We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, clean, modern & staff very friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Inn to your Saves list
Crown Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   School Road, Chislehurst BR7 5PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, clean, modern & staff very friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business (4th July; room 3); nice, clean, modern place. Pub very popular with friendly & relaxed atmosphere. Good food, good wine & great beer (lager & bitter). Staff very friendly, efficient & clearly have a good repore with the locals (both the wealthy locals & middle-working class locals). A welcoming place for everyman (& woman).

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed locative_common_month_year0_242b
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
28
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My fiance and I (both in our early 30's)stayed at the Crown for 3 nights March 13-16/12 while visiting friends and family in the area. The inn itself is situated on a quiet street in a rural area and rooms are atop a quaint, and typical English pub. We stayed in room no 3. The room itself was not huge but not too small either and the bathroom was huge!!. It faced the back of the inn so the view was of some other buildings and not much else. It was a bit dark, but had a small TV and coffee/tea and biscuits each day in your room to enjoy.The rooms can be accessed through a short set of stairs off of the pub entrance until 2300hrs as that's when the pub closes. You access your room through a separate entrance after that. The pub downstairs is lovely, with a great selection of beer,local and import, as well as an extensive wine list. The pub also serves food and has a restaurant off of the pub as well. Also has a beautiful outdoor garden/patio to have a pint and soak up the sun. Included in our room rate of 130/nt CAD was a breakfast, served each day from 6:00-9:00am. This included toast, jam and marmalade and marmite of course along with cereals, yogurt and fruit and fruit juices. You are served a choice of tea or coffee which is served to you in a individualized pot. In addition to the cold selection you also get to choose from 4 hot breakfast options. We tried 3 out of the 4 and they were all fantastic!! Your options are Full English Breakfast(eggs, beans, back bacon, sausage,fried tomatoes and a mushroom and a piece of fried bread), Egg omelet(plain, bacon or cheese), Vegetarian Full English(same as Full English but without the fried bread and with the addition of a wonderful "veg sausage" made of carrot, zucchini and some other lovely ingredients...this was my fav!!) and last option was a stack of Blueberry pancakes with maple glaze. All of the food was home cooked, served on a hot plate and was a great way to start the day. The staff at the pub were friendly and accommodating. We will defiantly stray here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front(#1 or 2) these face the road and a green space.I peeked in #2 and saw a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It is a pub with a few rooms so do not set your expectations too high.
Small room with basic facilities and a noisy extractor fan.
Cheap bed and old hair drier capped it off really
Pub had good beer and the breakfast was good although it ended at 9am which is a little early if you were hoping for a lazy start to the day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park have the benefit of the bin lorry alarm at 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect with a room above a pub, but I was really pleasantly surprised. Lovely welcome, beautifully decorated, clean room which was spacious and really comfortable. Nice, complimentary toiletries and the offer of toothbrushes and razor packs were unexpected, but welcome. The breakfast was served at a decent time for a Sunday and was faultless! Cooked to order, loads of tea and coffee and no rush! Perfect! They even offer a takeaway breakfast if you're leaving prior to breakfast service. There was no noise from the pub at all, and all entrances and exits are secured after 11pm. I hope I get to go to Chislehurst again, as I've now found a great hotel to stay at, and very reasonably priced too! Thank you Crown Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I visited the Crown last Sunday 22nd Jan and was pleasantly suprised by how nice the interior was as I hadn't been in there for quite some time. It had a very good bar with an excellent selection of beers - there was a great atmosphere as an important match was on and it was Sunday lunchtime. The dining area was well laid out and modern and the staff were very good. The menu selection sounded very tasty, the wine was lovely, the food turned up looking good but then..... nothing! No taste whatsover - bland doesn't even come close and that was with the addition of salt, pepper, sauces, etc. There were six of us and we all had relatively differing starters and mains - all were tasteless - its quite a feat! Such a terrible shame, I hope the owner/manager reads this because you have got all the other areas of your hotel/bar spot on - the food looked good and the quantities were right but somehow your chef/cook is not tasting or has lost his/her sense of taste - this is the one thing that you can put right and it won't cost alot to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I was given a very warm welcome by the staff and had a lovely stay, I stayed in room 1, the room was fantastic, very big, spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom that has a roll top bath overlooking the common. The food was very impressive and again the staff were really friendly and really helpful even with my fussy girlfriend! For breakfast there was a big selection and the cooked breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter when she was auditioning for Bird College. The twin room was comfortable and quiet, being in an annex. We were allowed to stay beyond the normal check out time as my daughter had to get ready and we not charged for the extra couple of hours. There is a small car park which was fine for my mini. There are very few hotels in the area and we would definitely return.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: School Road, Chislehurst BR7 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chislehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chislehurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.