We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food but fairly snobbish unwelcoming arrival” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamasha

Tamasha
131 Widmore Road, Bromley BR1 3AX, England
020 8460 3240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 133 restaurants in Bromley
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Light and airy Tamasha is a corner of Bromley that will be forever India. Ceiling fans swish over the restaurant's rattan chairs and photographic records of the days of the Raj, while the cuisine displays a similar dedication to the regional tastes of the subcontinent. There is live music during the week, with entertainment for the kids on Sundays. The bar is a haven for fans of cricket, with memorabilia that includes Sir Vivian Richards' signed bat.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice food but fairly snobbish unwelcoming arrival”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited Tamashas yesterday for my partner's birthday and were greeted by a surley doorman who took one look at my shoes and made a comment as though the footwear I had chosen to wear was somehow unacceptable. This came to a great surprise as they were niether muddy boots nor trainers but a soft clean pair of pink and grey ballet pumps. I am 6 months pregnant and as such most of my shoes do not fit by large swollen feet. I have even worn these shoes at work and no-one has passed comment before. I took great offence to this snobbish attitude and the doorman continued to give disapproving looks as we sat at the bar waiting for the rest of the party to arrive. This made me quite unsettled and I felt like leaving however did not wish to spoil my partner's birthday. I will not be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    44
    26
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mojacar, Almeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food fantastic value terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a difficult one to review because the food was fantastic but the prices were horrendous and in fact I would go further and say they were a rip off.
Firstly I looked at the wine list and saw what I thought was a bottle of Pino Grigio for £16.00, a little expensive I thought for an Italian house wine but went for it anyway. When the bill turned up the wine was over £31.00 and the £16.00 was for a half bottle only!
Iced water is available with a scowl if you dare to ask for it.
Side dishes such as a plain naan or a small portion of pilau rice at about £4.00 a go hurt. Main courses like chicken tikka masala at around £12.00 and prawn dishes even more expensive, over £16.00 as I remember, containing 3 or 4 prawns wasn’t any better but as I said the food tasted great.
Even so there surely has to be a price one is not willing to pay and I’m afraid I have found it. Unless I’m using a discount ticket and am careful to only pick items I can get a deal on I will not be returning. There are no prices on the menu on their website for obvious reasons.
As for the service it was mixed, plenty of staff around and we were mostly cared for although the ones just walking around looking like nightclub bouncers were a bit off putting.
The atmosphere in the restaurant was in character (Except for the bouncers) and the place well laid out if a little tight. My only other comment is I was a little shocked when in the men’s toilet, not that I’m any sort of prude you understand, but I was surprised to say the least at the walls being covered with artistic impressions of ‘Hard core porn’ and I mean HARD CORE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Too expensive...not good value for money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We 've been to Tamasha several times....the prices seem to be rising steadily....whilst the quality of the food remains the same.

The atmosphere is excellent.....and it has good parking...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very expensive , average food with pompous head waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been coming to Tamasha since it first opened. I always food the food and service v.good /excellent. Have'nt been here for ages so we decided to celebrate our twins 12th birthday with family at Tamasha. I feel if you don't order expensive alcohol they are not much interested. As it was a week day most of us were on non alcoholic cocktails. When it came to ordering the food I asked if the dishes my boys were ordering could be less spicy. The arrogant head waiter replied no that's not possible choose something else like a creamy dish. They charge so much for a dish I would expect it to be cooked fresh so adjustments can be made ! this only indicates that all their food is pre-cooked and just heated up as you order , meat is not of good quality as was tough. The whole experience was not pleasant. I wish I had stuck to my local who go out of their way to please you. On previous occasions we have spent loads on alcohol and their attitude was completely different to this time. We felt really uncomfortable I would never come to this place again , complete waste of money ! They definitely don't value the custom , in the business to rip off people. Such a shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Ambiance and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went here as a party of 7 and had a fantastic meal. The service was excellent with a very good menu. The food was served hot and was the best indian meal I have ever had. The service was second to none. Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamasha also viewed

 

Been to Tamasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamasha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.