We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basil Restaurant

Basil Restaurant
18-20 East Street, Bromley BR1 1QU, England
020 8460 0018
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 143 Restaurants in Bromley
Price range: $7 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Basil Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, serves the perfect blend of modern Steakhouse dishes with a wide range of cosmopolitan cocktails. Our chic dining room styled décor creates a relaxed atmosphere and our staffs are ready to assist with all your dining needs. Known best for our steaks which are sourced from a family butcher and cooked to order on a traditional grill, to seal in that intense charcoal grilled flavour every time. Repeat customers have recognised our Planked Steak as a favourite. Tenderised fillet of beef bedded with creamy mash and perfect with our homemade Béarnaise sauce crafts a diligently delicious taste.Aside from our steak range we offer homemade Aberdeen Angus beef burgers are all served with steakhouse chips and salad garnish. Charcoal Grilled Chicken varieties include ½ chicken, saffron marinated chicken fillets. Wide range of fresh salads and pasta with unique styles “Almasi Pasta” tenderloin fillet in a creamy sauce with mushrooms.In house made dough and sauces are all used in our range of pizzas. Everything from the classic Pepperoni to chef recommended special pizzas Mezzaluna. Cooked in our stone baked oven, our pizzas come hot and homemade. Basil Restaurant Bromley is a crowd-pleasing town centre favourite. Bromley North Rail Station is a 2-minute walk away.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went here on a Friday night for valentines day, only about 4 other people in there. 50% of food deal is only on a VERY limited selection of food. The food was nice but cocktails were weak. A nice everyday kind of restaurant but not for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    14
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Normally our favourite restaurant in Bromley!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Basil over the past couple of years and have become used to the wonderful service along with great prices, and a varied menu. We took a friend on Saturday night (9th Feb) , as we wanted somewhere relaxed, good value for money and lots of choice. Having been there before (but not for a few months) we were surprised when we entered the restaurant to a less than warm welcome, and to waiting staff running around like headless chickens! We waited to be seated (even though we had reserved) and waited another 15 minutes to get served 1 cocktail and a jug of water.

Being budget conscious we had checked that the 50% offer on all food was still valid, though this is advertised in places as being applicable to the entire menu, it was not, and has been cut down to only a few items. We are also members of the 'Gourmet Society' a loyalty card which entitles users to 50% off in various places, and were pleased to see that Basil was a part of this scheme, so we believed that we would have the money off regardless of whether the offer was still running on the whole menu. We presented our card to our waitress, who told us that it could not be accepted, she went off to check and returned with a negative response. We showed our waitress the phone application which highlighted Basils inclusion in the deal and she shrugged, saying that she was sorry but could not take it. There was no management around to talk to, somewhat strange on a busy Saturday night.

The food was fine, some of our favourite dishes had been removed from the menu, and as a vegetarian I had a limited choice of food. It was a real shame and we felt let down, not simply by the fact that the 50% off offer had finished, by but the rushed (but slow) impersonal service, menu changes and lack of management around! After sending an email to the management we received a slightly rude, abrupt response, making excuses for everything we had mentioned.

It has really put us off revisiting our once favourite restaurant in Bromley!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Vegetarians be warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just left basil restaurant after browsing the menu. Although the menu is full of food for meat eaters, there was only 3 options for vegetarians - lasagne, pizza or pizza. When we asked the waitress if there was any other option for vegetarians she said the lasagne was very popular ... Obviously, I thought, they can't choose anything else!! Would not recommend!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth it for the steak and cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This was my second trip to basil for a quiet meal with friends. Excellent selection of cocktails very reasonably priced. All of the mains were delicious with a special mention to the rib eye steak which is excellent quality. Everything is included in the 50% off offer so the bill is always a pleasant surprise. Well worth a try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rib Eye steak and chips for £10 or Sea Bass fillet it does not take a lot to entice us to treat ourselves now and again even on an OAP Pension! If you want to push the boat out, some of their starters are unusual but really tasty, we get one each and mix and match!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.