We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful evening staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundridge Park Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sundridge Park Manor to your Saves list
Sundridge Park Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willoughby Lane off Plaistow Lane, Bromley BR1 3TP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bromley
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful evening staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at sundridge park manor on a business trip. If I'm honest its a beautiful building. The rooms are a bit dated but the food and staff make the hotel, especially the young gentlemen who runs the restaurant very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    25
    20
    20
See reviews for
22
31
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were a day early so we could relax before a wedding, we decided to eat as a lot of family were doing the same so we could catch up out of the 9 of us 5 had upset stomachs which spoilt the next day.
the bar closed at 23.00 so it was not the drink, we were sat outside at 22.00 the lights outside went out which left us in total darkness which when u have 2 disabled people we found this hazardous.
the wedding went really we.
the morning after we all enjoyed breakfast the young waiter was the only good thing i could say about the staff.

we all checked out while my partner paid the bill I went to the toilet, I didn't go as it was covered in excrement which was every where. not realizing while I was reporting this, one of our party who is elderly went in and came back covered.in s..t which very much distressed and embarrassed him. we kept all this away from the bride and groom as not to spoil the day for them.

I will not be recommending this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel F, Manager at Sundridge Park Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am extremely concerned that a few of your party were ill prior to the night of the wedding and I am sorry that you did not bring this immediately to our attention to enable us to carry out a full and thorough investigation to ascertain the possible source and whether it is related to your meal taken at the hotel or some viral illness.

As you would expect as a professional and successful wedding venue we have a very stringent Food Safety Policy that is audited by our retained external auditors as well as the local authority. We have an excellent food safety record and despite the passing of time I would ask you to contact me and I will arrange for a full independent investigation.

In reference to the toilets having not been checked and cleaned this is clearly not acceptable and I am investigating this so corrective action can be taken.

I am pleased that the wedding was a great success and concerned that your visit was marred by this and look forward to speaking with you. Please contact me directly, Maggie Moroney, Hotel General Manager, 0208 313 3232 or mmoroney@sundridgeparkmanor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel when having to stay locally overnight for a funeral. We booked on-line and were a bit disappointed that we were not aware that there was no bar or restaurant open at the weekend; but the receptionist, Roisin, provided us with jugs of iced water, crockery and cutlery and assistance to purchase a take-away meal from a local outlet. She then also cleared away all our leftovers and washing-up!. At breakfast I asked for a tray to take upstairs to my elderly Mum, and this was beautifully laid out by the waitress. A fan was provided in our bedroom, and the shower was excellent! But the staff care was what made our visit, and was much appreciated!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stunning external building and the main foyer is acceptable also. However on venturing further up to the rooms it became apparent that they had seen better days. Very rough around the edges with botch job attempts at patching up the wear and tear. The shower in room 22 was abysmal, hardly enough power to make it work! The reception staff were very helpful though when we requested a fan as the room was stuffy. Acceptable but far from luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a summer family wedding. A great day was had by all

As for the hotel itself, the grounds surrounding it were very nice. Very green and a welcome break from the city that surrounds it. The outside of the building was pleasant on the eye and makes for some good photos

The bedrooms themselves were tired. The bed room was a decent size, with a cupboard, desk, tv and bathroom. The decor was worn and creaky. The whole room had the feeling of it needing a makeover. Luckily the temperatures were very high but the rooms had next to no airflow as the windows only opened about 2 inches.

Overall the hotel is pretty average but made for a decent small wedding venue

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel F, Manager at Sundridge Park Manor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to review your stay at Sundridge Park Manor. We are glad that you had a great time at the wedding, and found the environment to be green and pleasant.

We are sorry, however, that you found your room to be warm. The large sash windows have limiters on for safety. Fans are available on request should you return and need one for your room.

We hope you had a safe onward journey after the wedding and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I returned a second time on business and again delighted with my stay. Fabulous view from bedroom over the gardens. Another lovely meal- the chef dropped the last of the dessert I'd ordered- alas no more, but I was given a complimentary alternative. Managed to get myself locked in my room due to loose internal lock but reception staff most apologetic. Love this place

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel F, Manager at Sundridge Park Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here once more and very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Apologies again that your choice of desert was not available, but we are very pleased that you enjoyed your complimentary alternative.

Maintenance will give their immediate attention to the room lock, and sorry again for the trouble. However, I was pleased to hear that the staff were helpful in this situation.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Selected hotel by location and with reference to TA reviews.

A grand old house, in a good location, a little frayed at the edges and in need of some TLC.
A bit like me on arrival; old and tired, but OK.

Excellent value for money, unusual room layout, large, lofty ceilings, decor a little drab with very creaky floor. Comfortable bed and old but decent bathroom.Unfair to criticise the hotel on the basis of a one night stay in one room. Warm welcome, friendly, helpful staff.

A decent breakfast in the garden room with the glazed doors open onto the lawn and woodland to the golf course. Beautifully decorated, ornate ceiling.

Was unsure what to expect from previous reviews, not disappointed or totally negative but the interior doesn't meet expectations from the web marketing imagery. Externally impressive and suspect a wonderful wedding, conference venue but the accommodation, whilst clean, definitely needs an upgrade if the low tarrif room I was allocated is the standard.

An interesting experience but not to be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel F, Manager at Sundridge Park Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased that you found Sundridge Park Manor to be good value and the staff friendly and helpful. I will pass on your comments to the staff concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundridge Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundridge Park Manor

Address: Willoughby Lane off Plaistow Lane, Bromley BR1 3TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundridge Park Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundridge Park Manor is a stunning Grade 1 listed stately Manor, set conveniently in Bromley, South East London. The Manor boasts beautiful period features and lovely views over the golf course from most rooms.We offer easy complimentary parking and free WiFi.You will be assured of a warm welcome and a comfortable stay in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sundridge Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundridge Park Manor Hotel, Conference & Events Centre Hotel London
Sundridge Park Manor Hotel, Conference And Events Centre
Sundridge Park Manor Bromley, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundridge Park Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.