We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old House Hotel to your Saves list
The Old House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed overnight on business. Nice change from the 'chain hotel' experience. Room snug but warm and well kitted out. Attentive staff and nothing too much trouble. All in all a good experience. Hotel car park limited but plenty of space on the square overnight so no real issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnbWickham, Manager at The Old House Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    53
    26
    16
    11
See reviews for
24
119
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed at The Old House Hotel recently and had a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the room was small but warm (it was November), clean and cosy. My only gripe was that the shower was feeble, which was a shame as the fittings were modern fancy chrome that promised much more than they delivered! Breakfast was good and cooked freshly to order.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnbWickham, Manager at The Old House Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. you comments regarding the shower have been noted.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband took me to The Old House at Wickham for an evening meal to celebrate our Anniversary & my Birthday. The staff were attentive and very polite. We ordered the chateubriand which was mouthwatering delicious but let down by serving it with a plate of French Fries (which felt like we had McDonald chips!), which cheapened an expensive & what should have been an enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnbWickham, Manager at The Old House Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the french fries with your chateaubriand. The menu clearly states that this is the accompainment however we are always happy to provide an alternative.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

went for a sunday lunch with the family. beautiful building, well dressed and kept. atmosphere calm and relaxed- lovely actually.
service was great nothing was too much trouble.
unfortunately we had trouble ordering a meat and dairy free main meal option- ended up with a few tiny very nice tasting pieces of potato and some plain boiled carrots and brocolli which was seriously lacking any thought or effort. (considering they say on the menu that they are happy to cater for any allergies i found it contradictory and by the end i felt that i had troubled the chef). leek and potato soup was lovely and the mango sorbet saved the day for me- IT WAS DIVINE!!!!
all in all a very nice time spent with my family in great surroundings and service and everyone else loved their food. Just wish there was a main option that i could have enjoyed just as much as everyone else enjoyed theirs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We didn't stay here but had the Sunday Lunch menu in the restaurant. Very good quality and well presented. Cornish Yarg Souffle was particularly tasty. 3 courses and a wine for two people for just over £50 seems good value for this standard of food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnbWickham, Manager at The Old House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. You are right the souffle is tasty, it has recently returned to the menu by popular demand.

We look forward to welcoming you again maybe for lunch during the week or dinner.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I choose this hotel based upon Trip Advisor comments, and was not disappointed. This was a business trip, so anything better than a Holiday is well worth a look.

Boy did I strike it lucky here. Lovely appointed rooms, a nice glass of Rioja in the bar, and a lovely breakfast (Sausage, bacon, egg and lashings of tea and toast). The service was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble.

While I was only staying overnight, this would make a great place to explore the south coast from, and there are a lovely selection of restaurants in the village square that will cater for all tastes and budgets.

Room Tip: I stayed in the main house, but apparently the Garden rooms are the best ones (although a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnbWickham, Manager at The Old House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hopefully we will see you again soon for a longer stay.

We appreciate your kind comments, thank you.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Business stay trying to avoid dull Holiday Inn affairs rewards with places like this. Little customer service touches that really make the difference were most appreciated like the offer of carrying my bags and suggestions for dinner which are sadly lacking all too often.

Pleasant building that was well furnished and a very pretty little village.

A nice surprise was getting called to be told I had left some headphones in the room and they were posted back to me before I got home! Flagged as go to when needing to stay in the area now....

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnbWickham, Manager at The Old House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Pleased that your headphones were safely received!

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Hotel

Address: The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wickham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Old House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.