We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greens Restaurant & Bar

Greens Restaurant & Bar
The Square, Wickham PO17 5JQ, England
01329 833197
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Wickham
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Greens restaurant & bar is situated on the corner of the historic Wickham square.It is very easy to find and to park. The outside of the property looks traditional and well cared for with hanging baskets and well written blackboards, the inside is light & airy with a contemporary feel. Restful colours and wooden blinds add to the ambience.Crisp linen napkins, fresh flowers, friendly professional service and superb fresh food.Everything on the seasonal menus is homemade, using locally sourced produce when ever possible. The secret graden overlooking Wickham water meadows and the river Meon is a superb location in summer for a relaxing lunch, refreshing Pimms or cream.Owners Frank & Carol Duckworth have been running this establishment since 1985 and they are as passionate today as they were when they began trading. Their tag line of 'nothing is too much trouble' is as relevant today as it was in 1985.Fresh fish including king scallops,mussels and sea bass, Hampshire 21 day aged steaks,New season lamb, Gressingham duck,corn fed chicken and vegetarian options all feature on the dinner menu. During the week they offer set lunch -2 courses 13.95 3 courses 16.95 with a superb range of local dishes, including slow roast Hampshire belly pork ,Tempura of locally caught plaice goujons,honey roasted ham with frazzled free range duck egg & hand cut chips.Homemade desserts include Caramel creme brulee,lemon meringue cheesecake with homemade raspberry ripple ice cream and chocolate fondant.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went to Greens for a birthday - there were quite a few of us, two of whom are vegans. This restaurant bent over backwards to feed the vegans - so much so that they ate three courses!! Everything was made to order - the food was all beautifully created, absolutely delicious and reasonably priced for the effort taken to cook it from good local ingredients. The service was outstanding and we all had the most lovely evening. We can't recommend Greens enough and we will make it a regular haunt from now on!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    42
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Last Minute Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

After a day on the road, we decided on dinner in the Meon Valley. After being turned away from many establishments, Greens found a table for us. After a delightful anti pasti my soup arrived. Absolutely delicious! My friend had the scallops, again perfect! My main was a perfectly cooked Hake while my friend had the chicken. Both outstanding. A lovely wine list was on offer so we will not bring the car next time! A lovely warm welcome and would definitely recommend. Oh, and there is a lovely fireplace as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I always enjoy going to Greens and Valentines night was no exception. The service is always excellent and when I asked for a more private table, they staff could not have been more considerate in finding us the right one by the wood burner (really cosy). For a starter we both had pan seared king scallops.(extra £3) They were cooked to perfection and were delicious. We followed this with a medium rare fillet steak that was just melt in the mouth.(extra £7). If I wanted to nit pick, I would say that I have had better chips. For desert, I had a genourous portion of cheese and biscuits, whilst my guest had the passion fruit mousse. By all accounts the mousse was very good and my cheese and biscuits were fine, apart from what I think was the Gouda. It was hard and more like mouse trap. It certainly did nothing for me. With the steak we drank a bottle of merlot, which was reasonably priced. We finished the meal with 2 coffees (£5). The Valentines set price meal was about £40 a head. Add to this £25 for the extras, because we had the scallops, fillet steak and coffee. Then add the bottle of wine and you have bill of about £125. On previous visits I have even paid extra for vegetables. I always leave this restaurant praising the superb food, the fine service and the great atmosphere but moaning about the extras and the additional cost. That is probably why I only eat there two or three times a year, but do not let me put you off. If you enjoy your food you will love Greens, so start saving now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent on all counts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a birthday treat for me for Sunday lunch with my mum and not our first visit. She's in Fareham and we're in Southampton and we've yet to find a Sunday lunch in either place or in between to beat it. It's one of my favourite places and it's always got a good buzz when we go in.

We've eaten here in the evening as well and I can't fault the welcome, the service or the food. Definitely one to try.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went for dinner last night, pre-booked. Got a nice big table for just the two of us and food was amazing. Will definitely be returning and passing on the good message to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Wickham, Hampshire
Wickham, Hampshire
 

Been to Greens Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greens Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.