We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furzey garden visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furzey Gardens

Furzey Gardens
School Lane | Lyndhurst, Minstead, New Forest National Park SO43 7GL, England
44 2380 812464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Minstead
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Minstead, Hampshire, in the heart of New Forest yet just off the end of the M27, this informal 10 acre woodland garden contains an extensive collection of rare and beautiful plants from around the world. In the spring, banks of Azaleas and Rhododendrons dazzle with colour, secret paths lead through drifts of primulas and bulbs to quiet glades, while viewing areas provide outlooks over the New Forest. Flowering shrubs and trees continue the interest through the summer with a blaze of autumn colour at the end of the year.In the water garden flowering and foliage plants thrive both in and out of the lake, enhanced by a collection of conifers.Our award winning Chelsea Garden has been wonderfully recreated overlooking the lake after winning GOLD at RHS Chelsea in 2012.The waterfall leads into our reinstated water meadow.The gardens are wonderful for children. The shady play area has play houses, swing and even a "dry docked" play boat. There are plenty of places to picnic and play hide and seek. The gardens also hold a secret, there are over 30 tiny fairy doors hidden throughout the garden. Our wildflower meadow and cottage garden are great for spotting wildlife and you can take a step back in time when you enter our historic Furzey cottage. Delicious locally made cakes and sandwiches are available in the Gallery Gift and Coffee Shop, which has plenty of seating inside, comfortable sofas upstairs and a pretty outside terrace overlooking the gardens. Browse the Gallery Gift and Coffee Shop which showcases and sells a variety of local art, crafts and gifts including work undertaken by the students from the Minstead Training Trust. Those visitors who like to go home with a souvenir of the leafy variety will enjoy looking around our plant sales area where plants are very competitively priced. The Gardens are open all year round, and the Gallery Gift and Coffee Shop is open from the beginning of March to the end of October 7 days a week from 10am to 5pm (last orders at 4.15pm). The Gallery Gift and Coffee Shop is free to enter and browse and enjoy a coffee, cake or light refreshment. Entry to the Gardens is by a set minimum donation, please pay in the Gallery Gift and Coffee Shop. When the Gallery Gift and Coffee shop is closed please place donations in the box provided. The entry donation goes towards the upkeep of the gardens and to the work of the Charity in providing opportunities for adults with learning disabilities.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Furzey garden visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was lovely to visit a bit pricey and no concessions. You can do this visit in two hours if just a couple. add on the coffee shop another 40 minutes which was very good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley567, Public Relations Manager at Furzey Gardens, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Furzey Gardens on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased that you had a lovely visit and enjoyed the coffee shop. Our concessions are for people with disabilities as we are a learning disability charity, so disabled visitors and their helper can visit the gardens for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    25
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for families with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We found this little gem as it is near the holiday cottage we were renting. I loved it. The gardens are small but planted with a wide variety of plants which made it infinitely better than Exbury Gardens which we had visited earlier in the week. It includes a Gold medal winning Chelsea Garden. For families with children, they have fairy doors hidden throughout and kids were having a ball when we were there despite gloomy weather. There are also play areas. They sell plants and seeds cultivated and collected by the trainees and the shop/café staff are so lovely.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Unfortunately we visited on an extremely rainy day! However we still had a great time. I went with a friend and our 3 year olds. They loved hunting for the fairy doors and running in and out of the trees.
We weren't very good at finding the doors, as they are quite hidden.

We brought a picnic hoping for a little sun but as none arrived and Furzey Garden's was quite quiet the staff said we could have our picnic in the tea room! When we came in for our lunch (soaked), the ladies took the girls, boots, socks and all of our coats to dry on the radiator. They also gave us adults a free hot drink!

The coffee was good and the cakes were even better!! The shop is also very lovely and the girls loved the fairy book upstairs and the fact they could write letters to the fairies.

Great place!! We are looking forward to going back when we can picnic outside.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This is a truly brilliant gardening experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited in the spring with the azaleas and rhodis in bloom. A wonderful magical garden with little fairy doors hidden at the base of trees and wonderful wooden sculptures to inspire and enjoy. The staff very friendly and helpful. This was as good as Exbury Gardens but on a much smaller scale

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“enchanting for young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our two young children thoroughly enjoyed a trip to the gardens. The gardens are beautiful and a riot of colour in the April sunshine. The children were fascinated with the fairy doors and enjoyed looking for them. The I spy sheets and story sheets produced by the garden added to their enjoyment. There is a good pic-nic area and a very nice tea room.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furzey Gardens also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Exbury, New Forest National Park
 
Ashurst, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Furzey Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furzey Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.