely recommend this place for a weekend break or for friends get-around or company team buildings. You get there pretty fast, and, even there are no things to do / visit outside the resort, you definitely do not miss them. You have so many things to do inside for a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potlogi
Hotel Pestera 4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews Ioana Hotel 4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Potlogi, ranked by popularity

Been to Club Insieme Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Insieme Grand Resort

Address: Nicolae Grigorescu nr. 1 | Sat Pitaru, Potlogi 137371, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Dambovita County > Potlogi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Potlogi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful and exclusive Club Insieme Grand Resort can be found in Potlogi, Pitaru Village, 45 km from Bucharest, and offers the finest cuisine, 40 luxurious and comfortable rooms and a conference center with meeting facilities for up to 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Club Insieme Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Insieme Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.