We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful riding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pentre Riding Stables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pentre Riding Stables to your Saves list
Pentre Riding Stables
Brecon Rd., Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Penycae B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful riding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful Week long Riding holiday! Daily riding on wonderful well behaved horses of all sizes.
All abilities are catered for!
Excellent standards and wonderful Staff!
Home cooked food and vegetarian catered for!
Beautiful surroundings! Very relaxing and comfortable bedrooms made to feel very welcome! Will definitely be back in 2014

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    12
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Once again I had a very happy stay at Pentre. Another lovely room and a fantastic variety of riding. It's the little homely touches that make this place special - like being offered a hot drink and a snack after a long trek, or borrowing a dry coat and gloves. Playing with the new puppies was also a highlight for me! A very friendly place for solo travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A last minute booking for an overnight stay.
Excellent welcome from Karen who ensured that our stay was very relaxing in friendly surroundings.
Very comfortable rooms made for a good night's kip followed by a traditional hearty Welsh breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were in the village for a wedding at the castle across the road. So in terms of location it was ideal.
We were given a room with an en suite shower room but the en suite was undergoing an upgrade and was not finished off and the bedroom could have been a bit cleaner and tidier.
We also had a problem with lack of hot water at the sink, although the power shower was okay, but the TV was not working either.
To be fair there was a very clean and tidy double room available without en suite, which we were offered but it would have been at the expense of sharing a bathroom.
Having read other peoples reviews I'm sure this was a one-off situation and we know that the owners were away on holiday and their daughter was looking after the place alone. She had a lot on her hands that weekend but very kindly offered us a reduction in price due to our problems so all in all we were reasonably happy with what we got for the price.

Room Tip: Just check that our faults have been addressed before choosing the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here November 2013,what a lovely b&b. rooms very big,spotless and breakfast very satisfying. Cereals,toast,full English. Very friendly owners and very reasonably priced accommodation. We're attending a wedding at craig y nos castle which is literally opposite. 40 second walk. Really it,s that close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone who might be attending a function locally or taking in the breath taking view and local walks in the area.
My reason for booking this venue was that my husband and I were attending a wedding in Craig y Nos. Not only was it directly opposite (so no taxis needed) but it was the cheapest around. Not only did we have a warm and friendly greeting by the manager, but I was pleasantly surprised by the room we were given, which exceeded my expectation (especially given what we paid). Our friend who had booked somewhere else was disappointed that they hadn’t booked with us and even more so when they saw what they had booked and paid for (No names mentioned but less say it was opposite us).
While we were offered the family room which had 4double beds (given us a choice of beds to sleep in given there was only two of us) the room was out of this world. Tea and coffee facilities, chocolates etc. We also had a sneaky peek at one of the other rooms which again was to a high standard, so I don’t feel whatever room we had I would have been disappointed
While I did think the breakfast was scheduled earlier than I’m used to(given that we had a wedding the night before) the manager couldn’t do enough to ensure that the stay we had met all of our needs and accommodated us as best as she could. Surprisingly I was able to make breakfast which again I couldn’t fault. All the staff couldn’t do enough, and the quality was exceptional (good old welsh breakfast).
Both my husband and I are looking forward to returning in the future and would defiantly recommend this accommodation. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The family attic room is out of this world, however I feel any of the rooms would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Pentre Stables offers brilliant B+B at affordable prices. For example, there is no single supplement at all and you get to stay in an absolutely massive room with beautiful en suite. The riding is also superb. The horses are both patient and forward going and the trek leaders are highly experienced. As a relatively cautious rider I felt confident enough to jump, gallop and ride up mountains. All credit to Karen and Kirsty for creating a home from home for riders everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pentre Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentre Riding Stables

Address: Brecon Rd., Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Penycae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentre has been a Riding Stables and Trekking Centre for many years. We now also offer high quality newly built accommodation next door to Pentre farm-house. This is ideal for singles, couples and families wishing to combine a comfortable B&B or self catering break with horse-riding and lots of other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pentre Riding Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentre Riding Stables Wales/Penycae

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentre Riding Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.