We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal at The Abbotts Spice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotts Spice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abbotts Spice
73 High Street, Stanstead Abbotts, Ware SG12 8AS, England
01920 870032
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice meal at The Abbotts Spice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a meal on Saturday, it was not too busy so we were able to get a table with no problems. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was tasty, a little on the mild side though. Would certainly return if we were in the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    6
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been to this restaurant on a couple of occasions now and tried a variety of dishes and have not been disapointed. The food is of a good quality and the staff very friendly and attentive also very good value for money, will definately be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We tried this restaurant as it was a new addition to Tastecard and only 10minutes drive.
Stansted Abbotts/Ware is a quiet little village and we got a little lost but there is parking behind the restaurant.
The staff were all so helpfull and polite. We were seated and served very quickly. The food was delicious and as a vegetarian they have lots of options for me.
Not sure what else to say as the food was really tasty, the staff were very nice and the price was really reasonable.
We will definately be back here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, atmospheric and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The food is very good and the staff friendly. Nice place to go for a quick meal out on a Friday night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother, go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We ordered a takeaway from here via the Just eat website. When the order eventually turned up some 45 minutes late, I wish we hadn't bothered. The food containers were barely 3/4 full, the food was not properly seasoned, the quality of meat was well below average and the free poppadums were stale, all in all a very unpleasant experience, I wish i'd stuck with my local Indian takeaway!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbotts Spice also viewed

Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
 
Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
Ware, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Abbotts Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotts Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.