We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb service and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Restaurant

Smiths Restaurant
1-3 Church Road, Eccles, Salford M30 0DL, England
0161 788 7343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Eccles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“superb service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Title says it all! We dined at Smiths both evenings and could not fault it either night. The food and the atmosphere were superb.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    30
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kingston kingsbridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Librarian recommended the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I dropped into the Eccles library to source a local map so I could find the restaurant and the librarian recommended a wine after promoting the food.On a quiet january night there were a few diners but the restaurant did not feel empty.We were made to feel welcome and even though my partner had not been there for nearly a year they recognised her and I felt we were off to a good start.They do an early bird menu which is excellent value but on booking they had allowed us to be late!
The food is fresh, well cooked, presented with care and uncomplicated so you taste the quality of the ingredients.It is always important to know a place to eat where you can rely on the quality and my partner assures me that on all her visits she has never been disappointed.I never got round to trying the wine the librarian recommended as there was a good merlot so I shall return though I do not need an excuse.It was a pleasure to dine there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Fantastic - There is no other word for it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The atmosphere is brilliant - the service is great ... and the food divine

I have eaten here many times and have never been left either hungry or disappointed.

Can not praise it enough with the 5 green dots !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A pleasant return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been here a number of times and it is a very nice restaurant with a great atmosphere. The menu is varied, food is well presented and there is an interesting wine list. Unusually, last night, it was quiet but even when busy, service is relaxed, friendly and efficient.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nothern England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food all year !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

In a difficult location- out of the way and quiet- this place is a real find ! Fantastically varied menu- 15 of us in the party, all very happy- food was a -m- a- zing. I am fussy about meat - the duck was fabulous, service gentle and unobstrusive. This is not a fast food restuarant ! Great find- we will be back :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiths Restaurant also viewed

 
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Smiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.