We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jack's Canopy Bar and Restaurant

Captain Jack's Canopy Bar and Restaurant
No 3 Genea, Portobelo 00000, Panama
+(507)448-2009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Portobelo
Cuisines: Asian, French, Hamburgers, Italian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Crazy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food is great but a bit expensive but the atmosphere is priceless. Capt Jack also has hostel for your convenience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No Place Better in Portobelo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of spending a few days in Portobelo recently, and Jack's is definitely the place to have a drink and good meal. The Thai food is very good and made to order; they handled my vegetarian request without hesitation. A very relaxing place for certain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best food in Panama, surprisingly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Now we were only there 10 days, in Panama City and Portobella area, but the food was really great. The spring rolls were magic and everything else was great. There is no view really as it is up the hill, but they have very strong Wifi. At first we were worried because the waiter was a surfer dude who was wasted high. He pulled it together though, and fortunately the cook was on his/her game. We chatted with some other travelers and the Captain, who we later ran into twice more during our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice drinks and ceviche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great view and birdwatching, and great service!
It's very anglo-tourist, but sometimes you like that. Also it was my first pina colada in Panama, since it's not exactly what you can find in the roadside food places: and it was very delicious.
Wifi is great in case you need it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A grateful surprise in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three days in Portobelo with my wife and for three days we had dinner at Captain Jack's.
The food, mostly southeast Asian (though there are burgers and meat for the ones feeling homesick) is great. Everything is fresh, tasty and beautifuly presented.
Service is also very kind and attentive, albeit the relaxed atmosphere.
There's a backpacker feeling in the air, which only makes the quality of the food, and service, even more impressive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jack's Canopy Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Portobelo, Colon Province
Portobelo, Colon Province
 
Portobelo, Colon Province
Portobelo, Colon Province
 

Been to Captain Jack's Canopy Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jack's Canopy Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.